Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.942203

Notable Children's Books of 1970 (ALA)
"Best of the Best" Children's Books 1966–1978 (SLJ)
Outstanding Children's Books of 1970 (NYT)
Children's Books of 1970 (Library of Congress)
1973 William Allen White Children's Book Award
1973 Sequoyah Children's Book Award (Oklahoma)

 
Hardcover, 210 pages
Published on June 17, 1970 by Harper & Row
ISBN-10: 0060263970
ISBN-13: 9780060263973
29 Book Reviews
  • hermionereader
    hermionereaderSaturday, April 10, 2021 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    I loved this book. It sounds weird, but at least in my copy, the font is really fun and unique, and there are lots of lovely illustrations throughout. Just including this because those things always make books a lot more fun to read for me! Anyway, this was a really great story of unexpected friendship and the places it'll take you. It was unique and so, so cute!!
    • gold3nglare
      gold3nglareThursday, January 14, 2021 at 6:34 am33 stars
      I like it so far, but not love it. I need to continue reading it.
      • lions579
        lions579Monday, July 13, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
        This book starts out with a young boy called sam, out in the Canadian wilderness. One day Sam experiences something extrodanary, trumpeter swans! About 35 days later he comes back to the swans and witnesses another unforgettable experience, 5 new trumpeter swans are born. They are proudly presented to Sam by their father, also know as a cob, and they all say peep. But not the last one, he can not make a sound! He is named Louis, and his father steals a trumpet so he can say ko-ho like the other swans. Upon finding out the trumpet was not payed for, Louis goes to earn money to pay for his trumpet. There is no telling where Louis’s travels are leading.
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 4:06 pm55 stars
          I loved this book and thought that it was sad and sweet! Louis, the main character, is a swan who can't talk, unlike his sibling swans. He doesn't like to be different. Luckily, Sam Beaver, a boy with wild talent, wants to help the swan. Louis gets his own trumpet that he uses to communicate, and it's helpful, except for the fact that he might be used! How? Well, you gotta read this book to find out!
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:03 pm55 stars
            The adventure all starts out with a boy name Sam in the wild of Canada exploring the nature and crossing the swamps. One day he discovers two swans, a cob who likes to speak in poetry one of his phrases he says repeatedly is “I glide, swanlike”, there also is a female who puts much effort into finding a place for her young. Then comes Louis, a cygnet that cannot say “Ko-hoh” or make a sound. Louis’s father, the cob, steals a trumpet from the shop causing much commotion. Now, Louis has to pay a debt so he goes to school to learn how to write and he learns to play the trumpet. Many adventures cause Louis to stay a night at the Ritz Carlton, meet Selena, Louis’s new “love”, and meet the “head man”. In the end, everything gets resolved and Louis and Selena live happily flying and, of course, gliding on the water.
            • mistymom
              mistymomFriday, September 13, 2019 at 1:08 pm44 stars
              I really liked this book. I recommend it for kids in fifth grade and up, this is because there are some harder words in the book. But other than that is definitely a really god book. If you like animals or birds than this book is for you. It is funny, romantic, and just a good book.
              • lime_skater0707
                lime_skater0707Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm44 stars
                My sister recommended this book to me. If you are 4th and up, this book might be easy for you. However, if you are curious like the Curious George (the monkey), you can read the book. It is about a swan that isn't ordianary and tries to earn the money and give it back to the person who sells instrument. (The trumpet is stoled by the main character's dad.) Check this book out!
                • morahjanice
                  Janice LiebermanFriday, June 8, 2018 at 12:36 pm55 stars
                  My students and I loved this book!
                  • SanyaWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 7:09 am
                    I love this book I was reading this in school and it is so interesting! It is about a swan he was unable to say kahoo-kahoo like all the other trumpeter swans, he swims in the pond silently, lonely and sad. When he meets Sam Beaver, an animal lover with a way to help, Louie becomes more hopeful than ever before. At last, Louie can share his sweet, special sound, showing the others that the voice within his heart has been loud and clear all along.
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 6:30 am55 stars
                      This is my favorite book by E.B. White. I like how she makes the life of a swan more like our lives by making it more realistic. It changes reader's emotions easily about swans because the protagonist, Louie, always feels different and ignored because he's different from normal swans. Readers will be able to relate to his feelings of feeling invisible and will learn how to have empathy.