Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 31, 2016 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147510481
ISBN-13: 9780147510488
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • xxbooksrulesxx
    xxbooksrulesxxMonday, April 16, 2018 at 2:06 pm
    this is my favorite book (:
    • seasidesunset56
      seasidesunset56Friday, March 9, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
      I loved this book so much. The sequel was amazing too. :)
      • emersonkeith
        emersonkeithWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:56 am55 stars
        heart breakingly good
        • unicorn_gymnast
          unicorn_gymnastTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 11:16 am
          Very heart touching
          • renatonosi
            renatonosiTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:49 am
            I decided to read this book because I thought it looked interesting and it intrigued me. I'm only a few pages into it and I already love it . I think that the rest of the book will be amazing.
            • dancer_cbear52
              dancer_cbear52Wednesday, November 22, 2017 at 4:11 pm55 starsFeatured
              The War That Saved My Life is a historical fiction story about a girl named Ada, who lives during WWII. After escaping London (and her terrible mother) with her little brother Jamie, Ada and Jamie go to live with a lady named Susan. The only thing is, Ada has a clubfoot and can't walk. Will Susan accept Ada the way she is or will Ada be bullied by someone yet again? This book really touched my heart and was sad at times, but made me want to laugh at times too.
              • cadycat
                cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:27 am55 stars
                when you read this book it may cause tears i really had a connection because my dad died before i was born too so we had that connection throughout the whole story
                • artpanda
                  artpandaMonday, August 7, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
                  The year is 1939 and Hitler is on the move. Ten-year-old Ada manages to slip out of her oppressive environs with her six-year-old brother Jamie to join other London children who are being evacuated to the countryside. The children are promised that the families awaiting their arrival will care for them. Unfortunately, no one seems to want Ada and Jamie, and they are sent to live with Susan Smith, a single woman who neither has experience with children nor any desire to care for them. Tension exists between Ada and Susan, even though the living arrangement appears to be better than anticipated. While their relationship builds amid hardship from the ensuing war, an unexpected event ultimately tests their bond of love. THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE is an unforgettable gripping story, one that is not only earmarked to be an award-winning novel, but also has the potential of becoming an all-time classic. Long before war begins to ravage people's lives throughout Europe, an internal war has been brewing in one particular young girl's life --- because of her twisted foot, Ada has been the recipient of physical, mental and emotional abuse.  Because of this, Ada has a difficult time embracing Susan's kindness, and she constantly convinces herself that Susan isn't real. Bradley incorporates a bit of leitwortstil throughout a handful of chapters to reflect Ada's coping mechanism by periodically repeating the phrase "she's not a nice person." Yet this is only the beginning of Bradley's use of paradox --- a key literary tool driving her plot. Ada is a dynamic character. She is learning to adapt to the newness of her countryside surroundings, even though she feigns indifference in Susan's presence. She’s also very aware of others, and observes that other people have their ups and downs no matter their lot in life. THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE is an unforgettable gripping story, one that is not only earmarked to be an award-winning novel, but also has the potential of becoming an all-time classic. I hope you will love this amazing book that you ought to read.
                  • #sparklyunicornTuesday, July 11, 2017 at 5:36 pm
                    Ava is a 10 year old girl who suffers an untreated clubfoot and lives with her harsh mother and little brother,Jamie in a small one bedroom apartment.Ava's mother is so ashamed of her clubfoot she does not let Ava step into the outside world.When World War Two breaks out,her mother allows Jamie to evacuate to America but forbids Ava from going.Nevertheless,Ava teaches herself to walk despite of her crippled foot and sneaks out with Jamie to the train to America.Once they get to America,they are 2 kids who nobody wants.Then,the "iron faced woman' gives them to a stern but good- hearted woman named Susan Smith.After a few awkward days,Susan and the children start to bond a little-by-little until it turns into loving each other like family. When the "iron faced woman" tells them it is time for the children to go back to London,they are upset but understand why.Once they return,their cruel mother takes away Ava's crutches and bandage.A few days later,the Germans bomb London.After the attack,Susan comes to London and the children are overjoyed to see her.Their mother is fine with them living with Susan. Kimberly Brubaker Bradley described this story very,very well and she is a fine author.I recommend this book to ages 10+.
                    • lrohne24
                      lrohne24Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 starsFeatured
                      This book takes place in World War II. Ava and her little brother Jamie are living with their abusive mother in a small apartment shack in London. Ava has an unfixed clubfoot, and because of it, Ava's mother doesn't let her go out in public, go to school, use a normal bathroom, and treats Ava like she is nothing but a burden in life. One day, Jamie finds out about a train taking kids to the country, where it will be safer than London when the bombs come. Ava's mother doesn't want Ava to go, but Ava sneaks out with Jamie and they take the train. When they arrive, nobody wants to take them in, so they are taken to a women named Susan. Susan does not have kids nor does she want kids, but she is forced to take them. At Susan's house, Ava's world is changed. For the first time in her life, she is allowed to go outside at free will. At Susan's house, she discovers so many new things, like grass and a horse named Butter, which she learns to ride. She gets three good meals a day, and gets to use a normal bathroom, not a bucket. Eventually, Ava and Jamie start to grow on Susan, and she starts to grow on them. Ava finally has someone to comfort her, and to tuck her in at night. She gets an education, and has the possibility to get her clubfoot fixed. And for the first time ever, Ava gets something she's never got before. Ava gets to be loved. The War That Saved My Life is a wonderful book. Kimberly Brubaker Bradley did an amazing job writing this book, and did a really great job having you connect with the character, as if you were right there beside her the whole time. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      zingisme213

                      loved this book! Got it for my b...
                      The Tales of Beedle the Bard, St...

                      Camryn Tatum wrote:

                      I LOVE this book! It was awesome!
                      Girls Rule! (Boy/Girl Battle)

                      lol2000
                      lol2000 wrote:

                      very funny i recommend it
                      The BFG

                      Samantha Madden wrote:

                      this book is so mysterious and a...
                      Frozen Charlotte