The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 7)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.739357

Dear Reader,You have undoubtedly picked up this book by mistake, so please put it down. Nobody in their right mind would read this particular book about the lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire on purpose, because each dismal moment of their stay in the village of V.F.D. has been faithfully and dreadfully recorded in these pages.I can think of no single reason why anyone would want to open a book containing such unpleasant matters as migrating crows, an angry mob, a newspaper headline, the arrest of innocent people, the Deluxe Cell, and some very strange hats.It is my solemn and sacred occupation to research each detail of the Baudelaire children′s lives and write them all down, but you may prefer to do some other solemn and sacred thing, such as reading another book instead.With all due respect,Lemony Snicket

Ages 10+

Paperback
Published on September 3, 2012 by Egmont Books
ISBN-10: 1405266104
ISBN-13: 9781405266109
11 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • sparkie0209
    sparkie0209Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 10:33 pm
    Very interesting 😊I like this book because it has a great plot twist (and I was hooked on to this series of books )this is good for ages 9-13 but do not read this book if you want to read about happy endings (poor Baudelaire orphans!)thanks for reading this book review :)
    • marveldudes
      marveldudesMonday, April 24, 2017 at 11:23 pm
      i'm reading this book so far it's VERY INTRIGUING so far i love it!
      • bookworm88
        bookworm88Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 10:21 pm55 starsFeatured
        Klaus, Sunny and Violet Baudelaire are orphans, their parents died in a tragic fire and left an enormous fortune behind - causing them to have too be taken care of by a family member/guardian and Mr. Poe - and banker with an annoying cough - is in charge of finding them one. This family member/guardian that Mr. Poe leaves them with is named Count Olaf, and he is not intent on taking them in to help them cope with their loss and love and care for them, he wants the fortune they're parents left behind. In this issue book #7 the children find themselves in a village - also known as the V.F.D., were the motto "It takes a village to raise a child", isn't so accurate. The Baudelaire's find themselves in A Series Of Unfortunate Events throughout the book along with mystery and comedy to keep you entertained. I highly recommend this book to those that love a good mystery and a laugh to go with it.
        • eyp
          eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:16 am44 stars
          A book with much sadness in it.
          • cuddles13
            cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 6:49 pm44 stars
            It was a cool book, with the Quagmieres hidden and all, but I absolutely hate the elders
            • emmabookworm5
              emmabookworm5Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 6:36 pm55 stars
              This book is awesome! I wish I had talents like Violet, Sunny, and/or Klaus. (I actually am a Klaus; I read so many books, as you can tell by my username. I'm basically a living recommendation!) Once I read these books, I got into this Violet phase where I tried to invent these awesome things. (Obviously they didn't work; otherwise I would have been emmainventor)
              • alexvel
                alexvelWednesday, May 28, 2014 at 4:00 pm55 stars
                It is good because these orphans do this crazy stuff and succeed at what they do. Do not read this if you only read about hapiness
                • kangj
                  kangjMonday, September 30, 2013 at 11:59 pmFeatured
                  This book is comparatively one of the more interesting books I've read in this series (and also one of my most recent re-reads) because of the mystery surrounding the Quagmires, the mystery surrounding the scraps of paper with couplets, and the mystery surrounding the ridiculous amount of (sometimes contradictory) V.F.D. laws. You may want to read this only after having finished the previous books.
                  • bookworm88
                    bookworm88Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 10:23 pm55 stars
                    Yes! I actually haven't read any previous ones before this, but I still was able to understand it because i've watched the movie and the recent series which I also suggest.
                  • 259191
                    259191Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at 9:54 am
                    I really liked this series :D
                    • lozzie123456789
                      lozzie123456789Friday, November 16, 2012 at 2:56 pm55 stars
                      Absolutely love it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      levi0sa
                      levi0sa wrote:

                      i loved this book it is about th...
                      Smile

                      looneylovegood1

                      This book is a book about that i...
                      The Lightning Thief

                      looneylovegood1

                      Even though the chapters are sho...
                      The One and Only Ivan

                      levi0sa
                      levi0sa wrote:

                      I loved this book. I wish I kne...
                      Wonder