Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grade 5n/a4.48265
Roald Dahl’s thrillingly grotesque book for young readers is now available in a gorgeous new gift edition, featuring the deliciously wicked artwork of Quentin Blake.
Mr. and Mrs. Twit are the smelliest, nastiest, ugliest people in the world. They hate everything–except playing mean jokes on each other, catching unsuspecting birds to put in their bird pies, and making their caged monkeys, the Muggle-Wumps, stand on their heads all day. But the Muggle-Wumps have had enough. With the help of Roly-Poly Bird, they set out to get some well-deserved revenge.
Paperback, 76 pages
Published on January 1, 1980 by Scholastic Inc
ISBN-10: 0590136011
ISBN-13: 9780590136013
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blazeThursday, May 2, 2019 at 9:37 pm
    in in grade seven and I enjoyed reading this book but if it realy easy to read it is not an amazing book but if you are looking for a fun book and that is your skill level it is a great book.
    • tristanw2026
      tristanw2026Friday, February 9, 2018 at 5:54 am55 stars
      The twits by road dhal the twits are two old ugly mean disgusting weirdos who live on a hill in the country side in a house with no windows. The twits genre is fantasy because there is talking animals and they are monkey trainers. my favorite part of the book is when the monkeys and the birds turn the twits living room upside down. I recommend this too people who like funny books and talking animals an people who like too pull pranks on each other this book would be great for kids who are in grades 1 through 4.
      • avaw2026
        avaw2026Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 10:27 am33 stars
        In the beginning of the book, they introduce the main characters Mr. and Mrs.Twit. the Twits are mean, gross, old, and ugly. The main part of the story is all the horrible tricks they play on each other. My favorite part is when Mr. Twit plays the walking stick trick on Mrs. Twit. I liked that part because Mrs. Twit had no idea she was being tricked. Overall I would recommend this book for kids in first grade through third grade.
        • sophief2026
          sophief2026Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 10:23 am33 stars
          In this book Mr. and Mrs. Twit are ugly "because they thought ugly thoughts". the Twits love to play mean nasty tricks on each other and mr. twit has a disgusting beard that he never washes. The twits make bird pie and make their monkeys stand on their heads. I recommend this book to first-third grade.
          • willb2026
            willb2026Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 10:17 am44 stars
            In this book, the twits, the twits are nasty old people who live in a house with no windows, a dead tree in there front yard, and a garden with spikey thorn bushes, in this book the twits play nasty pranks on each other, end up buying guns, treat monkeys horribly, and even go upside down.
            • riri06
              riri06Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at 3:05 pm55 stars
              I LOVE ROALD DAHL! So far, from the books I've read they're about magical adventures! I definitely recommend this book because they take you into another world where you're in the book! Hope you enjoy or watch the movie!
              • ninacreekside
                ninacreeksideFriday, July 25, 2014 at 10:04 am
                The Twits will make you laugh out loud! The tricks they play on each other are jut horrific!
                • turtlenicole
                  turtlenicoleMonday, June 16, 2014 at 6:53 pm
                  In the book the Twits two wicked people always play tricks on each other. They only cooperate on one thing, they love bird pie. So they catch some birds, puts them into pie and eats them. The upside down monkeys help the birds avoid the evil pair and get some revenge on them!
                  • 20jrast
                    20jrastMonday, September 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm
                    This is probably roald dahls' funniest book! The twits tie their married one to balloons, put a frog in their bed and much more nonsence:)
                    • karim45
                      karim45Sunday, June 2, 2013 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                      i so agree