This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series)

Book 3 of 5 in the The Secret Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.956452
Between the pages of this book lies the secret to the best-tasting chocolate in all the world. I promise, your taste buds will tingle. Your palette will sing! Oh no, have I accidentally tempted you to read this book? I will warn you, however, the most delicious things are never good for you...and this story is particularly scrumptious!

In this tooth-rotting adventure, Cass's mom has been kidnapped by the evil dessert chef and chocolatier, Señor Hugo! The ransom...the legendary tuning fork. Can Cass and Max-Ernest find the magical instrument before it's too late? Will they discover the evil secret ingredient to Señor Hugo's chocolate success?

If you're tempted, take a taste, but just remember...this book is not good for you.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031604086X
ISBN-13: 9780316040860
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • DanThursday, June 27, 2019 at 9:28 pm
    So amazing
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:27 pm55 stars
      7 year old: This book series is awesome, but I like the Bad Books a little better. 9 year old: I really liked this series (pseudonymous Bosch loves chocolate!) Mom: We all loved this series, it's got some creepiness factors to it, and I think we all like the Bad Books just a bit better, but this series plays with eternal life and the creepy things the bad guys had to do to get eternal life. Our good guys kept thwarting their plans mwahaha.
      • rufaida8
        rufaida8Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 6:30 pm55 stars
        i recommend this book its a really good book
        • tuskany1066
          tuskany1066Wednesday, December 28, 2016 at 11:43 am55 stars
          I'm enjoying it and i am just starting, but i love how the author is not all about the story. he takes you out of the story into his study and you have a little chat with him about chocolate. he keeps you to the edge of your chair.
          • fnaf23
            fnaf23Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 9:57 pm55 stars
            this book is great for kids like me who love a mystery and fiction books!
            • fnaf23
              fnaf23Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 9:50 pm55 stars
              This is my favorite series!
              • meel710Saturday, April 25, 2015 at 9:47 am
                one of my favorite books from this series!!!
                • chantel10Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 2:47 pm
                  love it so much!
                  • gymnast19
                    gymnast19Tuesday, March 31, 2015 at 5:11 pm
                    A girl named Cass's mother Mel is kidnapped by the evil chef senor Hugo whose plan is to make a chocolate using the mysterious turning fork to make a chocolate that taste good because that what the turning fork did. Of course Cass comes to save her mother but just gets trapped in Hugos chocolate trap with the midnight sun tracking her every move will she make it out ok?
                    • geteis
                      geteisTuesday, February 17, 2015 at 11:15 am55 stars
                      i love the whole series and yet another geat book by the man with no name