Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 12n/an/an/an/a

The ultimate gift edition of L. Frank Baum’s beloved story—just in time to celebrate the 70th anniversary of MGM’s classic film adaptation! Featuring a ribbon marker, this magical version is redesigned and reproduced from the original art.

Charles Santore has crafted a very personal, highly visual, and dazzling interpretation, with a carefully condensed text that uses virtually no words other than Baum’s own. Readers of all ages will follow the Yellow Brick Road on an unforgettable journey that takes them from Dorothy’s gray Kansas home into the blue Munchkin land; the sparkling bejeweled Emerald City; the dark, foreboding forest; and the ruby-red throne room of Glinda the Good Witch.

Michael Patrick Hearn, the world’s leading authority on The Wizard of Oz and L. Frank Baum, provides an enlightening introduction.

Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on October 6, 2009 by Sterling
ISBN-10: 1402766254
ISBN-13: 9781402766251
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unicornkitty
    unicornkittyMonday, July 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm33 stars
    This is another book that is just like its movie. I would recommend this book for 3rd and up because it is a long book. I really enjoyed the details in the book compared to the movie, like the movie never talked about there being four witches. My favorite character is always Toto he is a main character through the book but doesn't really have any parts lol.
    • bluehorse3
      bluehorse3Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 2:52 pm44 stars
      The full/real version of this book is really good. It has more detail than the movie and has some really cool elements like the glass village. It was a really long book, so be prepared.
      • chrystal13
        chrystal13Monday, June 22, 2015 at 2:28 pm
        I haven't seen the one with new illustrations such as this one, but I have read the annotated version and the original version and I am a big fan. I am hoping to read the rest of the books very soon.
        • strowbridge
          strowbridgeThursday, September 25, 2014 at 7:43 am
          I love the movie
          • gigiann
            gigiannMonday, June 2, 2014 at 5:42 pm
            this is a awesome book
            • bookish5
              bookish5Friday, August 2, 2013 at 2:22 pm
              I actually listened to this book as an audiobook but I really enjoyed it! I usually don't enjoy classics but I found this was so easy to understand, and the plot was really fun. I thought it was cool to finally know how the wizard of oz ended and overall I really enjoyed it.
              • oreo864
                oreo864Friday, October 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm
                this book is awesome. i like it.
                • bubba11
                  bubba11Friday, October 12, 2012 at 5:45 am55 stars
                  This is a very good book !There is a movie to that is good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • coolclaire
                    coolclaireThursday, January 26, 2012 at 12:32 am55 stars
                    This book is very COOL!!! I luv fantasy and adventure books!!!! I like the movie too!!
                    • jw115
                      jw115Wednesday, January 25, 2012 at 7:22 pm
                      I loved the book one of my favorite. Lots of fantasy and adventure. I recomend this book to people who love make belive books.