Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 8, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803740816
ISBN-13: 9780803740815
58 Book Reviews
  • chloe1103
    chloe1103Friday, March 5, 2021 at 6:28 am44 stars
    This book is actually the first book of 'The war I finally won'. It tells Ada and her little brother's story before they met Susan. I almost cried when Ada's mom gave a cruel approach to Ada! I could say this book is the setting of the story, like features and how they lived, and how they met. So it wasn't entertaining and heartwarming as the second one, so I just recommend this book to you guys just to know some background knowledge.
    • thesmessywriter
      thesmessywriterSaturday, February 6, 2021 at 4:24 pm55 stars
      OMG i LOVE this book it's so sad to see how little they don't know and how horrible their mother is but it's deffently a must read!!!
      • issy1568
        issy1568Tuesday, October 13, 2020 at 5:37 am55 stars
        This is a good book.
        • ultrajango
          ultrajangoMonday, October 12, 2020 at 11:34 am55 stars
          Ada lives in a one room flat in London were she is treated horribly by her mother, who says that Ada is ugly because of her club foot (which Ada has no idea can be fixed). When her younger brother Jamie is sent to the country due to the war, she decides to sneak away with him.
          • ramonakitty
            ramonakittyFriday, October 9, 2020 at 6:20 pm55 stars
            This is a great book about a girl named Ada who has a club foot. It is very interesting because it took place during World War Two.
            • lions579
              lions579Thursday, September 3, 2020 at 4:05 pm55 stars
              This book follows a young girl named ada, and she has club foot. Her mother is ashamed and hides her in the flat. Then boom threats reach London, and her mother sends her younger brother away. Desperate, ada escapes with her brother to a country town where they are thrown upon Susan, an old, troubled woman whose best friend died a few years back. The children grow to love Susan, and she learns to love them in return. Tensions grow as the war continues, an can ada learn to live free before her mother takes her back?
              • willow123goma
                willow123gomaThursday, July 23, 2020 at 9:39 am44 stars
                This was a powerful book about a crippled girl who lived during World War II in London, where her mother abused and neglected her. Because of the constant threat of bombs, she and her brother are sent to the country where they are loved and cared for by Susan. This made me realize how fortunate I am to live with a loving, caring family, and that happiness is not always guaranteed for all children.
                • effie302
                  effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:19 am
                  this is actually my second favorite book, its less sad then the second book to this one but this is still a very good book!
                  • mafifito-156909620749
                    mafifito-156909620749Monday, December 2, 2019 at 6:08 am55 stars
                    I think people should read The War That Saved My Life because the book is about this girl named Ada and her brother Jamie. Ada has a club foot and her mother treats her poorly. Jamie gets more love or attention then Ada because Jamie gets to go outside and go to the grocery store and can play with his friends and other kids. But Ada can't go outside and go to the grocery store and can't go play with other kids because of her club foot and her mother thinks that she is a disgrace to the family but she isn't. Then there was a war so before the day all the children had to go to England Ada wanted to go with Jamie but her mom said No to her to find out if Ada goes with Jamie read The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradly to find out what happens
                    • soccergal2008
                      soccergal2008Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:06 pm
                      #best book ever an amzing adventure