Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries)

Book 1 of 4 in the Tupelo Landing Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on December 31, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426059
ISBN-13: 9780142426050
189 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • chloe_swag02
    chloe_swag02Wednesday, August 2, 2017 at 3:03 pm33 stars
    three times lucky is a great book but can be kinda confusing in the beginning. i admit i was a little bored with the first couple chapters but as soon as you get into the book its great
    • rah-rah
      rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 2:57 pm
      I want to read this so bad.
      • s_mcmasters
        s_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 11:15 am33 stars
        Three Times Lucky is filled with determination and courage. I can relate to Dale; a child who shows kindness and innocence even when life throws you curve balls. This is a book is filled with mystery and danger, but not to scary.
        • m_mcmasters
          m_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 10:21 am44 stars
          Three Times Lucky is filled with courage and determination. I loved when she sent another letter filled bottle into the water in hopes of finding her mother. I related to Dale a child who shows kindness and innocence even though life has thrown him a lot of curves already. This is a book of mystery, danger, but not to scary.
          • kana
            kanaSaturday, July 29, 2017 at 12:17 pm55 stars
            Three Times Lucky is a wonderful book full of action and adventure. It shows people of different backgrounds and the protagonist is very relatable. I definitely recommend this book for those who love mystery and a bit of romance.
            • beast2323
              beast2323Thursday, July 27, 2017 at 8:34 am33 stars
              This book shows the story of Moses "Mo" LeBeau, an orphan who washed up after a storm in Tupelo Landing, North Carolina. Since then, she has been sending numerous letter up the river to her mysterious "upstream mother".
              • kc17
                kc17Wednesday, July 26, 2017 at 4:22 pm55 stars
                I love this book because no matter what happens to the main character he will always find a way to find his birth mom even if people don't believe that he will he always have a plan because you never know maybe he will find his birth mom and maybe not. You have to read the book to find out.
                • kc17
                  kc17Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:23 am55 stars
                  I love Three Times Lucky because no matter what the main character is going through he is determined to find his parents.
                  • sadier
                    sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:13 pm33 stars
                    It was an ok book. They are all funny and make you laugh but it isn't my grade level of reading but I would definitely recommend it for younger kids.
                    • belle252
                      belle252Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:51 pm33 stars
                      Personally i liked it but i did not like it the book had a great story line but it was just not my taste of reading. I just didn't get that special feeling i get in the books i like. Other people would maybe love to read this book but to me it wasn't the best.