An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozenโ€™s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year. But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor . . . until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden.

There, they find a world in turmoil. The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other, the beloved unicorns have disappeared, and terrible wraiths roam freely. Scared, the girls return home. But when Sophie vanishes in the night, it will take all of Claire's courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns' greatest secret.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681192454
ISBN-13: 9781681192451
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • happy_cat
    happy_catFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:37 am
    4 guilds of Magic. ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ 3 mysterious Secrets. ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก 2 sisters. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ 1 great book.โค๏ธ When Claire and Sophie discover a secret ladder to a magical place named Arden, they see things they wish not to see - unicorns in turbulent conditions, magic against magic. They return to the modern, right world, scared. One day, Sophie disappears. Completely. It is up to Claire to set things right, climb the secret ladder once more, be brave - and find her sister.
    • readwriter
      readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:21 pm55 stars
      This book was adorable! My sister and I really enjoyed reading it together! It was funny, sad, and heartwarming all wrapped up into one book!
      • jwarne
        jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:02 am55 stars
        The love between two sisters is so powerful. I love how close they are, and how she will stop at nothing to get her sister. Even meeting all kinds of crazy creatures!
        • jso6
          jso6Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:15 pm22 stars
          This book is about two sisters named Sophie and Claire. They are going into a different world, and there they find fighting. I wouldn't recommend this, because it wasn't that interesting.
          • flyingpineapple
            flyingpineappleMonday, July 2, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
            I really enjoyed this book because it is about unicorns and is around my reading level, so I was allowed to read it in school. I usually can't find any unicorn books at my reading level, so I think this book was fun to read and unique at the same time.
            • spykitten
              spykittenThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:50 pm33 stars
              This was a good book but it is not meant for little kids. There are monsters in the book and they talk about them being all scary. It is about sisters Sophie and Clare going to a different world. I wouldn't recommend this book.
              • bunny_ball
                bunny_ballThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:47 pm
                I liked the idea of this book but when we read it, it was scary. I was excited to read about unicorns but there are also monsters in the book. I recommend this book for older kids. I will try it again when I am older.
                • eybook2018
                  eybook2018Monday, June 18, 2018 at 11:58 am
                  The Unicorn Quest is a good boo that I read. And the thing is that I really like the beginning because i like the way it starts with a poem and a great start to the story.
                  • reader_red
                    reader_redSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                    This book is now probably one of my favorite books. It was full of surprises! I got a little mad in some parts, but that's to be expected. I think it is awesome! I would really recommend this for fantasy readers.
                    • misslily777
                      misslily777Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:13 am55 stars
                      Claire Martinson has always wanted to stay inside the lines, while her sister, Sophie, has been the adventurous one. But when they find a ladder in the fireplace of their great-aunt's mansion and Sophie leaves for the world they find inside it, Claire has to risk everything to save her sister - and the magical world of Arden. I LOVED this book. From the storyline to the characters to the magic, it is a five star book on every page. I would recommend it to girls ages 7-15 who like magic and fantasy.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dolphin8
                      dolphin8 wrote:

                      yeah this book is very good it i...
                      You Go First

                      toriburn
                      toriburn wrote:

                      looks good love fairy tale twists
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      Our Apps and Plugins