Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.045954

For fans of Warriors, Spirit Animals, and Redwall--the next great animal fantasy adventure is here!

Kit is a young raccoon who has lived his whole life under the Big Sky. But when a pack of hunting dogs destroy his home and kill his parents, Kit needs to escape.

He finds himself in Ankle Snap Alley, a city in the midst of a turf war between the Wild Ones and the people's pets who call themselves The Flealess. There he uncovers the secret that they died for--an ancient truce that gives Ankle Snap Alley to the Wild Ones. But the Flealess will stop at nothing to keep that secret buried forever, and Kit is in serious danger. Only the brave of heart and quick of paw can save the Wild Ones now.

Perfect for fans of the Warriors, Spirit Animals, or Redwall series, this first book in the Wild Ones epic is sure capture young readers' imaginations and take them on a great adventure.

Praise for The Wild Ones:

* "The action is fast-paced, the dialogue hilarious, and the supporting characters true to their animal personalities. Animal fantasy lovers will frequently chuckle; younger children may enjoy hearing the book read aloud."--School Library Connection *STARRED REVIEW*

“Raccoon hero Kit and his ragtag community of creatures will sneak their way into your imagination and steal your heart. They may pick your pocket, too, but they’ll take you on an adventure you won’t soon forget. This is a fantasy that kids will adore (and quick-of-paw parents will steal). A wild ride from a wildly imaginative author.”--Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning author of The One and Only Ivan and the bestselling Animorphs series

"Bold deeds, betrayals, and buffoonery kick off this series with gusto."--Kirkus Reviews

"The sharp, lively descriptions ('like dynamite in a silk purse') shine while the exhilarating finale illustrates that home is wherever your 'howl to snap' friends live."--Publishers Weekly

"Readers will root for Kit as he tangles with scoundrels, liars, and even a hungry crocodile....A promising new series for fans of animal adventure."--School Library Journal

"With rich vocabulary, a satisfying quest, and some dastardly villains, this will be an easy pick for middle-graders who love animal adventure stories."--Booklist

