The Truth about Forever (Teen's Top 10 (Awards))

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 8Y5.2105957
A New York Times bestseller

Expect the unexpected.

Macy’s got her whole summer carefully planned.

But her plans didn’t include a job at Wish Catering. And they certainly didn’t include Wes.

But Macy soon discovers that the things you expect least are sometimes the things you need most.

“Dessen gracefully balances comedy with tragedy and introduces a complex heroine worth getting to know.” —Publishers Weekly

Also by Sarah Dessen:
Along for the Ride
Dreamland
Just Listen
Keeping the Moon
Lock and Key
The Moon and More
Someone Like You
That Summer
This Lullaby
What Happened to Goodbye
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0141322926
ISBN-13: 9780141322926
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dogolove123
    dogolove123Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:24 pm
    the romance is so amazing in this book. dessen has created yet another touching novel.5 stars. tots awesome. i love dis book!!
    • abi_marauders
      abi_maraudersThursday, July 28, 2016 at 3:40 pm
      I love Sarah Dessens Books!
      • ivy_h
        ivy_hThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:41 pm55 starsFeatured
        The Truth About Forever is a very touching story, like many of Sarah Dessen’s other book. The main character Macy Queen had lost her father, and she still can’t get over her grief. The story really touched my heart. The story was very beautiful and I felt the urge to cry at many points of the story, the strong emotions in the story had really touched my heart. I like how the different characters in the story had handle their loss of other people differently. Everyone had a different story. The book was just really heart-touching and made me understand that you can’t grief about something or someone forever, you have to learn to walk out of the grief and have a new beginning but still have a place for that person or thing in your heart.
        • britneyl20
          britneyl20Sunday, December 6, 2015 at 5:55 am55 stars
          OMG I love this book so much. The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen is talking about the romance life while problems with family. I originally chose this book because the character lost her dad. I recently lost my uncle too, so I wanted to try out this book. Every part in the book is somehow connected at the end. I love the romance going on. Main character Macy was originally "perfect" just as her mother wanted her to be, but since she took a break with her smart boyfriend Jason, she started to see changes in herself. She had never felt so happy being with someone, and that guy was Wes. He doesn't judge, being with him is not pressure. I love how Wes is willing to wait for her to realize the truth about forever... :)
          • laurak
            laurakSunday, November 29, 2015 at 12:55 am44 stars
            I read this book while we're doing a hero book project, which is finding a book that has an everyday hero in ti. In this book, there are different heroes if you stand in different character's perspectives. From Macy's perspective, the friends she met during her caterer job were her heroes, because they helped her to get rid of that perfect but boring life. From Macy's mother's perspective, her daughters and crews are her heroes, because they helped her get over the grieve of husband's death. I really like this book because the words are very vernacular, but can be able to convey author's thoughts. Also, it contains a lot of humour in it which I love it, talked about high school life that I admire. It also described how a girl can overcome the pressure of her boyfriend, SAT scores, strict mom, which I might face in the future.
            • brynnicul
              brynniculWednesday, December 4, 2013 at 1:37 pm
              One of my top twenty best defenitely. Its about a girl who falls in love like most her books but usually theres an exception and boy is there one in this book read and find out what im talking about then comment on my page.
              • edmodo-wzjpfyq5dn
                edmodo-wzjpfyq5dnWednesday, September 18, 2013 at 7:03 pm55 stars
                Sarah Dessen is one of those authors who actually can write teen fiction books with an accurate perspective. This is one of those books which she hits every spot right concerning teen situations.
                • edmodo-sdrxch65az
                  edmodo-sdrxch65azWednesday, September 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm44 stars
                  This book was so much fun to read! Macy was ready for a nice, carefully planned summer. Instead, she gets a chaotic, love filled summer. She meets a bunch of awesome friends at Wish Catering. She never thought that she would meet Wes. Wes is the complete opposite of Macy but opposites attract. A must read!

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  grapefruit
                  grapefruit wrote:

                  Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                  If I Stay

                  missknowitall

                  All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                  Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                  missknowitall

                  All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                  Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                  missknowitall

                  All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                  Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...