Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordan Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.

The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in the class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.

Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea—and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.

The Unteachables never thought they’d find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction—and maybe even a shot at redemption.

Kindle Edition, 288 pages
Published on January 8, 2019 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062563912
ISBN-13: 9780062563910
27 Book Reviews
  • mattythecatty
    mattythecatty8 months55 stars
    This book is great, it embraces differences and encourages others to be different and make new friends. - Matty The Catty
    • nzsgocubs
      nzsgocubsabout 1 year55 stars
      We recommend this book because it is a great book with lots of perspectives. You will really enjoy this book if you enjoyed the Mr. Terupt series.
      • cookiedough_24
        cookiedough_24over 1 year44 starsFeatured
        Another amazing book by Gordan Korman! The Unteachables is an amazing book about Mr. Kermit. He is counting down the days until early retirement, eager to get away from teaching. But the class he gets put in for his last year changes EVERYTHING. Mr. Kermit learns that his class is different from all the other classes. They're the Unteachables. Mr. Kermit finds that his class actually CARES about him. What will Mr. Kermit do about early retirement? Amazing! I LOVE it. The only reason I'm putting 4 stars is because there should be at least ONE other good kid in the class. Nothing personal Mr. Korman. I would recommend this book to kids ages 9+. Please read this book!
        • belle252
          belle252over 1 year55 stars
          This is an amazing book that describes the life of Mr. Kermit, and their students, "The Unteachables". Though the Unteachables only come to a separate class because of some of their problems, they never thought they would find a teacher with worse attitude than them. But as the school year goes on, they start to bond better. Kormon could have ended the book there, but Mr. Thaddeus kicked in, with his goal to fire Mr. Kermit. A crazy story with the class, Emma, and Mr. Terronova polishes this book and creates a remarkable story.
          • hedgeguin2
            hedgeguin2over 2 years
            Great book so far. I read the preview of it in Shelf Stuff, and now this book is on my “to read” list! The author does a really good job in keeping you interested and the book has lots of detail!
            • auntieb
              auntiebover 2 years55 stars
              Mr. Kermit is counting down the days till his retirement from Greenwich Middle School, where he has worked for over 27 years and after this semester will qualify for early retirement - something the Superintendent is dead set against giving him, so he puts him in class SCS-8 - otherwise known as the unteachables, the kid's who have problems and issues. Well, all but one, Kiana, she isn't even enrolled at Greenwich but she's a short-timer so she doesn't care. But then things start getting weird........the teacher (Mr. Kermit) doesn't teach, the classroom next to them is taught by Mr. Kermit's old Fiancee's daughter, who was a Kindergarten teacher last year and is trying to use the same teaching methods on 7th graders!! But her methods are.........working? Join this UNBELIEVABLE book about a teacher who doesn't teach was involved in a cheating scandal, has the same name as a muppet, and is just waiting to retire - at least that's what he thinks, after all these are the UNTEACHABLES. (I loved this book! Thanks to DOGO for choosing me to win it) :D
              • kruzingwithk9s
                kruzingwithk9sover 2 years55 stars
                (WARNING, POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD) Mr. Ribbit- er Kermit, was a teacher that was always happy to teach, he wanted to shape young minds and make them successful. However, now the only thing he thinks about is his retirement in June. The principal, who is out to get Kermit, puts him in room SCS-8. The unteachable's. At first, he doesn't even notice when his students come in ribbit-ing. But he helps them, though it never looked like he cared about what was on their worksheets. When the principal is about to fire Mr. Kermit, the students come in and save the day! I'm sorry if there was too many spoilers, but this is a great book!
                • 1234567over 2 years
                  i love this book it is great!
                  • luvmylipgloss
                    luvmylipglossalmost 3 years55 stars
                    Looks good
                    • theboss2134456
                      theboss2134456almost 3 years55 stars
                      it is so good