Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.6n/a
Cora is a small mermaid with a BIG personality. But like so many mermaids in the third grade, she is struggling to truly be herself.

She wants to be like the Singing Sirens, the most glamorous swim team in the sea. Unfortunately, an annoying road--er, seablock--keep getting in her way.

When Cora fails her spelling test, her coach says she can’t be on the team unless she gets an A on the next one!

Can Cora conquer her spelling test, make the swim team, AND stay true to herself at the same time?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545918162
ISBN-13: 9780545918169
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • young09
    young09Wednesday, October 10, 2018 at 10:30 am55 stars
    Love books
    • rainbowbrite
      rainbowbriteWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:45 pm55 stars
      I think I should win.
      • hanpink800
        hanpink800Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 7:59 pm55 stars
        Read this book! I read it and it was so much fun. Cora struggles alot In this book but overcomes it. If you love mermaids you will love this book even more. Also it has really cool pictures. FIVE STARS FOR SUCH A CUTE BOOK!!!!!
        • rainbowbrite
          rainbowbriteWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:47 pm55 stars
          And you too!!! How exciting.
        • ajg15
          ajg15Friday, August 17, 2018 at 9:44 am22 stars
          Cora gets her first report card of third grade and she gets an A+ in every class - singing,swimming,splashing....well not every class, in spelling she got a F. Her mom is really upset and gives her a diary to practice writing in. Cora believes her mom put a spell on the book to make her want to write (but she didn't) along the way Cora gets a giant pet shrimp, deals with sirens and friendship. And all along the way she learns her spelling words. I think this book would be good for 2nd - 3rd grarers. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
          • rainbowbrite
            rainbowbriteWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:46 pm55 stars
            I agree with you too!
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 8:54 am11 star
            Third grade mermaid //////this book was not good in my opinion...I recommend it to younger kids then 11 year olds and I rate it 1star 😐 😐 😐 😐 😐 so this is about Cora ,so Cora really wants to be like the song sirens in her 'awesome' swimming team but she gets kicked out of her swimming team because she got an f because she did not do her spelling so now she has to learn words that she doesn't want to do 😐so her mom gave her a new diary for her to write in and she didn't like it but then she wrote in her whole diary then her mom gets her another diary and she loves it thank you so so so so so much for reading -pizzagirl7
            • jwarne
              jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
              At first I didn't want to read this book. My sister really wanted me to read it to her, though, and since I'm the only one who can read I did. It's actually pretty funny. And I wonder if I could go to 3rd grade in the water like in this book. Things would be really weird and my lunch would probably get all wet!
              • strawberry1234
                strawberry1234Saturday, July 21, 2018 at 3:23 pm33 stars
                This book isnt a book for me it was to much of a fantasy and too many nonrealstic factors. I would recommend this book to ppl who enjoy reading mermaid books.
                • bobelly
                  bobellyFriday, July 20, 2018 at 1:46 pm22 stars
                  I didn't like this book very much because it's about a third grade mermaid who has anger issues and it wasn't fun to read about. On the bright side, there were some fun parts like the volcano and Larry finding out he needed glasses. The book was fine but not my favorite. Others might disagree.
                  • artsy10
                    artsy10Friday, July 20, 2018 at 12:29 pm
                    It is about a mermaid girl and she needs help learning about things in third grade she wants to swim but she didn't pass her spelling test
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:20 am33 stars
                      This book is about a mermaid named Cora. She really wants to join the singing sirens, but she gets bad grades on her spelling test, and so her Mom gives her a journal. I only read this book for Dogo, but it was actually sort of good.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins