Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 31, 2016 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147510481
ISBN-13: 9780147510488
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • devenitycrystal
    devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:14 pm55 stars
    This book is beautiful in every way, except the abusive mother that I think everyone hates. This book is so beautiful and inspiring!
    • bravery
      braveryMonday, May 21, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 starsFeatured
      If you like action, drama, and suspense then you would love this book called "The War that Saved my Life." I really like this book because of its content. It is about this girl named Ada Smith and her brother Jamie Smith. Ada is a crippled little girl that just wants to walk on her own. Jamie, however, is just a normal boy. But, their mother is not so normal she is abusive and she just does it to Ada, not Jamie. That is all until the Nazis come to invade the small little England town that they live. With all hope that they will survive Ada gets all her strength and tells Jamie to escape out the house while their mother is sleeping. Ada tries to get up but she can't. Although her little brother cant see her like this. He lifted her up with all his might and carried her down to the train station where the children will be relocated to a safe location. With their train ride there she meets amazing and not so amazing people along the way. She meets a woman called Susan Smith and Cat named Bovril that wasn't so nice to her but the only friend that Jamie had. In conclusion I really hope you read this book and never lift your eyes from the pages.
      • xxbooksrulesxx
        xxbooksrulesxxMonday, April 16, 2018 at 2:06 pm
        this is my favorite book (:
        • seasidesunset56
          seasidesunset56Friday, March 9, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
          I loved this book so much. The sequel was amazing too. :)
          • emersonkeith
            emersonkeithWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:56 am55 stars
            heart breakingly good
            • unicorn_gymnast
              unicorn_gymnastTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 11:16 am
              Very heart touching
              • renatonosi
                renatonosiTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:49 am
                I decided to read this book because I thought it looked interesting and it intrigued me. I'm only a few pages into it and I already love it . I think that the rest of the book will be amazing.
                • dancer_cbear52
                  dancer_cbear52Wednesday, November 22, 2017 at 4:11 pm55 starsFeatured
                  The War That Saved My Life is a historical fiction story about a girl named Ada, who lives during WWII. After escaping London (and her terrible mother) with her little brother Jamie, Ada and Jamie go to live with a lady named Susan. The only thing is, Ada has a clubfoot and can't walk. Will Susan accept Ada the way she is or will Ada be bullied by someone yet again? This book really touched my heart and was sad at times, but made me want to laugh at times too.
                  • cadycat
                    cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:27 am55 stars
                    when you read this book it may cause tears i really had a connection because my dad died before i was born too so we had that connection throughout the whole story
                    • artpanda
                      artpandaMonday, August 7, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
                      The year is 1939 and Hitler is on the move. Ten-year-old Ada manages to slip out of her oppressive environs with her six-year-old brother Jamie to join other London children who are being evacuated to the countryside. The children are promised that the families awaiting their arrival will care for them. Unfortunately, no one seems to want Ada and Jamie, and they are sent to live with Susan Smith, a single woman who neither has experience with children nor any desire to care for them. Tension exists between Ada and Susan, even though the living arrangement appears to be better than anticipated. While their relationship builds amid hardship from the ensuing war, an unexpected event ultimately tests their bond of love. THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE is an unforgettable gripping story, one that is not only earmarked to be an award-winning novel, but also has the potential of becoming an all-time classic. Long before war begins to ravage people's lives throughout Europe, an internal war has been brewing in one particular young girl's life --- because of her twisted foot, Ada has been the recipient of physical, mental and emotional abuse.  Because of this, Ada has a difficult time embracing Susan's kindness, and she constantly convinces herself that Susan isn't real. Bradley incorporates a bit of leitwortstil throughout a handful of chapters to reflect Ada's coping mechanism by periodically repeating the phrase "she's not a nice person." Yet this is only the beginning of Bradley's use of paradox --- a key literary tool driving her plot. Ada is a dynamic character. She is learning to adapt to the newness of her countryside surroundings, even though she feigns indifference in Susan's presence. She’s also very aware of others, and observes that other people have their ups and downs no matter their lot in life. THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE is an unforgettable gripping story, one that is not only earmarked to be an award-winning novel, but also has the potential of becoming an all-time classic. I hope you will love this amazing book that you ought to read.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...