Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.699121

'Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit 'em, but remember it's a sin to kill a mockingbird.' A lawyer's advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man's struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much. To Kill a Mockingbird is a coming-of-age story, an anti-racist novel, a historical drama of the Great Depression and a sublime example of the Southern writing tradition.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by Harper
ISBN-10: 0062420704
ISBN-13: 9780062420701
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 11:13 pm55 stars
    This is a very good book and teaches a lot of life lessons in general, This book is narrated through a little girl names Scout, now this story is from a long time ago and is from Scouts perspective of things like lynching and racism. In this town people really don't accept black people and really won't listen to them no matter. Scout is white and so is her father. Her father is lawyer and gets a case and it is to defend a black person. Many people don't accept them because a white man can't help a black man win against a white man that would be against the beliefs everyone believed in. In the court case you can really see how even though the black man is telling the truth no one seems to care and the judge being white favors the white man. This is a very interesting book and I would definitely recommend reading it.
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Monday, May 18, 2020 at 7:57 am55 stars
      This book is so awesome! It is about a girl named Jean Louise (Scout) and her life in Alabama in the 1930s. Her father is a lawyer, and he is very busy, but also very kind to her and her brother Jeremy (Jem). This book is kind of mysterious at some parts, and I would not recommend it for anyone under 10. I hope this review helps someone find a good book to read!
      • fidelis24044Monday, March 30, 2020 at 10:20 am
        To kill a Mockingbird is a great book. At first when I picked up the book to start reading it in school. I thought the book was going to be boring but, it wasn't.
        • bobMonday, March 30, 2020 at 7:45 am
          This book is so boring and incredibly hard to read. I’m a freshman in high school (technically I should be an eighth grader if we were basing our grades by our ages) and I can’t get through two paragraphs without zoning out because it is so boring. I know it’s a classic so no one really cares if it’s boring because all the classics are boring, but I’d have to argue that if you want an interesting book to read in your free time, this book isn’t it. Go with a newer book, maybe one where the author is still alive and it wasn’t written way before our time.
          • yeah_imian
            yeah_imianFriday, March 13, 2020 at 9:02 am55 stars
            I would give this book a 4.5 star rating hears why. This book reminds me of another story I read I believe was called the defiance. It was about a boy who was learning to live his life with a life threatening disease. He meets a retired poet who is going blind and they become friends and the boy learns to live life on a farm. This book however is about a family who one daughter one son and a father. The father is a lawyer who's client is a black man who was convicted for rape. Boys and girls around the town will make racist comments about the father and if the daughter heard she will most likely injure those who made the comment. There is also a family who everyone is scared of in the neighborhood who terrify the daughter and the son. This book also reminds me of my family because my dad grew up on a farm with my grandmother and every time we visit my dad's side of the family you can tell how country they are. These are the reasons I like this book.
            • CheetahTuesday, February 25, 2020 at 6:35 pm
              Amazing book!!
              • reveille
                reveilleTuesday, February 25, 2020 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                It was a really good book in my opinion, even though I normally don't like books like this. It honestly has many fantastic life lessons in the book. The author did very good with the book, especially considering it made me feel like I was there in the book seeing everything happen, like it was real life. (I'm sorry if this was a waste of time for y'all to read.)
                • lunarqueen
                  lunarqueenThursday, December 19, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
                  Wonderful!
                  • elle_0724
                    elle_0724Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at 9:02 am44 stars
                    I have just started this book but it is great! It explains what it was like back then perfectly! I would definitely recommend this book!
                    • gean
                      geanMonday, September 2, 2019 at 5:02 pm44 stars
                      This book was so amazing! I got to truly see into the troubles of life back when Scout, the main character was born. She was an amazing character to read about and I couldn't put the book down the second I picked it up.