The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 7)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.739357

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Dear Reader,

You have undoubtedly picked up this book by mistake, so please put it down. Nobody in their right mind would read this particular book about the lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire on purpose, because each dismal moment of their stay in the village of V.F.D. has been faithfully and dreadfully recorded in these pages. I can think of no single reason why anyone would want to open a book containing such unpleasant matters as migrating crows, an angry mob, a newspaper headline, the arrest of innocent people, the Deluxe Cell, and some very strange hats. It is my solemn and sacred occupation to research each detail of the Baudelaire children's lives and write them all down, but you may prefer to do some other solemn and sacred thing, such as reading another book instead.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 24, 2001 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408655
ISBN-13: 9780064408653
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • addyl97
    addyl97Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 3:32 pm55 stars
    The Vile Village is the seventh installment in the thirteen-part Series of Unfortunate Events, following the three Baudelaire children as they search for their missing friends in their new home, the Village of Fowl Devotees. At the opening of the novel, the three Baudelaire children, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny, sitting in their lawyer's office waiting to hear their fate. They have recently escaped the clutches of their evil uncle, Count Olaf, and are searching for a new guardian. Since there are no longer any relatives willing to take the three children in and risk Count Olaf's wrath, the children's lawyer has decided to follow the aphorism, "It takes a village to raise a child," and place the Baudelaires in the custody of an entire community. The Baudelaire children know that the V.F.D. is somehow related to the whereabouts of their missing friends, the Quagmire triplets, and do not argue when they hear they will be sent there. I give this book five stars because it is funny but also mysterious.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is filled with so much suspense! You can’t stop reading it because every page has mystery and great detail! The author did a great job keeping you interested. Basically, the Baudelaire children go to the V.F.D village, but the Council of Elders are very strict and the Budelaires don’t feel welcome. Then, the Budelaires discover couplets that they know are written by Isadora Quagmire, one of their friends. This leads the Baudelaires on an exciting, but horrible adventure to seek their friends. Count Olaf, who found them once again, escapes, but the Quagmires are safe, and the Baudelaires are ready for anything!
      • EmmaThursday, April 18, 2019 at 6:18 am
        This series was my most favorite. To know how amazing the story is you have to read it from the first book.
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
          This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
          • 23unicorncat
            23unicorncatTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:31 am55 stars
            I JUST STARTED
            • dj huskyTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:56 am
              I'm about to start reading this once I finish reading the twisted ones (https://www.dogobooks.com/five-nights-at-freddys-the-twisted-ones/book-review/1338139304)
              • kitty_423
                kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:55 pm44 stars
                love it
                • kitty_423
                  kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
                  this book is really good. if you want to read it you have to read the other ones first. it gets you sitting at the edge of the seat. i love lemony snicket's books
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesSunday, August 13, 2017 at 3:25 pm
                    I just finished re-reading this book and i remembered why i love Lemony Snicket's work. In this vile novel, the Baudelaire's continue their search for their friends, the Quagmire triplets. In the previous book, The Ersatz Elevator, Violet Klaus and Sunny here about a town called V.F.D. Remembering that V.F.D. was a clue that Duncan Quagmire had given the Baudelaires, they head to that town for more clues-and guardianship. This whole town of V.F.D. becomes the orphans guardians and boss the children around giving them all sorts of chores to fill up their time with. Along with these chores, the awful Council of Elders, a horrid list of dramatic rules to follow, and living with a town full of crows, the children begin receiving notes from Isadora Quagmire about where they are hidden. Then, of course, Count Olaf enters the story creating even more of a mess for the children. . .if you are to read this story, read it with caution. . .
                    • sparkie0209
                      sparkie0209Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 10:33 pm
                      Very interesting 😊I like this book because it has a great plot twist (and I was hooked on to this series of books )this is good for ages 9-13 but do not read this book if you want to read about happy endings (poor Baudelaire orphans!)thanks for reading this book review :)