Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.6n/a
Cora is a small mermaid with a BIG personality. But like so many mermaids in the third grade, she is struggling to truly be herself.

She wants to be like the Singing Sirens, the most glamorous swim team in the sea. Unfortunately, an annoying road--er, seablock--keep getting in her way.

When Cora fails her spelling test, her coach says she can’t be on the team unless she gets an A on the next one!

Can Cora conquer her spelling test, make the swim team, AND stay true to herself at the same time?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545918162
ISBN-13: 9780545918169
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jwarne
    jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
    At first I didn't want to read this book. My sister really wanted me to read it to her, though, and since I'm the only one who can read I did. It's actually pretty funny. And I wonder if I could go to 3rd grade in the water like in this book. Things would be really weird and my lunch would probably get all wet!
    • strawberry1234
      strawberry1234Saturday, July 21, 2018 at 3:23 pm33 stars
      This book isnt a book for me it was to much of a fantasy and too many nonrealstic factors. I would recommend this book to ppl who enjoy reading mermaid books.
      • bobelly
        bobellyFriday, July 20, 2018 at 1:46 pm22 stars
        I didn't like this book very much because it's about a third grade mermaid who has anger issues and it wasn't fun to read about. On the bright side, there were some fun parts like the volcano and Larry finding out he needed glasses. The book was fine but not my favorite. Others might disagree.
        • artsy10
          artsy10Friday, July 20, 2018 at 12:29 pm
          It is about a mermaid girl and she needs help learning about things in third grade she wants to swim but she didn't pass her spelling test
          • jso6
            jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:20 am33 stars
            This book is about a mermaid named Cora. She really wants to join the singing sirens, but she gets bad grades on her spelling test, and so her Mom gives her a journal. I only read this book for Dogo, but it was actually sort of good.
            • midnightluna
              midnightlunaThursday, July 12, 2018 at 9:08 am33 stars
              Third Grade Mermaid is a story of a mermaid named Cora who wants to be on the swim team but has sadly failed her spelling test. As someone who has struggled with spelling, I enjoyed Cora's struggle greatly.
              • kharigirl
                kharigirlFriday, June 29, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                What a cute story about a little mermaid dealing with school and her mom.
                • auntieb
                  auntiebThursday, June 21, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
                  Third Grade Mermaid is a really quirky story of Cora who fails her spelling test so her coach tells her in order to be on the swim team she has to pass her next spelling test. Join Cora as she studies rescues a giant shrimp and more! I also really love the illustrations they were so darling! Even though I am pretty old to read this book I still really like it I could see reading it aloud to younger children!
                  • unicornbrain
                    unicornbrainTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                    This book is great! I like mermaids and Third Grade Mermaid is about a really funny mermaid named Cora. Cora is really funny. She thought there was a trick to learn spelling words. So she asked her friends what is the trick to spelling, and they had no idea what she was talking about. Everyone knows you need to study to get better at spelling. It was hilarious that she thought there was a magic way to be a better speller. I also like that her friends support her like friends should! This has to do when one of the other mermaids was bullying her. Way to go friends! One of my favorite parts of the book is when she find a GIGANTIC shrimp and brings it home; and then her brother gets an allergic reaction. She did not know he was allergic to exoskeleton animals.
                    • jwise
                      jwiseFriday, June 15, 2018 at 4:09 pm55 stars
                      I thank this book is a osme book and you should come this book because I thank it is a good book and I thank every body will like it so I hope you read this book and hope you have a good time reading this book and just an case I did not tell you I like it and I haveint told you all how money stars i give this and I give it 5stars with is a 100 thank you for reading hope you all have a great summer

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dolphin8
                      dolphin8 wrote:

                      yeah this book is very good it i...
                      You Go First

                      toriburn
                      toriburn wrote:

                      looks good love fairy tale twists
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      Our Apps and Plugins