An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozenโ€™s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year. But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor . . . until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden.

There, they find a world in turmoil. The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other, the beloved unicorns have disappeared, and terrible wraiths roam freely. Scared, the girls return home. But when Sophie vanishes in the night, it will take all of Claire's courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns' greatest secret.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681192454
ISBN-13: 9781681192451
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Monday, August 27, 2018 at 3:57 pm33 stars
    The unicorn quest////// so I recommend this book to 4,th to 6th graders and I rate it 3 stars it wasn't bad but kinda dull spots but action idk I just didn't really enjoyed it if ya know what I mean anyways thank you so so so much for reading!๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’™ :-) ๐Ÿ’ฉ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ’› -pizzagirl7๐Ÿ˜‹
    • ajg15
      ajg15Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:18 pm33 stars
      Claire & Sophie are two sisters and when there great-aunt Diana dies there parents decide they are all going to stay at there aunts mansion (that she left to them) and clean up and through all the stuff she collected. When Sophie & Claire discover a ladder in the chimney they decide to explore but when they discover a strange world things change. But is it a better or was is a bad idea to explore more? This book is filled with Magic, unicorns, monsters, and a daring quest with a surprise twist at the end. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • happy_cat
        happy_catFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:37 am
        4 guilds of Magic. ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ 3 mysterious Secrets. ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก 2 sisters. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ 1 great book.โค๏ธ When Claire and Sophie discover a secret ladder to a magical place named Arden, they see things they wish not to see - unicorns in turbulent conditions, magic against magic. They return to the modern, right world, scared. One day, Sophie disappears. Completely. It is up to Claire to set things right, climb the secret ladder once more, be brave - and find her sister.
        • readwriter
          readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:21 pm55 stars
          This book was adorable! My sister and I really enjoyed reading it together! It was funny, sad, and heartwarming all wrapped up into one book!
          • jwarne
            jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:02 am55 stars
            The love between two sisters is so powerful. I love how close they are, and how she will stop at nothing to get her sister. Even meeting all kinds of crazy creatures!
            • jso6
              jso6Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:15 pm22 stars
              This book is about two sisters named Sophie and Claire. They are going into a different world, and there they find fighting. I wouldn't recommend this, because it wasn't that interesting.
              • flyingpineapple
                flyingpineappleMonday, July 2, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                I really enjoyed this book because it is about unicorns and is around my reading level, so I was allowed to read it in school. I usually can't find any unicorn books at my reading level, so I think this book was fun to read and unique at the same time.
                • spykitten
                  spykittenThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:50 pm33 stars
                  This was a good book but it is not meant for little kids. There are monsters in the book and they talk about them being all scary. It is about sisters Sophie and Clare going to a different world. I wouldn't recommend this book.
                  • bunny_ball
                    bunny_ballThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:47 pm
                    I liked the idea of this book but when we read it, it was scary. I was excited to read about unicorns but there are also monsters in the book. I recommend this book for older kids. I will try it again when I am older.
                    • eybook2018
                      eybook2018Monday, June 18, 2018 at 11:58 am
                      The Unicorn Quest is a good boo that I read. And the thing is that I really like the beginning because i like the way it starts with a poem and a great start to the story.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      prestyu
                      prestyu wrote:

                      This is the first Geronimo Stilt...
                      Singing Sensation (Geronimo Stil...

                      hellgirl10981

                      this seems pretty cool? jk, i L...
                      Dark Lord: The Early Years

                      hellgirl10981

                      ummmm, who were the invaders aga...
                      Boxers (Boxers & Saints)

                      pdawg272
                      pdawg272 wrote:

                      this book looks alright i like it.
                      The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues, B...

                      Our Apps and Plugins