Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.239546
The sea, the sea, the sea. It rolled and rolled and called to me. Come in, it said, come in.

Thirteen-year-old Sophie is the only girl amongst the surly crew of The Wanderer made up of her three uncles and two cousins. They sail across the Atlantic toward England, the land of Bompie, her grandfather. The sea calls to Sophie -- promising adventure and the chance to explore and discover. But the personal journey she takes brings her deeper into a forgotten past than she ever knew she could travel to.

Sophie's thirteen-year-old cousin Cody isn't even sure why his father brought him along on this voyage. Everyone, including his dad, thinks he's nothing but a knuckle headed doofus. But behind all the goofing off, he wonders if he has the strength to prove himself to the crew and to his father.

Through Sophie's and Cody's travel logs, the amazing experiences of these six wanderers and their perilous journey unfold. Stories of the past and the daily challenges to survive at sea swirl together as The Wanderer sails toward its destination, and its passengers search for their places in the world.

Newbery Award winner Sharon Creech's newest novel is an adventure-filled story of a courageous girl's journey across the ocean and into the memories of her tragic past. Sophie's struggle to reclaim who she is inspires similar exploration from those around her -- as the crew discovers the joys and trials of belonging to a family.

Bulletin Blue Ribbon Best of 2000 Award, 2001 Children's Books of Distinction (Riverbank Review Finalist), Books for Youth Editor's Choice 2000 (Booklist), Best Books 2000(School Library Journal), Children's Books 2000-NY Public Lib., 2000 Christopher Award, 2001 Children's Books of Distinction (Riverbank Review Finalist), 2001 Newbery Honor Book Award, 01 Notable Children's Books (ALA), 01 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA),Books for the Teen Age 2001 (NYPL), and Bulletin Blue Ribbon 2000 (Bulletin of Center for Children's Books

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on August 23, 2005 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0060766735
ISBN-13: 9780060766733
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • soso17970
    soso17970Friday, May 25, 2018 at 8:12 pm55 stars
    This is such a great book. Sophie is a very loveable character. You can follow her journey on the wander with Cody and her ship logs. This book is full of adventure and great lessons. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
    • zubyfajemuvezi
      zubyfajemuveziThursday, April 5, 2018 at 6:48 am55 stars
      Thirteen-year-old Sophie is the only girl among the surly crew of The Wanderer, made up of her three uncle and two cousins. They sail across the Atlantic toward England, the land of Bompie, her grandfather. the sea calls to Sophie-promising adventure and the chance to explore and discover. But the personal journey she takes brings her deeper into a forgotten past then she ever knew she could travel to.
      • scarletnews101
        scarletnews101Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:40 am
        This book is about a girl who loves the sea and travels with her uncle and brothers as she sees more of the world.
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesMonday, October 26, 2015 at 4:41 pm55 stars
          This was a intelligent story of a young girl named Sophie. this is her story of her trip across the sea on a boat called the Wanderer. at the same time her past begins to unravel. she tells stories of her granddad Bompie to her cousin Cody. Cody begins to tell his story as he trys to understand Sophie's miserable childhood. this book is an astonishing tale.
          • whales3837
            whales3837Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 8:12 am55 stars
            I read this book in 5th grade, and I loved it! Today it is still my favorite book because of how well written it is, and how the story goes. I recommend this book to anyone who like realistic fiction, and the ocean of course!
            • cool_girl101
              cool_girl101Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 4:47 pm33 stars
              my teacher forced me and my reading partner to read it. by the way sophie talks a lot in the first section
              • teacher_1943
                Ashley GoodpasterTuesday, December 27, 2011 at 7:31 am
                I really enjoyed "The Wanderer". It is a heartwarming story about a young girls adventure across the ocean with her uncles and cousins. She learns a lot about herself and her strength during the journey.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                imactuallyn6

                This is making me crazy waiting ...
                The School for Good and Evil #4:...

                Ly wrote:

                I THINK IT IS COOL
                Potion Problems (Just Add Magic)

                Grace wrote:

                I’m 14 and the spirit animals is...
                The Dragon's Eye (Spirit Animals...

                iifreeze
                iifreeze wrote:

                OMG YES I FINALLY FOUND THE PAGE...
                Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                Our Apps and Plugins