Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.7n/a

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1619630346
ISBN-13: 9781619630345
28 Book Reviews
  • brinic123mohr
    brinic123mohr15 days55 stars
    This is my fav author
    • jack_major_pro
      jack_major_pro6 months55 stars
      it was such a good book and with such good writing, one of my favorite series.
      • Rarael 11 months
        This was little more scary but I like it so much
        • armcginn
          armcginn11 months55 starsFeatured
          Sarah J Maas' Throne of Glass tells the story of 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien. She was once the most famous assassin in all of Adarlan. She was also a slave in the salt mines of Endovier. Now, dragged from the mines after a year of suffering by Dorian Havilliard- the crown prince of Adarlan himself, she must fight her way past some of the top thieves, warriors, murderers, and assassins, in a perilous competition to become the king's champion- and after three years of service comes the real prize- the promise of her freedom. When contestants start turning up dead, Celaena decides to hunt down the mysterious and ruthless killer, and ensure she won't be their next victim... but unbeknownst to Celana, sinister forces are at play deep within the castle- more horrifying than imaginable- and they're after her. To gain a fighting chance, she must unearth the warrior Endovier buried deep inside. Personally, I'd recommend it to middle schoolers and older. I would also recommend having the next book in the series (Crown of Midnight) on hand- you won't be able to wait to see what happens next! The plot was engaging and complex- the book was very well written! Fans of Veronica Roth's Red Queen and Keira Kass' The Selection will delight in this book! Enjoy!
          • #bookwormabout 1 year
            i loved it, read it asap so good i'm up to tower of dawn i think anyone younger than grade should 5 read it some bits are adult but really good book you should read it if older than 11 ( :
            • kkgautamm
              kkgautammover 1 year55 stars
              i am an avid reader, and i can finish a book in a couple hours, but this one took me weeks to read. it is a little slow, but don't give up!! the story gets so much better in the next books, trust me.
              • bookloverover 2 years
                im so sad *spioler Alert book 2 - 3 ish* celeana stops whatever the romance she was having with dorian and falls inlove with choal in the next book. seriusly i am someone who likes the romances in the book only if i think they fit and im really sad now
                • Bookedover 2 years
                  it was fabolouse! i loved it and thought it was a great series starter,not to much voilence or romance or controlling king issues. This book just got you aquainted and set up the storyline while being a whole story within itself. im rreading book 2 now and went to the shops for book 3 but none of them had it.This is a must read.
                  • Anzzyalmost 3 years
                    I really liked this book and as soon as I finished it I immediately went to the library to get the next in the series. I finished the second book within a day and am actually in the library right now borrowingthe third. The only criticism I have is that I'd like to see more assassin action going on. More of slowing what the main characters 'amazing' skills are. The romance was alright and I'm glad she didn't give up everything for the 'oh so handsome guy' although romance wasn't what I was looking for in this book. Anyway amazing book. Would recommend I can't wait to read the rest o f the series
                    • BasicallyABookover 3 years
                      I honestly loved this book and series. Personally I am not a huge fan of romance, however I do not think that any of the romance in this series is that bad. I think that kids of all ages would be fine with the book, as they are seeing the same level of romance, violence etc in the real world and in movies/video games. Overall good book with a good story line and strong characters. I hope this helped anyone thinking of reading the series.