Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5Q4.627237
In this sequel to Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The Year of the Dog was a very lucky year: she met her best friend Melody and discovered her true talents. However, the Year of the Rat brings big changes: Pacy must deal with Melody moving to California, find the courage to forge on with her dream of becoming a writer and illustrator, and learn to face some of her own flaws. Pacy encounters prejudice, struggles with acceptance, and must find the beauty in change.

Based on the author's childhood adventures, Year of the Rat, features the whimsical black and white illustrations and the hilarious and touching anecdotes that helped Year of the Dog earn rave reviews and satisfied readers.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031611426X
ISBN-13: 9780316114264
13 Book Reviews
  • cosmo1025
    cosmo1025Friday, February 7, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
    First I thought it was going to be boring, and then I read the first chapter and got addicted!
    • happypug12
      happypug12Saturday, January 23, 2016 at 4:25 pm44 stars
      The year of the rat is my favorite book of the series.
      • thecatsmeow
        thecatsmeowFriday, November 13, 2015 at 3:46 pm55 stars
        I love books by Grace Lin! My favorite is Dumpling Days.
        • pandagirlrocks1
          pandagirlrocks1Friday, November 13, 2015 at 2:09 pm
          really good book
          • ngkwok
            ngkwokSunday, June 21, 2015 at 3:03 am
            This book is the best book ever it is so sad for Pacey to her best friend.It is fun looking at the back pages to see how Grace Lin life was when she little.It is so fun reading her mom storey.Grace Lin is one of my favorite author!!!!!!'!
            • happypug12
              happypug12Tuesday, August 19, 2014 at 1:14 pm44 stars
              I loved this book even more than the Year of the dog! What I liked about " The year of the Rat" so much was the stories that Grace's Mom and Dad told her, and I also liked reading about the food in the book. I would totally try some of that. Here are some of the foods mentioned in the book: Red- Brown Roasted Duck, Light Pink dumplings, golden pan-fried fish, and shrimp, to name a few. It made my mouth water and stomach growl!
              • thecatsmeow
                thecatsmeowFriday, November 13, 2015 at 3:47 pm55 stars
                I can attest to her food. I think I've tried what she's describing and it's good.
              • frankiebaby
                frankiebabySaturday, March 15, 2014 at 11:05 am
                Is this a series?
                • hello_summer
                  hello_summerMonday, January 13, 2014 at 6:37 pm
                  Not as good as Year of the dog but definitely really good
                  • happypug12
                    happypug12Tuesday, August 19, 2014 at 1:16 pm44 stars
                    the year of the rat is my favorite book of the series. What did you not like about it as much, hello_summer?
                  • fairy8
                    fairy8Sunday, October 6, 2013 at 9:43 am22 stars
                    it is ok I read the year of the rat and the dog too. HA HA
                    • kimflower123
                      kimflower123Monday, January 21, 2013 at 11:28 am55 stars
                      it is so sad