Three Times Lucky

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.962217
A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on December 31, 2013 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0142426059
ISBN-13: 9780142426050
177 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • readingkendal
    readingkendalFriday, June 16, 2017 at 12:47 pm55 starsFeatured
    This book is a amazing!!!! It is about two characters who become detectives and solve a murder mystery. It has suspense, excitement, friendship, and a lot of fun! It involves Hurricane Amy and a flood which brings a lot of excitement! I recommend this to anyone who loves mystery, friendship, surprise, and much more!!!!!
    • diamondmuserart
      diamondmuserartSunday, June 11, 2017 at 11:08 pm
      im currently reading this book. so far i dont like it, because i love it. everyday i would predict what would happen next. the desciptive words help me with my writing for school.
      • annette
        annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:25 pm44 stars
        This is a great book with a mystery and suspense. I thought it was very interesting on how the main character, Mo (Moses), is still optimistic about finding her mother even though she has never know her mother.
        • eidiener22
          eidiener22Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 3:05 pm55 stars
          This book is awesome and a little confusing if you do not know what a colonel is. This book is about a kid called Mo(short for Moses). (A girl). Mo was lost in a hurricane when she was one and wishes to find her mother again. Three Times Lucky is the first book in series.
          • lovepopsrar445Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:27 am
            i will read this book with my class
            • stealthywolf
              stealthywolfTuesday, June 6, 2017 at 4:20 pm44 stars
              This was a great book - I loved it! The characters were like real people and could do things that you could do in real life. This was a mystery book, and the sequel was a ghost and mystery book.
              • stealthywolf
                stealthywolfTuesday, June 6, 2017 at 4:08 pm44 stars
                The book was great - I loved it. If you read it, I'm sure you'll love it, too. The book was written very well and the characters seem like they can be real people and can do the things they do in the book. It's a mystery book and and there are other books in the series. The sequel is a ghost and mystery book.
                • llpanda
                  llpandaMonday, June 5, 2017 at 5:47 am44 stars
                  Moses LoBeau lives in the tiny town of Tupelo Landing,( population: 148 ) where everybody knows everybody's business. Mo loves her life and is very happy with it. She likes running the cafe with Miss Lana and talking with the Colonel, and getting into mischief with her best friend Dale. But Mo's life is turned upside down when lawman Detective Joe Starr comes into town claiming there has been a murder and he is looking for the murderer. Everyone is town is shocked at the accusation especially the Colonel, he doesn't do well with higher authority ( Miss Lana says he doesn't like other people being in charge). Then when another murder happens to one of their own Mo is determined to find the killer and the Desperado Detectives where born. I loved this book because it was funny the way Mo tells the story is hilarious.
                  • kathead
                    katheadSunday, June 4, 2017 at 11:06 am55 stars
                    This is a book about a girl trying to find her mother. The book is very well written and it is very different from a lot of other books that I have read. It is a good different though.
                    • rrwwnn
                      rrwwnnSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 11:18 am
                      Mo and Dale want to go fishing but Mo had to open the café because the staff weren't there dale stole someone`s boat the guy who owned the boat put up a finders fee .

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile