Thursdays with the Crown (Tuesdays at the Castle)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6S5.248832

Castle Glower has been acting weird, so it's no surprise when two towers transport Celie and her siblings to an unknown land. When they realize that no one from home is coming to get them, the kids--along with Celie's pet griffin Rufus--set out through the forest to figure out where they are and what's happened to their beloved Castle. Instead, they discover two wizards and an entire lost people, the oldest inhabitants of Castle Glower. And it seems they may know more of the Castle's secrets than Celie. But do they know how to get her back home?

This bestselling series continues with the story of the origin of Castle Glower. Readers who've been enchanted by the Castle's moving walls will be delighted by the Castle's rich and magical history.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1619632993
ISBN-13: 9781619632998
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Teresa huaiThursday, May 19, 2016 at 7:12 pm
    Thursdays with the Crown is a really good book.I love Thursdays with the Crown and Tuesdays at the Castle.
    • mckenna123
      mckenna123Tuesday, March 24, 2015 at 4:36 am11 star
      It was starting of in the middle of he thing and It did not make sense if you didn't read the first one.I won this book.
      • asma234
        asma234Friday, October 10, 2014 at 9:17 am33 starsFeatured
        Thursday's with the crown is another great book to the series by Jessica Day George.The castle has been acting up for some time now,and this time it has really done it.A part of the castle and Celie and her sibling to a place unknown.unknown. Celie is the youngest of her siblings and they don't allow her to go out and find food with them.So Celie has to stay and look after there friend Pogue who hurt his head when the castle brought them there. After a bit of arguing they still made her stay,but Celie still goes out and explores a little bit.Celie and her siblings believe Rufus (A griffin Celie raised) is the last of his kind,but during exploring Celie finds something really close to Rufus.I won't spoil it,but after that they meet up with the Arkower.He takes them on a short journey to feed them and take them to his house.I'll let you ind out what happens next.
        • maddyrocks13
          maddyrocks13Wednesday, October 8, 2014 at 7:47 pm33 stars
          The third book in this series by Jessica Day George, "Thursdays with the Crown" was a decent continuation. The first book, "The Castle on Tuesdays", is very exciting and the material is fresh, however in book 3 it seems to loose its originality. If you like medieval and magical stories, try out "Tuesdays with the Castle"!
          • lsf1
            lsf1Saturday, October 4, 2014 at 12:59 pm11 star
            "Thursdays With the Crown," the third installment in the Castle Glower series, honestly did not interest me at all. By the time the second chapter was over, I was bored to a T and quite lost, and I decided not to finish it. It may have been because I haven't read the first two books, but I honestly don't think I would have like them much either. So far, a few kids are in a tower and one of them tries to leave to see someone and then they start talking about things that I'm guessing happened in the past books. I honestly would not recommend this book unless you really liked the first two.
            • nancydrew963
              nancydrew963Thursday, October 2, 2014 at 12:01 pm33 starsFeatured
              "Thursdays with the Crown" was a fairly decent book about a girl name Celie and her royal siblings. To be honest, this book was slightly confusing for me even though i read the first book in the series. the intro made it hard for me to grasp exactly what was going on because i had skipped the second book and i wish that the author had a recap on what had happened to the characters previously. some of the littlest things were overdramatized by Jessica Day George. don't get me wrong, i loved her "ruby slippers" series, but this series specifically has worn out her tales of mystical creatures. i preferred reading about dragons than griffins. this book is recommended for you if you like slower novels with little excitement.
              • bibliophile
                bibliophileWednesday, September 24, 2014 at 5:20 pmFeatured
                This book was a great adventure! it starts off with princess Celia, princess Lilah, prince Rolf, prince Lulath, and Pogue. They set off to find the missing part of the eye. Going on their adventure they meet two strange wizards, and encounter a guy named Ethan. Throughout this adventure will they see the answer behind all of this? Will they be able to save the Castle and the griffins? Well, read and find out... it's such a fast pacing, interesting, fantasy book. You should READ it!
                • sweetpicks
                  sweetpicksWednesday, September 24, 2014 at 4:39 pm44 stars
                  I thought hit shook was okay. It was a little slow and tedious and I would recommend that you need to read the other nooks first. but other than that it was okay. I would recommend it to elementary students
                  • mags
                    magsWednesday, September 24, 2014 at 3:19 pm
                    I loved this book! It is about a girl named Celie who journeys to a faraway to heal her Castle. She and her companions Pogue, Rolf, Lulath, Lilah, and her pet griffin Rufus. The Castle transported them there. At the land, Rufus meets his parents, the king and queen of the griffins. They meet the Arkower (a wizard who is the uncle of the wizard Arkwright), who doesn't seem that trustworthy. Then they meet another wizard, who is a Hathelocke and tells them his side of the story. In the end it turns out both are bad. In the end, Celie saves her castle and leans that with friends by her side, she can do anything!
                    • selina
                      selinaSaturday, September 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm55 starsFeatured
                      THANK YOU DOGOBooks for choosing me as an advanced reviewer and sending me books. I will recommend this book because the characters are adventurous. This book is about two princesses, two princes, a man named Pogue, and a griffin named Rufus. All whisked away to Castle Arkower Glorious, where lots of griffins and men were living. All the men were trying to make the griffins their rider. But the griffins' did not want any of the men to be their rider. Later on the two princesses, the two princes, Pogue, and their new friend Ethan came back to Castle Glower and put back the missing half of the eye of Castle Glower in the correct spot.
                      • asma234
                        asma234Thursday, September 25, 2014 at 5:33 am33 stars
                        Same Selina.I love the books they sent me.