Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.942203

Notable Children's Books of 1970 (ALA)
"Best of the Best" Children's Books 1966–1978 (SLJ)
Outstanding Children's Books of 1970 (NYT)
Children's Books of 1970 (Library of Congress)
1973 William Allen White Children's Book Award
1973 Sequoyah Children's Book Award (Oklahoma)

 
Hardcover, 210 pages
Published on June 17, 1970 by Harper & Row
ISBN-10: 0060263970
ISBN-13: 9780060263973
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lions579
    lions579Monday, July 13, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
    This book starts out with a young boy called sam, out in the Canadian wilderness. One day Sam experiences something extrodanary, trumpeter swans! About 35 days later he comes back to the swans and witnesses another unforgettable experience, 5 new trumpeter swans are born. They are proudly presented to Sam by their father, also know as a cob, and they all say peep. But not the last one, he can not make a sound! He is named Louis, and his father steals a trumpet so he can say ko-ho like the other swans. Upon finding out the trumpet was not payed for, Louis goes to earn money to pay for his trumpet. There is no telling where Louis’s travels are leading.
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 4:06 pm55 stars
      I loved this book and thought that it was sad and sweet! Louis, the main character, is a swan who can't talk, unlike his sibling swans. He doesn't like to be different. Luckily, Sam Beaver, a boy with wild talent, wants to help the swan. Louis gets his own trumpet that he uses to communicate, and it's helpful, except for the fact that he might be used! How? Well, you gotta read this book to find out!
      • applemango
        applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:03 pm55 stars
        The adventure all starts out with a boy name Sam in the wild of Canada exploring the nature and crossing the swamps. One day he discovers two swans, a cob who likes to speak in poetry one of his phrases he says repeatedly is “I glide, swanlike”, there also is a female who puts much effort into finding a place for her young. Then comes Louis, a cygnet that cannot say “Ko-hoh” or make a sound. Louis’s father, the cob, steals a trumpet from the shop causing much commotion. Now, Louis has to pay a debt so he goes to school to learn how to write and he learns to play the trumpet. Many adventures cause Louis to stay a night at the Ritz Carlton, meet Selena, Louis’s new “love”, and meet the “head man”. In the end, everything gets resolved and Louis and Selena live happily flying and, of course, gliding on the water.
        • mistymom
          mistymomFriday, September 13, 2019 at 1:08 pm44 stars
          I really liked this book. I recommend it for kids in fifth grade and up, this is because there are some harder words in the book. But other than that is definitely a really god book. If you like animals or birds than this book is for you. It is funny, romantic, and just a good book.
          • lime_skater0707
            lime_skater0707Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm44 stars
            My sister recommended this book to me. If you are 4th and up, this book might be easy for you. However, if you are curious like the Curious George (the monkey), you can read the book. It is about a swan that isn't ordianary and tries to earn the money and give it back to the person who sells instrument. (The trumpet is stoled by the main character's dad.) Check this book out!
            • morahjanice
              Janice LiebermanFriday, June 8, 2018 at 12:36 pm55 stars
              My students and I loved this book!
              • SanyaWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 7:09 am
                I love this book I was reading this in school and it is so interesting! It is about a swan he was unable to say kahoo-kahoo like all the other trumpeter swans, he swims in the pond silently, lonely and sad. When he meets Sam Beaver, an animal lover with a way to help, Louie becomes more hopeful than ever before. At last, Louie can share his sweet, special sound, showing the others that the voice within his heart has been loud and clear all along.
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 6:30 am55 stars
                  This is my favorite book by E.B. White. I like how she makes the life of a swan more like our lives by making it more realistic. It changes reader's emotions easily about swans because the protagonist, Louie, always feels different and ignored because he's different from normal swans. Readers will be able to relate to his feelings of feeling invisible and will learn how to have empathy.
                  • jenani12345
                    jenani12345Saturday, May 21, 2016 at 4:43 pm55 stars
                    Louis is scared when his father tells him that he is different form other swans. He does not want to be different . Even though he can not talk, Louis knows he could learn to read and write , if only he could get into school. Sam Beaver , a boy who understands all wild things , agrees to help . But Mrs. Hammerbotham is not sure she can handle a Trumpeter Swan in her classroom.
                    • virus13
                      virus13Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 10:14 am55 stars
                      it has a concept to over come a problem and still get a happy ending