The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 7)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.739357

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Dear Reader,

You have undoubtedly picked up this book by mistake, so please put it down. Nobody in their right mind would read this particular book about the lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire on purpose, because each dismal moment of their stay in the village of V.F.D. has been faithfully and dreadfully recorded in these pages. I can think of no single reason why anyone would want to open a book containing such unpleasant matters as migrating crows, an angry mob, a newspaper headline, the arrest of innocent people, the Deluxe Cell, and some very strange hats. It is my solemn and sacred occupation to research each detail of the Baudelaire children's lives and write them all down, but you may prefer to do some other solemn and sacred thing, such as reading another book instead.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 24, 2001 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408655
ISBN-13: 9780064408653
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nac
    nacTuesday, July 21, 2020 at 11:02 am55 stars
    Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are once again being sent to new guardians, but this time their guardians are a whole village, based on the aphorism, "it takes a village to raise a child." But when the Baudelaires realize that their missing friends are closer than they thought, and that Count Olaf has shown up again to steal their fortune. They will have to crack the code in some couplets, reveal Count Olaf in his disguise, and plan a daring escape. Will the Baudelaire children be able to use their talents to stop Count Olaf? Or will they finally lose at the dangerous game that they are playing?
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Tuesday, June 23, 2020 at 7:34 am55 stars
      I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! SO good!! So suspenseful! Couldn't stop reading it!!
      • addyl97
        addyl97Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 3:32 pm55 stars
        The Vile Village is the seventh installment in the thirteen-part Series of Unfortunate Events, following the three Baudelaire children as they search for their missing friends in their new home, the Village of Fowl Devotees. At the opening of the novel, the three Baudelaire children, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny, sitting in their lawyer's office waiting to hear their fate. They have recently escaped the clutches of their evil uncle, Count Olaf, and are searching for a new guardian. Since there are no longer any relatives willing to take the three children in and risk Count Olaf's wrath, the children's lawyer has decided to follow the aphorism, "It takes a village to raise a child," and place the Baudelaires in the custody of an entire community. The Baudelaire children know that the V.F.D. is somehow related to the whereabouts of their missing friends, the Quagmire triplets, and do not argue when they hear they will be sent there. I give this book five stars because it is funny but also mysterious.
        • hedgeguin2
          hedgeguin2Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 starsFeatured
          This book is filled with so much suspense! You can’t stop reading it because every page has mystery and great detail! The author did a great job keeping you interested. Basically, the Baudelaire children go to the V.F.D village, but the Council of Elders are very strict and the Budelaires don’t feel welcome. Then, the Budelaires discover couplets that they know are written by Isadora Quagmire, one of their friends. This leads the Baudelaires on an exciting, but horrible adventure to seek their friends. Count Olaf, who found them once again, escapes, but the Quagmires are safe, and the Baudelaires are ready for anything!
          • EmmaThursday, April 18, 2019 at 6:18 am
            This series was my most favorite. To know how amazing the story is you have to read it from the first book.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
              This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
              • 23unicorncat
                23unicorncatTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:31 am55 stars
                I JUST STARTED
                • dj huskyTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:56 am
                  I'm about to start reading this once I finish reading the twisted ones (https://www.dogobooks.com/five-nights-at-freddys-the-twisted-ones/book-review/1338139304)
                  • kitty_423
                    kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:55 pm44 stars
                    love it
                    • kitty_423
                      kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
                      this book is really good. if you want to read it you have to read the other ones first. it gets you sitting at the edge of the seat. i love lemony snicket's books