Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 31, 2016 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147510481
ISBN-13: 9780147510488
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • soccergal2008
    soccergal2008Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:06 pm
    #best book ever an amzing adventure
    • MoTuesday, October 8, 2019 at 8:27 pm
      I love this book
      • applemango
        applemangoTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
        AMAZING BOOK! This is about a girl Ada. She has a mean mother who doesn't let her out of the one room apartment house because of her club foot. Also when she does something bad she has to go in the cabinet which has many roaches in it. Jamie is her brother, and he is planned to get shipped out due to the war and safety issues. Ada, during summer has learned to walk and she escapes with Jamie. They get taken to Miss Smith's house and she has to take care of them. Miss Smith is way more kind than Ada's mother. She gives them proper meals and Ada can go out of the house and ride horses and such. She meets new friends like "Maggie" the daughter of Iron Face Lady or Mrs. Thorton the head of the W.V. S also and gets invited over to tea with Colonel and Stephen but, Ada declines several times. Butter is Miss Smith or Susan's horse and he gets too long finger nails and Mr. Fred has to cut them because Ada was complaining that Butter could not go faster. How she became friends with Maggie is she rescued her and brought her home because Maggie's horse threw her off. During this time Ada also sees a spy and reports him to the police and he really actually turns out to be a spy!
        • im-riddikulus
          im-riddikulusTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:39 pm55 stars
          This is the sweet story of a girl who has been neglected and abused her whole life. This is her story of how she learned to love and be loved. I suggest this book to kids 4th grade and up.
          • izzyblue
            izzyblueWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 11:28 am
            this book is good and i like ho wyou can read it and you can get up close this book is the best i would recamoud this for every one
            • selo4
              selo4Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 8:40 am55 starsFeatured
              This book is such a great book! If I could I'd give this book more then 5 stars. This book is about a 10 year old girl named Ada. Ada gets abused by her Mother for being a cripple. Ada has a club foot, and you might wonder why her mother just didn't get a treatment? Because Ada's family has financial issues since there father died. Ada has 1 sibling named Jamie he is 6 years old. When World War 2 breaks out, children are supposed to get evacuated but Ada's mother won't bother to evacuate Ada. So Ada escapes and leaves with Jamie, when it's time for children to be taken nobody wants to take Jamie and Ada. There was a few people that wanted Jamie but Ada lied about him so they don't get separated. The last option was to go to a woman named Miss. Smith. At first, Miss Smith was miserable and didn't want Ada and Jamie. But then she started to love them and filled their life with joy, happiness and more. If you want more information on the book, you should read it!
              • shootingstars
                shootingstarsThursday, February 21, 2019 at 8:25 am55 stars
                Such an amazing book! It was filled with many wonders and brought me great joy!
                • applebutter8Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 8:38 am
                  I LOVE THIS BOOK!! to all of the people in the world who have not read this book go get it right now!! this book is not only interesting but shows love,sadness,heartbreak,pain,worry,and joy. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL AGES! unless you are two or so. :D
                  • chloemcccormick
                    chloemcccormickThursday, February 7, 2019 at 2:15 pm
                    it is a really good book i wish that she didnt get in trubble when she did or not get hert like she did it is going really good so far i love it it is my favorit battle book love it😍😍😍😍😍😻I think you should read It.
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 11:27 am55 starsFeatured
                      This book is a sad one so make sure to grab some tissues. This book is about a girl named Ada and her younger brother Jamie. Ada is abused by her mother because she has a crippled foot, her mother blames Ada. Jamie is more loved because he is not crippled and is normal (he still gets hit sometimes.). When there mother is told her children must be evacuated for the threats of bombing seemed very high for London from the ongoing war, she decides Jamie can go but Ada can not because no one would want a crippled girl. Ada decides one night she will go with Jamie and sneaks out. Will Jamie's help she makes it to the train and a short while later they are placed with Susan Smith, a woman who does not want to care for the children. Along the way Susan discovers her love to Jamie & Ada and she cares about them deeply. A very amazing and emotional book, I couldn't take my eyes off for one moment. Read the book!! Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews