Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.551896

A kingdom beset by monsters . . .
A disease that weakens and destroys . . .
An epic poem and a hero of long ago . . .
A story of danger and desperation.

The two princesses of Bamarre couldn't be more different. Princess Addie is fearful and shy. Her deepest wish is for safety. Princess Meryl is bold and brave. Her deepest wish is to save the kingdom of Bamarre. They are sisters, and they mean the world to each other.

Then disaster strikes, and Addie—terrified and unprepared—sets out on a perilous quest. In her path are monsters of Bamarre: ogres, specters, gryphons, and dragons. Addie must battle them, but time is running out, and the sisters' lives—and Barmarre's fate—hang in the balance.

Gail Carson Levine left her mark on fantasy with her well-loved 1998 Newbery Honor Book Ella Enchanted. Now she has created another shimmering and tapestried landscape of fantasy and fairies. Bamarre and the journeys of its two princesses will burn themselves into the minds of readers, and all will relish this moving saga about two sisters groping their way toward heroism.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 006440966X
ISBN-13: 9780064409667
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 1:57 pm55 stars
    The two princesses of Bamarre. One is strong, determined and full of courage to face anything. And the other is shy, scared and hiding in the shadow of her sister. But they love each other like best friends and promise they will always look out for each other no matter what. But when Meryl falls ill with the dreaded gray death and is in dire need of the cure, unsure Addie doesn't know if she is up for the challlenge of facing her fears and braving the the wild to save her sister. Will she? Can she manage to find courage deep inside? I would totally reccommend this book! It is one of my all time favorites!
    • reader_red
      reader_redFriday, July 12, 2019 at 12:29 pm44 stars
      Addie has always been the fearful on out of the two Bamarre Princesses. Meryl has always been brave. Meryl would always say that if Addie got the mysterious illness Addie is forced to go on an adventure to find the cure.
      • reader_red
        reader_redFriday, May 25, 2018 at 3:56 pm44 stars
        The plot line was awesome! I LOVE Gail Carson Levine's books! This one seemed really cool because the princess was NOT prepared to be the hero. At the end I cried SO hard. I won't spoil it but it was pretty sad. I highly recommend this for all ages.
        • Smithers2000Friday, August 26, 2016 at 1:06 pmFeatured
          This is one of my favorite books ever. It is a wonderful story about sisterly love, facing your fears, and never giving up. Addie was always the shy one. Scared of spiders and strangers, griffins and ghosts. But it turns out that she is braver then she thinks. Meryl however, is daring and bold, funny and outgoing. She wants to go out into the world on adventures. But when Meryl becomes deathly ill with the 'grey death', Addie will do anything to save her. Gail Carson Levine's outstanding tale will captivate readers young and old.
          • liza123456789
            liza123456789Friday, November 7, 2014 at 3:55 pm
            When you read this your always on the edge of your seat
            • chibears14
              chibears14Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 9:36 am
              The end is such a shock, but amazing! Gail Carson Levine is my favorite author of all time!
              • rozeb
                rozebMonday, November 25, 2013 at 3:26 pm55 stars
                This was a great book! I loved it! My favorite part was when the timid girl, Addie, went to save her sister.
                • horsey
                  horseySaturday, February 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm
                  Very good book!
                  • charm
                    charmTuesday, October 9, 2012 at 8:24 am55 stars
                    This is one of THE BEST books i have EVER read. Anybody will love it!!!!!
                    • DIVA12Monday, July 30, 2012 at 5:12 pm
                      A fantastic, heartwarming tale about the bond between two sisters. When one, who always dreams of adventure and glory in battle, falls ill, the other, a timid girl who doesn't enjoy fighting at all, must brave dragons, ogres, and many other challanges to save her sister, and in the process, both sister's dreams come true.