The Trouble with Chickens: A J.J. Tully Mystery (J. J. Tully Mysteries)

Book 1 of 2 in the J.J. Tully Mystery Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.87692

From the bestselling, award-winning author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Kevin Cornell comes the first book in a heavily illustrated, hilarious chapter book series about the adventures of a dog detective. Perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine series and Jarrett J. Krosoczka's Lunch Lady series.

J.J. Tully is a former search-and-rescue dog who is trying to enjoy his retirement after years of performing daring missions saving lives. So he's not terribly impressed when two chicks named Dirt and Sugar (who look like popcorn on legs) and their chicken mom show up demanding his help to find their missing siblings. Driven by the promise of a cheeseburger, J.J. begins to track down clues. Is Vince the Funnel hiding something? Are there dark forces at work—or is J.J. not smelling the evidence that's right in front of him?

Paperback, 144 pages
Published on January 24, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0061215341
ISBN-13: 9780061215346
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bamababy22
    bamababy22Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 8:52 am
    This book is about a dog named J.J. who is a retired search and rescue dog. Since he is retired, he is not exactly eager to help some crazy chickens who he barely knows. But J.J. does not pass up the offer of a cheeseburger and agrees to help the chickens, who have two missing from the coop. This is a interesting mystery from a interesting perspective. I recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries.
    • fastfoxreader
      fastfoxreaderMonday, July 18, 2016 at 2:11 pm44 stars
      This book is about a dog named J.J who met a couple of crazy chickens named Sugar, Dirt, Moosh, Poppy, and Sweetie. One day some of the chicks were missing- Poppy and Sweetie. Moosh ( the mother) found a note that said, " I have your chicks. It behooves you to rendezvous. Twilight. Your place.' J.J couldn't read so he sniffed the note. He caught the scent. Soon he figured out that the other dog, Vince the funnel. Vince looked like a funnel to J.J. They went to the house but J.J dug his claws into the carpet and had a ride all over the house and knocked himself out cold and Vince told the chickens to roll him in. When J.J woke up, he was in Vince's cage. He figured out Vince was supposed to have an ear appointment and get a bigger funnel around his neck, but now that J.J is in the cage, he is going to get a big ear funnel. He can't get out because Vince has the switch to open and close the door. Sugar comes in. J.J thought he put Sugar in the birdbath, and he knows chickens can't fly. Sugar says they can fly to rendezvous with other chickens. J.J knew she was the one who wrote the note. They came up with a plan to get him out of the cage. Moosh helps Vince get his funnel off, but before that, she took the collar off and kicked the collar to Sugar. Then they freed J.J and put Vince in the cage. I really liked this book.
      • levimackay14
        levimackay14Wednesday, July 9, 2014 at 4:31 am55 stars
        I love this book so much. It is so funny. This book is probably one of my favorites. So cool.
        • girlmeetscamera
          girlmeetscameraFriday, November 29, 2013 at 4:28 am
          I am reading this book and I think I will like it.
          • ariso
            arisoThursday, January 10, 2013 at 9:40 am55 stars
            love it
            • sergreen
              sergreenThursday, January 10, 2013 at 9:40 am55 stars
              i loved this book
              • scott4k
                Ms. KolodziejTuesday, May 22, 2012 at 8:03 am
                This book was funny. It can be challenging because the narrator changes. It is written by the author of Click, Clack, Moo and Duck for President.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                thenoobquax

                Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                thenoobquax

                Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                Warriors: Into the Wild

                thenoobquax

                How do you actually like Firesta...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                thenoobquax

                Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...