Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.942203

Notable Children's Books of 1970 (ALA)
"Best of the Best" Children's Books 1966–1978 (SLJ)
Outstanding Children's Books of 1970 (NYT)
Children's Books of 1970 (Library of Congress)
1973 William Allen White Children's Book Award
1973 Sequoyah Children's Book Award (Oklahoma)

 
Hardcover, 210 pages
Published on June 17, 1970 by Harper & Row
ISBN-10: 0060263970
ISBN-13: 9780060263973
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mistymom
    mistymomFriday, September 13, 2019 at 1:08 pm44 stars
    I really liked this book. I recommend it for kids in fifth grade and up, this is because there are some harder words in the book. But other than that is definitely a really god book. If you like animals or birds than this book is for you. It is funny, romantic, and just a good book.
    • jini0710
      jini0710Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm44 stars
      My sister recommended this book to me. If you are 4th and up, this book might be easy for you. However, if you are curious like the Curious George (the monkey), you can read the book. It is about a swan that isn't ordianary and tries to earn the money and give it back to the person who sells instrument. (The trumpet is stoled by the main character's dad.) Check this book out!
      • morahjanice
        Janice LiebermanFriday, June 8, 2018 at 12:36 pm55 stars
        My students and I loved this book!
        • SanyaWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 7:09 am
          I love this book I was reading this in school and it is so interesting! It is about a swan he was unable to say kahoo-kahoo like all the other trumpeter swans, he swims in the pond silently, lonely and sad. When he meets Sam Beaver, an animal lover with a way to help, Louie becomes more hopeful than ever before. At last, Louie can share his sweet, special sound, showing the others that the voice within his heart has been loud and clear all along.
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 6:30 am55 stars
            This is my favorite book by E.B. White. I like how she makes the life of a swan more like our lives by making it more realistic. It changes reader's emotions easily about swans because the protagonist, Louie, always feels different and ignored because he's different from normal swans. Readers will be able to relate to his feelings of feeling invisible and will learn how to have empathy.
            • jenani12345
              jenani12345Saturday, May 21, 2016 at 4:43 pm55 stars
              Louis is scared when his father tells him that he is different form other swans. He does not want to be different . Even though he can not talk, Louis knows he could learn to read and write , if only he could get into school. Sam Beaver , a boy who understands all wild things , agrees to help . But Mrs. Hammerbotham is not sure she can handle a Trumpeter Swan in her classroom.
              • virus13
                virus13Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 10:14 am55 stars
                it has a concept to over come a problem and still get a happy ending
                • pandy123
                  pandy123Saturday, March 28, 2015 at 2:34 pm55 stars
                  I love this book. It was so good.
                  • megannz
                    megannzFriday, January 23, 2015 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                    love it
                    • trixi
                      trixiWednesday, May 28, 2014 at 2:39 pm
                      Great book!