Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a6.060985

In this new stand-alone fairy tale, Princess Annie is the younger sister to Gwen, the princess destined to be Sleeping Beauty. When Gwennie pricks her finger and the whole castle falls asleep, only Annie is awake, and only Annie-blessed (or cursed?) with being impervious to magic-can venture out beyond the rose-covered hedge for help. She must find Gwen's true love to kiss her awake.

But who is her true love? The irritating Digby? The happy-go-lucky Prince Andreas, who is holding a contest to find his bride? The conniving Clarence, whose sinister motives couldn't possibly spell true love? Joined by one of her father's guards, Liam, who happened to be out of the castle when the sleeping spell struck, Annie travels through a fairy tale land populated with characters both familiar and new as she tries to fix her sister and her family . . . and perhaps even find a true love of her own.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on May 1, 2010 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 159990487X
ISBN-13: 9781599904870
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • marrigold137
    marrigold137Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 10:04 am55 stars
    I personaly read this series out of order ,but it didn't matter becuase E D Baker spins a web of enchantment for each book. This book in particular is interesting on the outside and even more so once you read it! This is an adventure is worth reading about !
    • LoveitSunday, May 5, 2019 at 8:32 am
      I looooovvveeeddd this book when I was a kid, and I still do. It was one of the first larger books I had ever read, and it’s one of the reasons why I love to read so much.
      • hiyaworld14
        hiyaworld14Friday, March 23, 2018 at 3:16 pm55 stars
        Probably read it... I don't know TEN TIMES. E.D Baker is a great author and perfectly captures a kids appropriate romance story. Tons and sweet and sour moments
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolSaturday, October 10, 2015 at 2:42 pm55 stars
          ITS AWESOME!
          • bookworm890
            bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:35 pm
            E. D. Baker, fresh from the Frog Princess series (which inspired the Disney movie), tries her hand at another familiar tale. Sleeping Beauty's sister, Annie, is resistant to magic, so when the curse puts everyone in the kingdom to sleep, Annie sets off to break the curse. Her adventures are filled with comedy and princes, as she collects them to break the spell. Good read for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Michael Buckley, and Jessica Day George
            • catface173
              catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:37 pm33 stars
              She is just the oppiste of me. I LOVE to sleep. I liked this book anyway. Could be a little better but not to much.
              • samanthar
                samantharSunday, September 13, 2015 at 6:49 pm44 stars
                I read this book with my little sister and me and her loved it, it is basically a different story about what happened while sleeping beauty was sleeping, it is an amazing book.
                • chloegirl
                  chloegirlSunday, September 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm
                  i really want this. i am NOT lying.
                  • readwriter
                    readwriterSunday, September 13, 2015 at 12:56 pm55 stars
                    This book was a well written, intriguing mix up of the original 'Sleeping Beauty'. Annie, Sleeping Beauty's sister, is magic-free, meaning magic can't harm or charm her. When her sister falls asleep, she goes out on a quest to find her true love, and possibly find love herself...
                    • usaswimmer
                      usaswimmerSunday, September 13, 2015 at 9:49 am55 stars
                      I love this book such a great book it is slightly girly but mostly adventurousi would recommend this book to any girl or boy .love it!