Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 4Z+3.962496
THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

**THE BOOK THAT STARTED IT ALL, NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES**

“Eerie, beautiful, and devastating.” — Chicago Tribune

“A stealthy hit with staying power. . . . thriller-like pacing.” — The New York Times

Thirteen Reasons Why will leave you with chills long after you have finished reading.” —Amber Gibson, NPR’s “All Things Considered”

You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker—his classmate and crush—who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.

Need to talk? Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255) anytime if you are in the United States. It’s free and confidential.

Find more resources at 13reasonswhy.info.

Find out how you can help someone in crisis at bethe1to.com.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on June 14, 2011 by Razorbill
ISBN-10: 159514188X
ISBN-13: 9781595141880
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • slytherinfan
    slytherinfanTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 1:30 pm
    I reeeeeeeeeeeeally want to read this book.
    • popman123
      popman123Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 10:03 am55 stars
      Best book i have ever read you all should read it.
      • love2
        love2Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
        I love this book
        • blackpowerpuff
          blackpowerpuffTuesday, May 30, 2017 at 7:04 pm55 stars
          I think this book is the best of all time.
          • lizzybeemar
            lizzybeemarFriday, May 26, 2017 at 12:42 pm55 stars
            If you got hooked on the Netflix series, you should definitely make time to read the book. It is one of the most powerful and impactful books I've ever read, although it is incredibly sad.
            • s858708
              s858708Friday, February 3, 2017 at 8:35 pm
              I really want to read it -BADLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)
              • duhitzme33
                duhitzme33Monday, November 14, 2016 at 9:07 am55 stars
                I have heard that this book is amazing
                • kingjay6
                  kingjay6Monday, October 31, 2016 at 8:43 am55 stars
                  omg the most amazing book I have ever read in my entire life, literally. especially when your depressed and kinda having problems then this book can help get some feelings out and simply lay it to rest.
                  • specialist
                    specialistFriday, June 24, 2016 at 4:52 pm
                    This book just disgusted me because it's all about suicide. And there's mushy stuff about love.
                    • ellabella_m
                      ellabella_mFriday, June 24, 2016 at 1:54 pm55 stars
                      This book is one of my favorites. I can't remember it that well, so I forgot the names. I really liked how the girl did the tapes. The author did an amazing job. The way she worded the chapters (tapes). It was like I was listening to the tapes. I recommend this book to 6th graders and up.