Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.281660
Lara Jeanโ€™s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about themโ€ฆall at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They arenโ€™t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones sheโ€™s written. One for every boy sheโ€™s ever lovedโ€”five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jeanโ€™s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on April 15, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442426705
ISBN-13: 9781442426702
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • RlieSaturday, September 26, 2020 at 1:01 pm
    I love this very much this is the best movie ever I love you I love you I love you I really love it it's really good๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜‰
    • takicheeto
      takicheetoFriday, September 25, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
      Really fun book! Its pointed more towards girl tips and about girls, so if your a boy wouldn't reccomend this. But the story its self is outstanding
      • olliebob
        olliebobThursday, September 10, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
        I loved this book! The writing was beautiful and the love story was perfect for a hopeless romantic like me. Lara Jean is also a hopeless romantic, so hopeless, in fact, that she's never actually had a boyfriend. She has however, had five crushes; Kenny from summer camp, John Ambrose McClaren and Peter Kavinsky, both childhood friends, Lucas James, and Josh Sanderson, who happens to be dating her older sister. When Lara Jean has a crush on a boy, a real, intense, powerful crush, she writes a letter to them. She pours out all of her complex feelings, addresses the letter, and puts it in the hatbox her mother gave her before she died. She never sends the letters, no one will ever see them but her. Until one day the hatbox vanishes from the top shelf in her closet. She has no idea what happened to her letters until Peter Kavinsky comes up to her with his letter and some well-deserved questions and she realizes her worst fears have been realized. Her letters were sent out and her five crushes can now see the most personal thoughts and feelings about them. Now she has to figure out which feelings to avoid, and which to embrace, and learns that her feelings, when actually shared, have powerful consequences. The story is moving, interesting, and has strong themes of loyalty and love for ones family. I would suggest high school age is a good time to read this as there are some mature concepts and language. I'm a huge fan of this book, as well as the two sequels, and the movie adaptation. If you like romance, this is a must-read.
        • girlpower4ever
          girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 6:43 pm55 stars
          Lara Jean Song-Covey is the girl next door. Sweet, has her head in the clouds, a little naive, always generous. Lara Jean's bond with her older sister Margot and younger sister Kitty is incredible, but any other loving relationships in her life are nonexistent. Except for five. Five secret crushes that she's had in her life who she addressed letters to but never sent, keeping them in her teal hatbox. So when Kitty vengefully sends Lara Jean's letters, she thinks her life is officially over. But maybe that's just Lara Jean's naivety again. Lara Jean's marvelous story of venturing the dangerous waters called relationships and high school will have readers hanging on her every last word.
          • marjellyFriday, February 21, 2020 at 10:08 am
            i love this book and the movie awesome
            • ahinoanime
              ahinoanimeFriday, February 21, 2020 at 7:44 am44 stars
              I really like this book. It describes how confusing a girls life is when it comes to boys.The story is almost exactly like the movie so reading the book was not as interesting as I thought it would be but It did have some changes with how the second book was coming out.
              • elle_0724
                elle_0724Tuesday, November 19, 2019 at 7:39 am44 stars
                This book is really good! It perfectly describes Laura Jeans confusing love life as a teenager. There is a movie based on this on Netflix that I have watched and it is just like the book! I would recommend this book for audiences with a more mature reading level. That is why I love this book!
                • Lover101Saturday, November 24, 2018 at 12:06 pm
                  this book is the BEST IN THE WORLD
                  • Riverdale LoverTuesday, October 23, 2018 at 6:10 am
                    I love this book and the movie
                    • skull1001
                      skull1001Monday, April 16, 2018 at 10:18 am55 stars
                      This book is AMAZING and when you finish reading this one read the sequel its called P.S. I Still Love You. My heart would not stop fluttering because of this book. LIKE OMG! Thanks for giving me a good book! :)