This Isn't What It Looks Like (The Secret Series)

Book 4 of 5 in the The Secret Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.369334
The Secret Series continues in this dangerous and daring fourth adventure.

Cass finds herself alone and disoriented, a stranger in a dream-like, medieval world. Where is she? Who is she? With the help of a long-lost relative, she begins to uncover clues and secrets--piecing together her family's history as she fights her way back to the present world.

Meanwhile, back home, Cass is at the hospital in a deep coma. Max-Ernest knows she ate Time Travel Chocolate--and he's determined to find a cure. Can our expert hypochondriac diagnose Cass's condition before it's too late? And will he have what it takes to save the survivalist?
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on September 21, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316076252
ISBN-13: 9780316076258
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wolfchildren
    wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:27 pm55 stars
    7 year old: This book series is awesome, but I like the Bad Books a little better. 9 year old: I really liked this series (pseudonymous Bosch loves chocolate!) Mom: We all loved this series, it's got some creepiness factors to it, and I think we all like the Bad Books just a bit better, but this series plays with eternal life and the creepy things the bad guys had to do to get eternal life. Our good guys kept thwarting their plans mwahaha.
    • rufaida8
      rufaida8Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 6:33 pm55 stars
      in this book the three heros Cass, Max-Ernest, and Yo-Yoji meet an evil chef who makes chocolate that takes you back in time. i will not reveal anything more but you must read this book.
      • ninacreekside
        ninacreeksideWednesday, July 9, 2014 at 2:44 pm
        Where am I? Who am I? A girl asks herself. The girl is Cass. Cass has to piece together what has happened. she remembers eating some chocolate and someone named, like Max-Ernest and Yo-Yoji. What strange names. She has eaten Senior Hugo's chocolate and has been taken back to the past to learn the Secret. Cass believes it is her duty as a Secret Keeper to learn the Secret. Cass is in a coma. Max-Ernest worries, has Cass really trained all her life for disasters just to die in a coma. Max-Ernest worries about Cass all day long and tries to help her. But you have to read this book to find out what will happen to Cass.
        • headream100
          headream100Friday, June 20, 2014 at 3:58 am33 stars
          This was my least favorite book in the series, but it was also intriguing like the rest of the books in the secret series.
          • headream100
            headream100Friday, June 20, 2014 at 3:58 am33 stars
            So I rate three stars
          • margotcreekside
            margotcreeksideSaturday, January 25, 2014 at 9:17 am55 stars
            This book is, yet another awesome book by Lemony Snicket. In this book, Cass and Max-Earnest go on a spectacular adventure. You should read this if you like all of the books before this in the Seceret series!
            • champagne111
              champagne111Wednesday, July 3, 2013 at 11:58 pm33 stars
              This is a great book. but I like the first book better! ohhh nooo~~~ Cass stuck in her own mind :( ooopssss sploiler here :x sorryyyy!~~~ Will Cass know the secret? check this book out nowww!!
              • loveanimals
                loveanimalsFriday, March 15, 2013 at 3:52 pm
                I have not read this Series yet but based on the reviews and comments, they sound like good ones. I'll be looking for them.
                • squiddy
                  squiddyTuesday, February 12, 2013 at 4:40 pm
                  enjoyed it
                  • claire4th
                    claire4thSaturday, December 1, 2012 at 11:44 am
                    i enjoyed the other books in the series so this one should be awesome too. YOU should read it to.
                    • annalisa4thMonday, November 26, 2012 at 2:04 pm
                      this book is supercalifragalisticexpicalidocios!!!!! that good