Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 31, 2016 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147510481
ISBN-13: 9780147510488
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • raideratte
    raideratteThursday, November 8, 2018 at 3:25 pm55 stars
    Omg I just love this book! It really shed some tears. Once u read this book u won't b able 2 stop! Right now I'm reading the war i finally won. So I encourage 3-10graders to read this
    • elliebeananders
      elliebeanandersThursday, August 9, 2018 at 11:12 am55 stars
      I love this book! Ada, (the main character,) is a very brave girl. READ IT NOW!
      • devenitycrystal
        devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:14 pm55 stars
        This book is beautiful in every way, except the abusive mother that I think everyone hates. This book is so beautiful and inspiring!
        • bravery
          braveryMonday, May 21, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 starsFeatured
          If you like action, drama, and suspense then you would love this book called "The War that Saved my Life." I really like this book because of its content. It is about this girl named Ada Smith and her brother Jamie Smith. Ada is a crippled little girl that just wants to walk on her own. Jamie, however, is just a normal boy. But, their mother is not so normal she is abusive and she just does it to Ada, not Jamie. That is all until the Nazis come to invade the small little England town that they live. With all hope that they will survive Ada gets all her strength and tells Jamie to escape out the house while their mother is sleeping. Ada tries to get up but she can't. Although her little brother cant see her like this. He lifted her up with all his might and carried her down to the train station where the children will be relocated to a safe location. With their train ride there she meets amazing and not so amazing people along the way. She meets a woman called Susan Smith and Cat named Bovril that wasn't so nice to her but the only friend that Jamie had. In conclusion I really hope you read this book and never lift your eyes from the pages.
          • xxbooksrulesxx
            xxbooksrulesxxMonday, April 16, 2018 at 2:06 pm
            this is my favorite book (:
            • seasidesunset56
              seasidesunset56Friday, March 9, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
              I loved this book so much. The sequel was amazing too. :)
              • emersonkeith
                emersonkeithWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:56 am55 stars
                heart breakingly good
                • unicorn_gymnast
                  unicorn_gymnastTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 11:16 am
                  Very heart touching
                  • renatonosi
                    renatonosiTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:49 am
                    I decided to read this book because I thought it looked interesting and it intrigued me. I'm only a few pages into it and I already love it . I think that the rest of the book will be amazing.
                    • dancer_cbear52
                      dancer_cbear52Wednesday, November 22, 2017 at 4:11 pm55 starsFeatured
                      The War That Saved My Life is a historical fiction story about a girl named Ada, who lives during WWII. After escaping London (and her terrible mother) with her little brother Jamie, Ada and Jamie go to live with a lady named Susan. The only thing is, Ada has a clubfoot and can't walk. Will Susan accept Ada the way she is or will Ada be bullied by someone yet again? This book really touched my heart and was sad at times, but made me want to laugh at times too.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Elizabeth67 wrote:

                      We love this show and the episod...
                      The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      I can't really write a proper re...
                      The Unwanteds

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Once We Were

                      Our Apps and Plugins