Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
"A true genius . . . Roald Dahl is my hero" David Walliams Witches really are a detestable breed. They disguise themselves as lovely ladies, when secretly they want to squish and squelch all the wretched children they despise. Luckily one boy and his grandmother know how to recognize these vile creatures, but can they get rid of them for good?
Hardcover, 192 pages
ISBN-10: 0099504111
ISBN-13: 9780099504115
146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • havefunreading1Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 7:20 am
    This book is amazing I reccomend it to 4rth graders. Hope you enjoy
    • zack1111
      zack1111Saturday, September 28, 2019 at 11:16 am55 stars
      it is so so good!you should read it!!
      • fate34
        fate34Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
        This book was great. I own it, and I read it all the time. I think you guys should read this book.Hope you guys enjoy!!!!!!
        • ifrahSunday, July 7, 2019 at 9:06 pm
          At the end after turning into mouse boy enters into hotel kitchen and mixes mice transforming potion in witches dinner. All the witches are turned into mice and killed by hotel administration. Then he travel to Norway with his grand mother to convert remaining witches into mice and killing them by use of cats. story was very interesting
          • applemango
            applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:23 pm33 stars
            This is a book about a boy who grows up with a Norway grandmother. He knows that his parents died in a car crash, years ago. This boy goes to a hotel with his grandmother where, while finding an hiding spot to train his pet mice he discovers the grand high witch and all the witches of Norway. The witches are making a formula which they plan to open a chocolate shop and put the formula into the chocolates. Then since it is delayed the children will turn into mice by the time they go to school...when the boy discovers that he might get turned into a mouse himself too....
            • Ali S.Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 11:35 am
              (SPOILER ALERT) The book that I chose for this book review is Witches, the book is very interesting and unique and I highly recommend it. The book Witches is written by Rold Dahl. This book is about a boy named Luke who needs to be very brave and overcome his fears. At the beginning of the book, he is very shy and not social and he soon becomes ver courageous by stopping a whole bunch of witches. It is very hard but he soon accomplishes his goals. I like this book a lot because I connected with it. I connected with it because Rold Dahl added many funny scenes that I enjoyed as well as lots of action and suspense. The book taught me how to make smart decisions and not to be sneaky. Also, it tells you to never give up. I enjoyed reading this book very much! Throughout the story, Luke has changed a lot. At first, Luke was a shy, quiet, and sneaky boy. For example, once a nurse came to the house for his grandmother because she was sick and he did not socialize with the nurse at all. He stayed away and only listened in when he was supposed to. Once he becomes a mouse from the witches, he starts becoming more brave and heroic because he needs to stop all the witches from turning other kids into mice as well. He will save the day by turning them into mice as well. Once he saves the day, he is more happy to be with his grandmother again to go hunt the other witches in America. There are so many thoughtful parts Rold Dahl has added to the book! Rold Dahl has included part many interesting parts in the book. One example is when Luke snook into the conference with all the witches, it would get the reader to think of what could happen to Luke if he got caught and turned into a mouse and how he could be saved. Another example is later in the book when the witches caught Luke, could he escape and how would he or if he didn’t, would he survive? I highly suggest this book for anyone who likes surprises because Rold Dahl did a very good job.
              • HI123456789Thursday, April 18, 2019 at 1:14 pm
                I really liked this book and it was super interesting I would esecially reccomend it to 4th graders like me. I love this book a lot.
                • yellingout
                  yellingoutTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                  I ❤ this book!!
                  • artislife
                    artislifeTuesday, October 30, 2018 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                    Amazing
                    • artislife
                      artislifeTuesday, October 30, 2018 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                      It was very great