Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 31, 2016 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147510481
ISBN-13: 9780147510488
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shootingstars
    shootingstarsThursday, February 21, 2019 at 8:25 am55 stars
    Such an amazing book! It was filled with many wonders and brought me great joy!
    • applebutter8Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 8:38 am
      I LOVE THIS BOOK!! to all of the people in the world who have not read this book go get it right now!! this book is not only interesting but shows love,sadness,heartbreak,pain,worry,and joy. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL AGES! unless you are two or so. :D
      • chloemcc
        chloemccThursday, February 7, 2019 at 2:15 pm
        it is a really good book i wish that she didnt get in trubble when she did or not get hert like she did it is going really good so far i love it it is my favorit battle book love it😍😍😍😍😍😻I think you should read It.
        • ajg16
          ajg16Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 11:27 am55 starsFeatured
          This book is a sad one so make sure to grab some tissues. This book is about a girl named Ada and her younger brother Jamie. Ada is abused by her mother because she has a crippled foot, her mother blames Ada. Jamie is more loved because he is not crippled and is normal (he still gets hit sometimes.). When there mother is told her children must be evacuated for the threats of bombing seemed very high for London from the ongoing war, she decides Jamie can go but Ada can not because no one would want a crippled girl. Ada decides one night she will go with Jamie and sneaks out. Will Jamie's help she makes it to the train and a short while later they are placed with Susan Smith, a woman who does not want to care for the children. Along the way Susan discovers her love to Jamie & Ada and she cares about them deeply. A very amazing and emotional book, I couldn't take my eyes off for one moment. Read the book!! Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
          • sweetlemmon
            sweetlemmonSaturday, January 19, 2019 at 7:21 pm55 stars
            Great book about WW2 from a very different perspective! Shows that you should be valued no matter what! Definitely a great read!!!
            • amymouse
              amymouseFriday, January 18, 2019 at 7:26 pm
              I have written a poetic summary below. Hope you find it helpful. Ada, the neglected child, The love from her mam was less than mild. Her brother Jamie is the only one, Who loves her and believes she’s not done. Ada escapes with her evacuating brother, With the pain in her foot too aching not to bother. But nobody wants to take them in, For they looked like they’ve been in the bin. They got forced upon Susan Smith, And to her raising children is like a myth. The teachers of the village won’t let Ada go to school, Because she’s never been to one they think she is a fool. She learns to ride a horse and makes a friend called Margaret, She had rescued the friend from and accident and starts to earn respect. Susan and the children start to form a bond, Deep down of each other they are very fond. She makes more friends and even learns how to write, She’s starting to learn how to be strong, and fight. Hitler’s war is everywhere, bombs bursting in the air, Citizens and evacuees are taught to be aware. Ada knows about the war, and is determined to play her part, She’s alert, catches a spy, and wins the villages heart. Then mam comes to retrieve the kids, smiling like an evil bunny, For she found out that evacuating costs a lot of money. Their lives go back to a terrible nightmare, Where mam would laugh if they got eaten by a bear. The two siblings found out the rough, The rough truth that their mam gave no love. The sirens blare, they run into shelters, Where it’s filled with confused kids and elders. Then god took pity, they ran into Susan, Finally love, no more abusin’. Their house was burned down like an old and tired moth, But their love held them together, like the threads of a cloth.
              • ariettaki08
                ariettaki08Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 3:11 pm44 stars
                I really liked it, but it was kinda sad because of her mom abusing her, and the war.
                • kitkatgirl1690
                  kitkatgirl1690Monday, January 14, 2019 at 9:27 am55 stars
                  i love this book and there is another book to it called the war i finally won
                  • Ada Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 2:07 pm
                    I like this book because I like historical fiction which is the genre of this book
                    • raideratte
                      raideratteThursday, November 8, 2018 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                      Omg I just love this book! It really shed some tears. Once u read this book u won't b able 2 stop! Right now I'm reading the war i finally won. So I encourage 3-10graders to read this

                      Our Apps and Plugins