Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.699121

'Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit 'em, but remember it's a sin to kill a mockingbird.' A lawyer's advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man's struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much. To Kill a Mockingbird is a coming-of-age story, an anti-racist novel, a historical drama of the Great Depression and a sublime example of the Southern writing tradition.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by Harper
ISBN-10: 0062420704
ISBN-13: 9780062420701
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • YeetTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:58 am
    I think this is a good book so its a 5 star
    • chello
      chelloTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:55 am55 stars
      I read this in a 7th Grade English class and I loved it! I guarantee you will like it too!
      • fira
        firaSunday, February 3, 2019 at 12:57 pm55 stars
        This was an amazing and very meaningful book that has so many lessons embeded in the story. A lot of the concepts that this book covered, seem almost unreal, but it reminds us not to fall back into past mistakes over race and class. I will always remember this book and recommend it to everyone. It should definitely be learned from to make a better world in years to come.
        • gabriana77
          gabriana77Friday, December 21, 2018 at 11:29 am55 stars
          very meaningful and well written story, highly recommend this story.
          • SouthernChickSunday, November 4, 2018 at 5:01 am
            I have ony read a few chapters of this book and i think its awesome
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:56 pm55 stars
              In the course of 5 years, I’ve read this book nearly 17 times. That adds up to reading it once at least every 4 months, on an average. And I still return to this book like a bark seeking a lighthouse in the dark. When I first finished it, I was so overwhelmed by how much I related to it, I read it nearly 8 times before the year ended. By now I’ve memorized almost every scene and I still can’t shake off the feeling that I still have to learn a lot from it.
              • georgiasilver
                georgiasilverMonday, April 30, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 starsFeatured
                I recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is willing to read a book that reaches across many themes of life. This book teaches readers different viewpoints and lessons through the various characters portrayed throughout the book. The characters, having different pasts, personalities, ages, and beliefs allow readers to relate to each story in a different way. To some readers, this book may allow them to see the world through new eyes. In this way, the reader may learn about new experiences through the life of another, or reflect upon their own through Scout. The reader will see the internal struggle of Scout, Jem, Dill, Atticus, and other characters that left an impression on these characters. Readers can also evaluate on what their belief in each of the overarching themes that are present throughout the book. Overall, this book being cherished and loved by many will lead you through a story of a young girl maturing and learning to live in a small town that reflects upon unfairness, racism, development, and learning to adapt to one another. If you would like to read a bildungsroman that will touch you from the bottom of your heart, this book will be a perfect fit for you~ >w<!
                • alondraa
                  alondraaFriday, September 8, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
                  Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird" is one of the most beautiful books ever written. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
                  • memoiloveit
                    memoiloveitFriday, May 26, 2017 at 1:34 pm55 stars
                    I just finished reading this book for my english class at school and I really enjoyed it because it was not just well written and interesting, but also teaches readers something really important about the world, and how to act correctly based on that. At first I didn't like it because I thought it was boring and a little confusing at times, but the trial part was probably the best part of the book.
                    • kbmcquade
                      kbmcquadeThursday, February 23, 2017 at 11:43 am44 stars
                      I really enjoyed reading the book and thought the storyline was good.

                      Our Apps and Plugins