Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.855665
This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny -- and find his father -- in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor's arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland's uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it -- until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 10, 2015 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545514894
ISBN-13: 9780545514897
68 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • alan dolahzuxgySaturday, February 15, 2020 at 11:34 pm
    this book is not that good
    • celia_berry
      celia_berryFriday, January 24, 2020 at 2:25 pm55 stars
      Gregor the Overlander is an exciting novel about Gregor and his little sister Boots. One day when they are in the laundry room, they fall through a vent and find themselves is the wondrous Underland. There, they have to overcome challenges in hopes of finding his long lost father. I'd rate this book 5/5 stars because it has deep characters and it's very exciting! I would suggest this to 5th grade and up due to violence. I suggest you read this book!
      • Yeet_YeetFriday, July 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm
        The rating for this means it's meant for children but there are many scenes where you really question that. In the last book, there's a war, and it describes the body and how he's feeling. Literally one of the scenes has a sentence saying "They were fighting on a carpet of corpses" If that counts as children's books then I don't know what to tell you. Very good book series.
        • reader_red
          reader_redFriday, July 19, 2019 at 8:51 am44 stars
          After Gregor accidently falls through a grate in his laundry room, he reluctantly goes on a quest to find his father. All the while he must protect his baby sisters from the many dangers in this strange Underland.
          • alSunday, June 9, 2019 at 11:43 am
            exiting
            • MasonTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:47 am
              Amazing action packed story
              • boiWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 10:53 am
                I liked this book because it had action, but it was missing that real feeling to it.
                • vincentThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:02 am
                  The OverLander is about a kid named Gregor. Gregor lives with his mom and sister named Boots. Gregor has been wondering for awhile where his dad went. His dad went in the laundry room and then never came back. His mom and other parts of the family thinks he’s dead. Gregor thinks that his dad is still alive somewhere. One day Gregor had to go and get laundry from the laundry room. Gregor took Boots with him and they started going to the laundry room. When Gregor stepped foot in the room he started getting a weird feeling. Then suddenly everything started to shake and Gregor fated. Gregor woke up and Boots was just running around. Then Gregor realized he was in another world. Gregor started to panic. He found people, but they looked different and called themselves OverLanders. They said he was part of a legend and needed to help them. What will Gregor do and what do The Overlanders want from him? I really like this book because it teaches you to always be brave. The reading level for this book is 6-7 grade. People who would enjoy this book would be people who like adventure and mythical animals. The author is Suzanne Collins and the book was published on September 1 2003. The grade level is 4
                  • Kennedy08Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:51 pm
                    I haven’t read this book yet but it sounds like a great one. And falling is keep nd of Viollent. I don’t care if I spelled viollent wrong can someone tell me how to spell it
                    • 05cjackson
                      05cjacksonWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:38 pm
                      I read this book in book club at school and I have to say, this was a pretty good book. It was almost "scary" in some parts but over all, I really liked this book, and I agree with lollypopies, that was my favorite part too!!!