Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.281660
Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on April 15, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442426705
ISBN-13: 9781442426702
29 Book Reviews
  • roxanne3
    roxanne3Monday, February 8, 2021 at 4:28 pm55 stars
    Wow, I love this series so much!! I agree with @sirireads2, Lara Jean is amazing and I gotta admit, so is Peter... Perfect blend of high school drama and romance, with a little suspense!! The whole series is great and I am excited to watch the movies soon!! (p.s. - love and hearts!!)
    • sirireads2
      sirireads2Thursday, January 14, 2021 at 7:03 pm55 stars
      Hey Y'all! Sorry it's been so long to my SEVEN followers... I LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! It is Perfect with a capitol P in every way, shape and form. Not only is it thrillingly romantic, but Lara Jean is one of my favorite characters EVER!! Peter immediately became one of my fictional crushes (Adding to the list as we speak!)and Kitty, Lara Jean's little sister, is also delightfully hilarious! It is filled with stomach butterflies, romance, comedy, and just enough heartache to keep it interesting. Forever and ever, Sirireads2
      • polochicken
        polochickenMonday, January 11, 2021 at 11:44 am55 stars
        This is a awesome book! I mostly read diary of a wimpy kid ( I read all the books) THen i got this from my aunt! This was overall a really good book. ( I watched the movie too )
        • lottiestar
          lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:26 pm11 star
          Honestly, this book wasn't fun for me. Some parts were enjoyable as the main character Lara Jean interacted with Peter Kavinsky and the descriptions behind it were also very entertaining. However, this book wasn't really for me so I wouldn't recommend it to someone.
          • RlieSaturday, September 26, 2020 at 1:01 pm
            I love this very much this is the best movie ever I love you I love you I love you I really love it it's really good😂😁😀😉
            • 96
              96Friday, September 25, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
              Really fun book! Its pointed more towards girl tips and about girls, so if your a boy wouldn't reccomend this. But the story its self is outstanding
              • olliebob
                olliebobThursday, September 10, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                I loved this book! The writing was beautiful and the love story was perfect for a hopeless romantic like me. Lara Jean is also a hopeless romantic, so hopeless, in fact, that she's never actually had a boyfriend. She has however, had five crushes; Kenny from summer camp, John Ambrose McClaren and Peter Kavinsky, both childhood friends, Lucas James, and Josh Sanderson, who happens to be dating her older sister. When Lara Jean has a crush on a boy, a real, intense, powerful crush, she writes a letter to them. She pours out all of her complex feelings, addresses the letter, and puts it in the hatbox her mother gave her before she died. She never sends the letters, no one will ever see them but her. Until one day the hatbox vanishes from the top shelf in her closet. She has no idea what happened to her letters until Peter Kavinsky comes up to her with his letter and some well-deserved questions and she realizes her worst fears have been realized. Her letters were sent out and her five crushes can now see the most personal thoughts and feelings about them. Now she has to figure out which feelings to avoid, and which to embrace, and learns that her feelings, when actually shared, have powerful consequences. The story is moving, interesting, and has strong themes of loyalty and love for ones family. I would suggest high school age is a good time to read this as there are some mature concepts and language. I'm a huge fan of this book, as well as the two sequels, and the movie adaptation. If you like romance, this is a must-read.
                • girlpower4ever
                  girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 6:43 pm55 stars
                  Lara Jean Song-Covey is the girl next door. Sweet, has her head in the clouds, a little naive, always generous. Lara Jean's bond with her older sister Margot and younger sister Kitty is incredible, but any other loving relationships in her life are nonexistent. Except for five. Five secret crushes that she's had in her life who she addressed letters to but never sent, keeping them in her teal hatbox. So when Kitty vengefully sends Lara Jean's letters, she thinks her life is officially over. But maybe that's just Lara Jean's naivety again. Lara Jean's marvelous story of venturing the dangerous waters called relationships and high school will have readers hanging on her every last word.
                  • marjellyFriday, February 21, 2020 at 10:08 am
                    i love this book and the movie awesome
                    • ahinoanime
                      ahinoanimeFriday, February 21, 2020 at 7:44 am44 stars
                      I really like this book. It describes how confusing a girls life is when it comes to boys.The story is almost exactly like the movie so reading the book was not as interesting as I thought it would be but It did have some changes with how the second book was coming out.