Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
"A true genius . . . Roald Dahl is my hero" David Walliams Witches really are a detestable breed. They disguise themselves as lovely ladies, when secretly they want to squish and squelch all the wretched children they despise. Luckily one boy and his grandmother know how to recognize these vile creatures, but can they get rid of them for good?
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0590032496
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • The ReaderMonday, June 22, 2020 at 12:50 am
    This book has impressed me so it will impress you too. This book inspires me because it is the story that pops out from other books telling us to read it.
    • c0okie
      c0okieMonday, April 27, 2020 at 10:36 am44 starsFeatured
      "In fairy-tales, witches always wear silly black hats and black cloaks, and they ride on broomsticks. But this is not a fairy tale. This is about real witches." This is one of my favorite books! In the book, a boy is told monstrous stories about witches from his grandmother after his parents died in a car crash. He learns everything he needs to know about witches such as how they dress (they always wear gloves and wigs!) and how they despise children. "A real witch spends all her time plotting to get rid of children." One day, the boy and his grandmother take a trip to a hotel where a large number of witches (two hundred or so?) are planning a grand attack to get rid of children. Will the boy and his grandmother stop the witches? Overall, this book was great. I reccomend this book to all that love Roald Dahl's books.
      • yujushin
        yujushinSunday, January 19, 2020 at 10:12 pm55 stars
        I think this book is so good!! This is very fun and the story is very interesting. I recommend this book a lot
        • buddy_jani11
          buddy_jani11Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 2:48 am
          it looks fun to read and it looks joyful to read. love the cover.
          • sunny-coco
            sunny-cocoThursday, November 21, 2019 at 8:48 pm55 stars
            That's very interesting and funny. I think every child will love it. Maybe some girls will try to be witchs.
            • havefunreading1Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 7:20 am
              This book is amazing I reccomend it to 4rth graders. Hope you enjoy
              • zack1111
                zack1111Saturday, September 28, 2019 at 11:16 am55 stars
                it is so so good!you should read it!!
                • fate34
                  fate34Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
                  This book was great. I own it, and I read it all the time. I think you guys should read this book.Hope you guys enjoy!!!!!!
                  • ifrahSunday, July 7, 2019 at 9:06 pm
                    At the end after turning into mouse boy enters into hotel kitchen and mixes mice transforming potion in witches dinner. All the witches are turned into mice and killed by hotel administration. Then he travel to Norway with his grand mother to convert remaining witches into mice and killing them by use of cats. story was very interesting
                    • applemango
                      applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:23 pm33 stars
                      This is a book about a boy who grows up with a Norway grandmother. He knows that his parents died in a car crash, years ago. This boy goes to a hotel with his grandmother where, while finding an hiding spot to train his pet mice he discovers the grand high witch and all the witches of Norway. The witches are making a formula which they plan to open a chocolate shop and put the formula into the chocolates. Then since it is delayed the children will turn into mice by the time they go to school...when the boy discovers that he might get turned into a mouse himself too....
                      • eligra1920
                        eligra1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 6:03 am44 stars
                        Great review! This is a good retelling of the story without spoilers. I will say that the book wasn't a great representation of real-life witches but it was good none the less!