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 25, 2015 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399170995
ISBN-13: 9780399170997
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookkiddo14
    bookkiddo14Tuesday, May 24, 2016 at 10:11 am55 stars
    This is a great animal adventure story that is perfect for fans of Warriors or Spirit Animals. Highly recommend it to 3rd graders and up.
    • pipermc11
      pipermc11Saturday, September 26, 2015 at 12:02 pmFeatured
      Kit's just your average raccoon, living with his parents and family-or so he thought. When his parents are killed by Flealess bloodhounds, Kit vows to protect the Footprint of Azban. When he finds out a secret about the Footprint, Kit finds himself in a position where only he can uncover why Ankle Snap Alley belongs to the Wild Ones. I thought this book was absolutely adorable, while being mature enough for an older audience. Most of the animal genre that I've read have been about a dog that finds new life with an awesome owner, and while those books are fantastic, it's nice to be refreshed with The Wild Ones.
      • felicisowl
        felicisowlSaturday, September 26, 2015 at 10:07 am55 starsFeatured
        "I promise, heart to snap." Can you imagine a world where animals roamed without fear, but they were divided among two sides? On one side are the Wild Ones, consisting of rats, weasels, raccoons and pretty much everything in between - but on the other side are the bloodthirsty Flealess, People's pets who aren't as cuddly and soft as you imagined. Both sides are about to get in a bitter war about possession over Ankle Snap Alley, the most rundown, Slivered Sky-reminiscent place you could imagine - but still, a home for the Wild Ones. Meanwhile, a young, carefree raccoon named Kit thinks he's the farthest away as possible from Slivered Sky life. His parents are historians, travelling all over the world to find artifacts related to Azban, the first Raccoon. But when his parents die at the hands of bloodhounds, Kit must follow his mother's last words - he must protect the Footprint of Azban at all costs and find his uncle Rik. Kit doesn't know why his parents had to die protecting the Footprint of Azban - for all he knows, it's just an artifact, nothing important! But suddenly Kit finds out a shocking secret about his parents and the Footprint of Azban.. and suddenly, Kit finds out that he's the only one who can uncover the secret that gives Ankle Snap Alley to the Wild Ones.. but will he die at the hands of the Flealess trying to uncover it? An almost worthy successor to the great adventure novels that were Redwall, this novel has a big heart and a great bit of adventure. In one word, I think this book is refreshing. A fresh breath of spring air in an alley, you could say. I love how this book takes the "animal" genre towards a new direction, focusing not on dogs, cats, and the like, but on other animals that deserve the spotlight for a change! That being said, I love how this book has such a diverse cast of animals! Another thing I love about this book is the unlikely (at the beginning) friendship of Kit and Eeni. I'm also relieved there isn't a romantic relationship between any of the characters (except Kit's parents, of course), because it's honestly becoming cliche. I loved how their friendship was genuine, not some plot twist where one betrays the other, because honestly I've read too many of those books lately.. The character development and details really pulled me into this world of ragtag animals.. I think that the only thing that negatively surprised me was the surprising amount of violence (don't be turned away from this book because of that, there's only a little), I think I was expecting a feel-good, family book but there was actual hunting/war/violence and even a death at the beginning (not too many details) But what can you say - this book really tugged at my heart with its adventurous spirit. This book delved into a cutting-edge storyline.. but it also explored the true feelings of its characters, and that might be why I loved this book.
        • ravermccare23
          ravermccare23Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 6:01 pm
          P.S. can you follow me? i followed you
          • ravermccare23
            ravermccare23Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 6:00 pm
            wow, really nice review and i totally agree with everything i say!
          • bibliophile
            bibliophileSunday, September 20, 2015 at 10:42 pmFeatured
            I really loved this light-hearted adventure! It starts off when Kit's family gets murdered by hunting dogs, Kit needs to find a way to escape from this sticky situation.... DUN DUN DUNNNNN!!! So this is where the whole plot came together... One thing I like about this book was that the story itself came together so easily... while there are some books where there's always that "awkward plot" where everything just comes into one mess... well you won't be disappointed because this book is not awkward... Anyways Kit is running away... while looking for secrets and discoveries of his parents.. Kit's parents had another identity...Which suddenly gets Kit in serious trouble... can he escape from this? What did Kit uncover? Will Kit save the day-or worse perish for saving the Wild Ones? Well read and find out! So here's the thing... I have been into very long novels such as Les Miserablès, so this story... came down very fast... So I was a little bit disappointed by the "shortness" but it did have content... so that's a plus. Also this series reminded me a lot of Warriors-a series that I read when I was younger- so this story line gave me a bit of depth to infer the whole plot line. I really liked the character itself, Kit, a brave, funny, adorable raccoon made me smile throughout the story, because of the adventure itself, the intensity of cliffhangers, and because of the main character (I am an animal lover :D). One more thing I really liked about this book was the amazing illustrations!!!! I love drawing because they give some depth to the story, especially since this was a short story, so I really liked the illustrations..SO for READ THAT BOOK... I will be giving this an A- because of the creativity of animals, mystery, and drawings. If you like the Warrior series, adventure but a little bit of mishap, and some mystery... Well this book is for you! Read and enjoy!!!:D
            • felicisowl
              felicisowlWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 7:09 am55 stars
              You're back :D You're back you're back you're back you're back! Yay! I'll be posting my review soon, my computer has just been having problems lately hehe
              • caskoc
                caskocWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:29 am
                Now I want to read this
                • tregre
                  tregreTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 1:47 pm
                  This review definitely got me interested in the book I'll have to try it some time.
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 10:22 pm
                    Yesssss you should try this book... it will blow your mind... I hope you like it!!! :D
                • dailey
                  Ms. DaileyFriday, September 18, 2015 at 1:01 pm44 stars
                  This book is about a raccoon named Kit and he is forced to go the Ankle Snap Alley because his home was destroyed. But while there he gets into a war with the Flealess. I like this story because of some of the illustrations and the war was cool.
                  • ocelot
                    ocelotMonday, September 14, 2015 at 6:42 am55 stars
                    I really liked this book, and would say that it's definitely aimed toward young adults. Those who like Spirit Animals should definitely read this book! Kit, a young raccoon, is living with his parents until a pack of hunting dogs comes and destroys his home, and kills his parents. He decides that it's time to escape. He ends up in Ankle Snap Alley. It's a city that's in the middle of a turf war. The people (and animals!) that are in the turf war are called the Wild Ones, and the pets call themselves The Flealess. But Kit is soon to find out a secret that no one wants him to know, and they'll stop at nothing to keep that secret buried forever. Will Kit be safe? Or will he be hunted down?
                    • CM123Monday, September 7, 2015 at 5:12 pm
                      cool, LOL, amazing
                      • AmillieaThursday, September 3, 2015 at 7:27 am
                        Wish they gave more
                        • sekwong
                          sekwongWednesday, September 2, 2015 at 9:07 pm55 stars
                          Join the young raccoon, Kit and his ragtag team of misfit animal friends on their journey to find the one thing that can save the Flealess (house pets) and The Wild Ones (stray animals) from starting a war. This book was filled with adventure, suspense, riddles and more!
                          • penguin313
                            penguin313Sunday, August 30, 2015 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                            An interesting book about a raccoon named Kit. When his family is murdered by hounds, he leaves his home in Big Sky to find his Uncle Rik in Ankle Snap Alley, where tricksters live. When the alley and its animals are threatened by the Flealess (housepets), Kit must save them.