Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.699121

'Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit 'em, but remember it's a sin to kill a mockingbird.' A lawyer's advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man's struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much. To Kill a Mockingbird is a coming-of-age story, an anti-racist novel, a historical drama of the Great Depression and a sublime example of the Southern writing tradition.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0028179625
ISBN-13: 9780028179629
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • elle_0724
    elle_0724Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at 9:02 am44 stars
    I have just started this book but it is great! It explains what it was like back then perfectly! I would definitely recommend this book!
    • gean
      geanMonday, September 2, 2019 at 5:02 pm44 stars
      This book was so amazing! I got to truly see into the troubles of life back when Scout, the main character was born. She was an amazing character to read about and I couldn't put the book down the second I picked it up.
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 5:03 am44 stars
        This book is a really interesting story about race in a southern town. It can be quite a sad story, but it is a good read! I would recommend it for older middle school up into high school.
        • SushiSavanhaSunday, June 2, 2019 at 8:27 am
          This is an emotional book taking place at Jim crow time.... #good luck figuring out what the title means 😀
          • simiThursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:39 pm
            it is a wonderful book
            • YeetTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:58 am
              I think this is a good book so its a 5 star
              • chello
                chelloTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:55 am55 stars
                I read this in a 7th Grade English class and I loved it! I guarantee you will like it too!
                • fira
                  firaSunday, February 3, 2019 at 12:57 pm55 stars
                  This was an amazing and very meaningful book that has so many lessons embeded in the story. A lot of the concepts that this book covered, seem almost unreal, but it reminds us not to fall back into past mistakes over race and class. I will always remember this book and recommend it to everyone. It should definitely be learned from to make a better world in years to come.
                  • gabriana77
                    gabriana77Friday, December 21, 2018 at 11:29 am55 stars
                    very meaningful and well written story, highly recommend this story.
                    • SouthernChickSunday, November 4, 2018 at 5:01 am
                      I have ony read a few chapters of this book and i think its awesome