Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8X5.911246
In November 1960, all of America watched as a tiny six-year-old black girl, surrounded by federal marshals, walked through a mob of screaming segregationists and into her school. An icon of the civil rights movement, Ruby Bridges chronicles each dramatic step of this pivotal event in history through her own words.
Hardcover, 63 pages
Published on September 1, 1999 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0590189239
ISBN-13: 9780590189231
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Anita ShowerMonday, April 16, 2018 at 11:15 am
    I forgot to add my rating!
    • Anita ShowerThursday, April 12, 2018 at 12:59 pm
      I think that the book is a perfect recollection of (somewhat sadly,) recent events. There are very few primary source resources from this time in history, and Ruby Bridges teaches very eloquently that we can't be ignorant and say that people aren't judged by how they look or act. We do it everyday! In her time at elementary school, she is an exemplary student and person who teaches her peers not only her perspective, but compassion.
      • super10
        super10Wednesday, February 22, 2017 at 8:03 am
        If I'm being honest, this was a truly mature book. It was not your everyday, boring biography. This was actually quite entertaining! In this book, Ruby Bridges explains how she felt, going to William Frantz Elementary School, in the harsh 1950's. She did this to inform the readers about her perspective, and she wrote this because she wanted to inspire the next generation of readers. I liked this book because of the in-depth look of what her 1st grade year was like Ruby Bridges gives to the readers. I would recommend this book to 5th to 7th graders due to the mature topics that are in this book. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
        • awesomeness 555Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 8:05 am
          i love this book it teaches ,e about the history of ruby brigdes
          • mhunter2003
            mhunter2003Friday, February 6, 2015 at 10:02 am
            i agree it was a good book but also sad
            • ediggins8347
              ediggins8347Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 11:37 am
              i feel bad for her
              • despinoza1
                despinoza1Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 11:56 am44 stars
                This is a very good book, but it is kinda sad what Ruby Bridges had to go through as a child. She stood very strong her life and wouldn't let anything get in her way. If you like autobiographies I recommend you read this book.
                • michael9
                  michael9Tuesday, August 12, 2014 at 9:28 am55 stars
                  This book is about another great child called Ruby Bridges. Ruby Bridges passed a test to go to the William Frantz.She was a great help in the process of integration within our school system so many years ago.

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  extrememsb
                  extrememsb wrote:

                  This story is about a fifth grad...
                  Gertie's Leap to Greatness

                  extrememsb
                  extrememsb wrote:

                  Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                  Wishtree

                  awesome_kt
                  awesome_kt wrote:

                  I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                  Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                  awesome_kt
                  awesome_kt wrote:

                  I always enjoy reading these boo...
                  Bad Kitty