Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.135019
Can a robot survive in the wilderness?

When robot Roz opens her eyes for the first time, she discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island. She has no idea how she got there or what her purpose is--but she knows she needs to survive. After battling a fierce storm and escaping a vicious bear attack, she realizes that her only hope for survival is to adapt to her surroundings and learn from the island's unwelcoming animal inhabitants.

As Roz slowly befriends the animals, the island starts to feel like home--until, one day, the robot's mysterious past comes back to haunt her.

From bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown comes a heartwarming and action-packed novel about what happens when nature and technology collide.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316381993
ISBN-13: 9780316381994
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Player1234Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 7:05 am
    It is good but violent even though it is a children's book.
    • squirrelflight
      squirrelflightTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 12:00 pm55 stars
      A heartwarming tale...adventurous and enthralling, this book brings life to both the technological and natural world. A must-read! Roz is an ordinary looking robot with an extraordinary life. The first things she sees after opening her eyes are the walls of a box, which floats around in the ocean near a mysterious island. When she crawls out, her whole life becomes a fight for survival...storms, bear attacks, and more, she must be ready to face the dangers. Battered, Roz must do what it takes to live on this remote island, even though its animal inhabitants don’t see it that way—they are mean and unwelcoming. Though she soon settles in, her past—and future start to come back...and might be more shocking than anyone could have known. She must survive. Can Roz do it? Read this book to find out!
      • helacruela
        helacruelaSaturday, June 27, 2020 at 6:16 pm55 stars
        This book is about a robot that crashed on an island. Her Name is Roz, And Roz’s only hope is to learn from the island’s hostile animal inhabitants. When she tries to care for an orphaned gosling, the other animals finally decide to help, and the island starts to feel like home. Until one day, the robot’s mysterious past comes back to haunt her. I really recommend this book to anybody under the age of 15, and i love the series!
        • anney
          anneyTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 11:36 am55 stars
          This book is so great! I love it so much. It is so interesting!!! The robot has so many mysteries, soon to bee discovered. It is fun and I adore it.
          • wagiluwa-156656439148
            wagiluwa-156656439148Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 1:49 pm55 stars
            It is a good book and it in interesting and i recommend to people who like adventure
            • jango
              jangoWednesday, January 29, 2020 at 9:40 am55 stars
              amazing book, i love it!
              • Lemon_limeThursday, October 31, 2019 at 10:45 am
                I love this book with all life this is so good. 5 stars!!!
                • TeganWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 2:19 pm
                  I was looking for a book and kept passing by it and then I finally just got it even tho I did not really want it but when my mom told me to read it I LOVED it and I in courage others to read it to
                  • carrotking
                    carrotkingThursday, October 3, 2019 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                    This is a good book because there are very sad things in it, happy things, bad things, and good things. The good thing in it is when he learns to talk to animals. That means he can have animal friends. The bad thing is that Roz broke his foot because 2 bears tackled him and one of them called Thorn pulled his foot off and then the beavers, woodpeckers, and 3 raccoons made him a new foot. The sad thing is at the end, Roz has to leave the island and everybody is sad. the good thing is they have a party where everybody is wild and having fun.
                    • chocoman
                      chocomanTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 8:34 pm55 stars
                      The book "The Wild Robot" Written and illustrated by the New York times bestseller, Peter Brown. I like this book because it really puts a sense of nature in me.