Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.699121

'Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit 'em, but remember it's a sin to kill a mockingbird.' A lawyer's advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man's struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much. To Kill a Mockingbird is a coming-of-age story, an anti-racist novel, a historical drama of the Great Depression and a sublime example of the Southern writing tradition.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by Harper
ISBN-10: 0062420704
ISBN-13: 9780062420701
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • SouthernChickSunday, November 4, 2018 at 5:01 am
    I have ony read a few chapters of this book and i think its awesome
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:56 pm55 stars
      In the course of 5 years, I’ve read this book nearly 17 times. That adds up to reading it once at least every 4 months, on an average. And I still return to this book like a bark seeking a lighthouse in the dark. When I first finished it, I was so overwhelmed by how much I related to it, I read it nearly 8 times before the year ended. By now I’ve memorized almost every scene and I still can’t shake off the feeling that I still have to learn a lot from it.
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverMonday, April 30, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 starsFeatured
        I recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is willing to read a book that reaches across many themes of life. This book teaches readers different viewpoints and lessons through the various characters portrayed throughout the book. The characters, having different pasts, personalities, ages, and beliefs allow readers to relate to each story in a different way. To some readers, this book may allow them to see the world through new eyes. In this way, the reader may learn about new experiences through the life of another, or reflect upon their own through Scout. The reader will see the internal struggle of Scout, Jem, Dill, Atticus, and other characters that left an impression on these characters. Readers can also evaluate on what their belief in each of the overarching themes that are present throughout the book. Overall, this book being cherished and loved by many will lead you through a story of a young girl maturing and learning to live in a small town that reflects upon unfairness, racism, development, and learning to adapt to one another. If you would like to read a bildungsroman that will touch you from the bottom of your heart, this book will be a perfect fit for you~ >w<!
        • alondraa
          alondraaFriday, September 8, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
          Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird" is one of the most beautiful books ever written. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitFriday, May 26, 2017 at 1:34 pm55 stars
            I just finished reading this book for my english class at school and I really enjoyed it because it was not just well written and interesting, but also teaches readers something really important about the world, and how to act correctly based on that. At first I didn't like it because I thought it was boring and a little confusing at times, but the trial part was probably the best part of the book.
            • kbmcquade
              kbmcquadeThursday, February 23, 2017 at 11:43 am44 stars
              I really enjoyed reading the book and thought the storyline was good.
              • pickletiger1
                pickletiger1Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 9:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                Many said that Harper Lee would, in fact, not be able to write a good novel. Her first and most famous one, however, did prove them wrong. This is a charming classic that follows the journey of a small, six year old girl named Scout as she explores the wonder of growing up in a world ran entirely by adults. It's during the depression and Scout's single father, Atticus, is having a harder time then usual supporting her and her older brother, Jem, which is strange news for a lawyer. When he gets a tough case, regarding an african american man framed for harassment, he finds many struggles within the case itself as well as the input of his fellow townsfolk. Having grown up in a sleepy Alabama town in the 30's, Scout was sheltered most of her life from the reality that encompassed the rest of the world. She has never seen so much excitement in her life. The most unique thing about this novel is how the story grows. Most books allow you access to the main character's own mental growth, but this book showcases the development of an entire town and how changing one thing may lead others to turn against one another or rise up for the cause. In To Kill a Mockingbird, you will be able to relate to the mentally excelled main character and the way that she views things from outside the box and without a previous knowing. I recommend this book for an older audience because of its language and rather mature themes. It will always have a warm spot in my heart as one of the most touching and cleverly written books in existence.
                • kiking_owl
                  kiking_owlThursday, October 6, 2016 at 9:09 am
                  where can i get a copy of this
                  • ladyrooster_42
                    ladyrooster_42Saturday, September 24, 2016 at 11:27 am
                    I absolutely love this book it is so deep and amazing and it just makes me crave more and more every time I read another word I think many people will like it almost as much as I do. #TKAMπŸ˜πŸ˜‡πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŽπŸ‘πŸ’–πŸ’žπŸ¦πŸ’―πŸ†’πŸ†•
                    • sanu
                      sanuTuesday, August 9, 2016 at 7:09 pm44 stars
                      Bird are cute😲

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins