Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.135019
Can a robot survive in the wilderness?

When robot Roz opens her eyes for the first time, she discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island. She has no idea how she got there or what her purpose is--but she knows she needs to survive. After battling a fierce storm and escaping a vicious bear attack, she realizes that her only hope for survival is to adapt to her surroundings and learn from the island's unwelcoming animal inhabitants.

As Roz slowly befriends the animals, the island starts to feel like home--until, one day, the robot's mysterious past comes back to haunt her.

From bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown comes a heartwarming and action-packed novel about what happens when nature and technology collide.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316381993
ISBN-13: 9780316381994
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • remnant
    remnantTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 10:41 am33 stars
    I read it from read aloud!
    • delbels73
      delbels73Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 2:28 pm55 stars
      I loved this book! It was a combination of action, nature, machines, and so much more! It is super sad how all the animals think she's a monsters just because she's different! Peter Brown gave a excellent and important message and that is even though your different that doesn't mean your bad! That is a valuable and true lesson.
      • pringle_rapper
        pringle_rapperThursday, March 1, 2018 at 12:00 pm55 stars
        so far it's a good book and I recommend this book to everyone
        • xevididyba
          xevididybaWednesday, January 17, 2018 at 8:18 am
          This book is about 500 robots who are being brought to a different place on a ship but the ship found its way into a Giant Lightning storm. All the robots on the boat sank escaped five. Four crashed and one was about to but just made it on a shallow rock. Some otters came and checked out this robot but one accidentally clicked the on button. The robot bursted to life and scared away the otters but noticed it was on a far away inland! Read The Wild Robot to find out what happens to this Wild, Curios Robot!
          • minnedance4Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 5:39 am
            your reviews are so tempting i just cheked it out in my library!!!!!!!!
            • vabiciryvy
              vabiciryvyTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:52 am55 stars
              This book is about a robot that gets lost on a island. She tries to figure out why she is there and what are the animals on the island are so post to be there to. She then haves to take care of a bird as a kid. If you want to see how Roz goes threw this adventure and see if she can take care of this bird. Read the book.
              • vabiciryvy
                vabiciryvyTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:41 am55 stars
                This book is very good. It is about a robot that gets lost on a island and tries to figure out why he is here and what the animals around here do. This book really made me happy because I loved the story idea and the way the robot Roz loved everything
                • bylilexaho
                  bylilexahoTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:12 am44 stars
                  I liked the book. This book is is about a robot that is on a ship in a storm. The ship crashes and Roz was the only robot that lived. Will he make friends with the animals or will he be lonely. Read and find out.
                  • cybill
                    cybillTuesday, October 31, 2017 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                    Best book Ever!!!!!!!😏
                    • cybill
                      cybillTuesday, October 31, 2017 at 2:46 pm55 stars
                      I'm toatally reading this!😃

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      GSR wrote:

                      This was my favorite book when I...
                      Dealing with Dragons: The Enchan...

                      Ghur wrote:

                      Good book but I cried at the end
                      Stone Fox

                      <unknown> wrote:

                      i luv it
                      Dog Man Unleashed (Dog Man #2): ...

                      amazing anj wrote:

                      ........i literaly love her book...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...