The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 7)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.739357

Dear Reader,You have undoubtedly picked up this book by mistake, so please put it down. Nobody in their right mind would read this particular book about the lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire on purpose, because each dismal moment of their stay in the village of V.F.D. has been faithfully and dreadfully recorded in these pages.I can think of no single reason why anyone would want to open a book containing such unpleasant matters as migrating crows, an angry mob, a newspaper headline, the arrest of innocent people, the Deluxe Cell, and some very strange hats.It is my solemn and sacred occupation to research each detail of the Baudelaire children′s lives and write them all down, but you may prefer to do some other solemn and sacred thing, such as reading another book instead.With all due respect,Lemony Snicket

Ages 10+

Paperback
Published on September 3, 2012 by Egmont Books
ISBN-10: 1405266104
ISBN-13: 9781405266109
11 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • marveldudes
    marveldudesMonday, April 24, 2017 at 11:23 pm
    i'm reading this book so far it's VERY INTRIGUING so far i love it!
    • bookworm88
      bookworm88Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 10:21 pm55 starsFeatured
      Klaus, Sunny and Violet Baudelaire are orphans, their parents died in a tragic fire and left an enormous fortune behind - causing them to have too be taken care of by a family member/guardian and Mr. Poe - and banker with an annoying cough - is in charge of finding them one. This family member/guardian that Mr. Poe leaves them with is named Count Olaf, and he is not intent on taking them in to help them cope with their loss and love and care for them, he wants the fortune they're parents left behind. In this issue book #7 the children find themselves in a village - also known as the V.F.D., were the motto "It takes a village to raise a child", isn't so accurate. The Baudelaire's find themselves in A Series Of Unfortunate Events throughout the book along with mystery and comedy to keep you entertained. I highly recommend this book to those that love a good mystery and a laugh to go with it.
      • eyp
        eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:16 am44 stars
        A book with much sadness in it.
        • cuddles13
          cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 6:49 pm44 stars
          It was a cool book, with the Quagmieres hidden and all, but I absolutely hate the elders
          • dogo0656
            dogo0656Wednesday, March 18, 2015 at 7:00 am55 stars
            This book is about the Baudelaires trying to find their hidden friends Duncan, and his sister Isadora. I'd recommend this book, because the author uses a lot of elaborative detail that makes the book interesting.
            • emmabookworm5
              emmabookworm5Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 6:36 pm55 stars
              This book is awesome! I wish I had talents like Violet, Sunny, and/or Klaus. (I actually am a Klaus; I read so many books, as you can tell by my username. I'm basically a living recommendation!) Once I read these books, I got into this Violet phase where I tried to invent these awesome things. (Obviously they didn't work; otherwise I would have been emmainventor)
              • alexvel
                alexvelWednesday, May 28, 2014 at 4:00 pm55 stars
                It is good because these orphans do this crazy stuff and succeed at what they do. Do not read this if you only read about hapiness
                • kangj
                  kangjMonday, September 30, 2013 at 11:59 pmFeatured
                  This book is comparatively one of the more interesting books I've read in this series (and also one of my most recent re-reads) because of the mystery surrounding the Quagmires, the mystery surrounding the scraps of paper with couplets, and the mystery surrounding the ridiculous amount of (sometimes contradictory) V.F.D. laws. You may want to read this only after having finished the previous books.
                  • bookworm88
                    bookworm88Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 10:23 pm55 stars
                    Yes! I actually haven't read any previous ones before this, but I still was able to understand it because i've watched the movie and the recent series which I also suggest.
                  • 259191
                    259191Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at 9:54 am
                    I really liked this series :D
                    • lozzie123456789
                      lozzie123456789Friday, November 16, 2012 at 2:56 pm55 stars
                      Absolutely love it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olopolobear125

                      Despite how many pages it has De...
                      Zac Power #2: Deep Waters

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      For those who have read the enti...
                      Middle School: Escape to Australia

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      This comic book is pretty medioc...
                      5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

                      olopolobear125

                      I think shouldn't you be in sch...
                      "Shouldn't You Be in School?" (A...