Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.659477
A Wearle of dragons set out on an expedition from their home planet and was never heard from again. Now, a new Wearle, determined to find the first, has come to the place its creatures call Erth. Gabrial, who still has the blue scales of a young dragon, is eager to prove himself, and to find his missing father. But when Gabrial causes an accident that results in a baby dragon going missing, he'll have to prove himself worthy of remaining with the Wearle at all.

Across the scorch line, most Hom, or humans, live in fear of the dragons. But a boy named Ren is too fascinated to stay away, and will soon find his fate intertwined with that of the dragons. When conflict erupts between the dragons and humankind, Ren does the unimaginable, crossing into dragon territory. Will he be able to gain the dragons' trust and prevent an all-out war?

NYT bestseller Chris d'Lacey sweeps readers off on an extraordinary adventure bursting with majestic creatures and one boy with the heart of a dragon.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on December 27, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545900182
ISBN-13: 9780545900188
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:18 pm55 stars
    A long time ago, a Wearle of dragons set out on an expedition and were never heard of again. In this book, a new Wearle is determined to find the first that went missing. Gabrial is very eager to prove himself, and find his missing father even though he still has the blue scales of a young dragon. However, he ends up causing a terrible accident resulting in a baby dragon going missing. He will have to prove himself worthy of even remaining with the Wearle at all. This book was very interesting, and I recommend it to people who are interested in fantasy books. I rate this 5/5.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      A long time ago, a Wearle of dragons set out on an expedition and were never heard of again. In this book, a new Wearle is determined to find the first that went missing. Gabrial is very eager to prove himself, and find his missing father even though he still has the blue scales of a young dragon. However, he ends up causing a terrible accident resulting in a baby dragon going missing. He will have to prove himself worthy of even remaining with the Wearle at all. This book was very interesting, and I recommend it to people who are interested in fantasy books. I rate this 5/5.
      • GgesoThursday, December 5, 2019 at 1:35 am
        I think this book is really good. On scale to 1to 10 I will rate It 10!
        • customerWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 6:07 pm
          i am doing a book report and that is a necessity
          • customerWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 6:06 pm
            can anyone find any figurative language?? idioms, similies, foreshadowing, stuff like that
            • domosaur
              domosaurSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:26 am44 stars
              This book is a fascinating book, with never ending action! Back then, a group of dragons went on an expedition, but sadly, were never heard from again. Years later, a group of new dragons set out, determined to find the missing dragons. One particular dragon, Gabriel, is part of this group, looking for his father to prove himself worthy of being part of the group. Surprisingly, Gabriel causes a baby dragon to go missing, which puts him farther down. This causes Gabriel to prove himself worthy of even being in the group of dragons. Full of twists and turns, The Erth Dragons is a great book for those interesting in dragons and an adventure. I give this book 4 stars.
              • brodyjness
                brodyjnessFriday, May 5, 2017 at 10:43 am
                realy coolbook
                • cocoWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 7:14 pm
                  Book reviews are in! There are great!
                  • toryhur
                    toryhurThursday, March 16, 2017 at 5:12 pm55 stars
                    Guess what! I won one of the freebies and I just got it! This book is so amazing!! It's so much fun and interesting! I hope you can donate more freebies to the kids and students who like to read further and further more!
                    • sweetcakesWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 11:41 am
                      nice freebies