Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.6n/a
Cora is a small mermaid with a BIG personality. But like so many mermaids in the third grade, she is struggling to truly be herself.

She wants to be like the Singing Sirens, the most glamorous swim team in the sea. Unfortunately, an annoying road--er, seablock--keep getting in her way.

When Cora fails her spelling test, her coach says she can’t be on the team unless she gets an A on the next one!

Can Cora conquer her spelling test, make the swim team, AND stay true to herself at the same time?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545918162
ISBN-13: 9780545918169
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • unicornbrain
    unicornbrainTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 2:20 pm55 stars
    This book is great! I like mermaids and Third Grade Mermaid is about a really funny mermaid named Cora. Cora is really funny. She thought there was a trick to learn spelling words. So she asked her friends what is the trick to spelling, and they had no idea what she was talking about. Everyone knows you need to study to get better at spelling. It was hilarious that she thought there was a magic way to be a better speller. I also like that her friends support her like friends should! This has to do when one of the other mermaids was bullying her. Way to go friends! One of my favorite parts of the book is when she find a GIGANTIC shrimp and brings it home; and then her brother gets an allergic reaction. She did not know he was allergic to exoskeleton animals.
    • jwise
      jwiseFriday, June 15, 2018 at 4:09 pm55 stars
      I thank this book is a osme book and you should come this book because I thank it is a good book and I thank every body will like it so I hope you read this book and hope you have a good time reading this book and just an case I did not tell you I like it and I haveint told you all how money stars i give this and I give it 5stars with is a 100 thank you for reading hope you all have a great summer
      • dybook2018
        dybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:22 am
        Third Grade Mermaid is like a girly book but when you read it its for everyone to read and laugh. I liked to read it to and i hope you will to!
        • fasturtle
          fasturtleWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 5:41 am33 stars
          i thought is was funny
          • eybook2018
            eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:50 pm
            Third Grade Mermaid is a very fun book that I read to my brothers and they really enjoyed it! I also enjoyed it. It's not really as like a girl book but a good read aloud kind of book.
            • nybook2018
              nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:26 pm
              the Third Grade Mermaid was a great book when I read it. I don't like mermaids but I like the story of the mermaid in this story.
              • tybook2018
                tybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:28 am
                The third grade mermaid is a good book when i read it. When i first looked at it it looked like a boring book but later when i read it it was fun.
                • jwise
                  jwiseFriday, June 15, 2018 at 4:10 pm55 stars
                  Like it
                • bookgator
                  bookgatorWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 10:54 pm55 stars
                  I really liked the Third Grade Mermaid. I love anything with mermaid and this book had my interest right away. It was a nice read.
                  • bookgator
                    bookgatorWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 10:51 pm55 stars
                    I really liked this book. I love mermaids
                    • gia21
                      gia21Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:03 am44 stars
                      I really enjoyed this book. The main character is Nikki and she has to go to school and learn spelling words. I really like that she has a giant shrimp for a pet.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this novel is like a game....it ...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this is very good, especially if...
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      sooooooo good. my favorite book ...
                      The Unwanteds

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this was ok. it was really good ...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...