An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozenโ€™s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year. But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor . . . until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden.

There, they find a world in turmoil. The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other, the beloved unicorns have disappeared, and terrible wraiths roam freely. Scared, the girls return home. But when Sophie vanishes in the night, it will take all of Claire's courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns' greatest secret.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681192454
ISBN-13: 9781681192451
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalWednesday, August 5, 2020 at 4:40 pm55 stars
    I love this book so much that it always interest me every time I flip the pages! I was a bit confused because I didn't know who was the real princess. In the book, it says that their dad is Prince Martin but they are supposed to be both princesses, but Sophia isn't a Gemmer and Claire is a Gemmer so I really don't know who is the real princess. Anyway, people should read these books because they are interesting and fun to read! Everybody should read these!
    • toodorky
      toodorkyThursday, June 4, 2020 at 4:02 pm55 stars
      It's Claire's turn to be brave when her braveer sister, Sophie, goes missing. Sophie was always the more adventurous and talented, even in the hospital when she was sick. One day the sister's go up a mysterious ladder to a who;e new world called Arden, and that's when danger strikes. To find and bring Sophie back home, Claire must learn the secrets of the unicorn and who she really is. She may just have magic that can help. She may be related to the great prince himself. Or maybe she wasn't supposed to be in Arden at all. Claire must hurry, or she might be too late to save her sister. Can she do it??
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
        I loved this book! I can't wait to read the next one! Sophie has always been brave. She was brave when she had an unusual illness. She was brave around her parents. She was so brave that she led her sister up the fireplace and into a whole new world. But now she's missing, and it's up to Claire to find her.She has to discover the secret of the unicorns to save her sister. How will she find that out? I think you should read this book! It will blow your mind!
        • reader_red
          reader_redMonday, July 15, 2019 at 12:42 pm55 stars
          Sophie is Claire's older sister who suffered an illness, but now things are back to normal. One day, however, the girls climb up a ladder in a fireplace at Windmere Manor. The ladder takes them to an enchanted World full of magic. Sophie disappears up the ladder one day and Claire has to hurry to try and find her.
          • ajg16
            ajg16Friday, November 30, 2018 at 12:39 pm33 stars
            The unicorn quest - 3 Stars - Claire & Sophie are two sisters and when there great-aunt Diana dies there parents decide they are all going to stay at there Great-Aunt Diana's mansion for the summer to clean up and go through all the stuff she had collected. When Sophie & Claire discover a ladder in the chimney they decide to explore but when they discover a strange world things change. But is it for the better or was it a bad idea to explore more? This book is filled with Magic, Unicorns, Monsters, And a daring quest with a surprise twist at the end. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Monday, August 27, 2018 at 3:57 pm33 stars
              The unicorn quest////// so I recommend this book to 4,th to 6th graders and I rate it 3 stars it wasn't bad but kinda dull spots but action idk I just didn't really enjoyed it if ya know what I mean anyways thank you so so so much for reading!๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’™ :-) ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ’› -pizzagirl7๐Ÿ˜‹
              • ajg16
                ajg16Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:18 pm33 stars
                Claire & Sophie are two sisters and when there great-aunt Diana dies there parents decide they are all going to stay at there aunts mansion (that she left to them) and clean up and through all the stuff she collected. When Sophie & Claire discover a ladder in the chimney they decide to explore but when they discover a strange world things change. But is it a better or was is a bad idea to explore more? This book is filled with Magic, unicorns, monsters, and a daring quest with a surprise twist at the end. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
                • lumos
                  lumosFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:37 am
                  4 guilds of Magic. ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ 3 mysterious Secrets. ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก 2 sisters. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ 1 great book.โค๏ธ When Claire and Sophie discover a secret ladder to a magical place named Arden, they see things they wish not to see - unicorns in turbulent conditions, magic against magic. They return to the modern, right world, scared. One day, Sophie disappears. Completely. It is up to Claire to set things right, climb the secret ladder once more, be brave - and find her sister.
                  • readwriter
                    readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:21 pm55 stars
                    This book was adorable! My sister and I really enjoyed reading it together! It was funny, sad, and heartwarming all wrapped up into one book!
                    • jwarne
                      jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:02 am55 stars
                      The love between two sisters is so powerful. I love how close they are, and how she will stop at nothing to get her sister. Even meeting all kinds of crazy creatures!