Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.173294

The Thickety: A Path Begins is a spellbinding tale about a girl, the Thickety, and the power of magic. Fans of Neil Gaiman will love this thrilling new world.

When Kara Westfall was five years old, her mother was convicted of the worst of all crimes: witchcraft. Years later, Kara and her little brother, Taff, are still shunned by the people of their village, who believe that nothing is more evil than magic…except, perhaps, the mysterious forest that covers nearly the entire island. It has many names, this place. Sometimes it is called the Dark Wood, or Sordyr's Realm. But mostly it's called the Thickety.

The villagers live in fear of the Thickety and the terrible creatures that live there. But when an unusual bird lures Kara into the forbidden forest, she discovers a strange book with unspeakable powers. A book that might have belonged to her mother.

And that is just the beginning of the story.

Supports the Common Core State Standards
Publishers Weekly Best Book
IndieBound Indie Next List
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Amazon's Big Spring Books
Washington Post Summer Book Club

 

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 6, 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062257242
ISBN-13: 9780062257246
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • scroly168
    scroly168Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 5:32 pm55 stars
    This book made me shudder a little but in a good way! I wanted to keep on reading and reading! Just got the second book so keep posted for the book! Recommended for 9 yrs and up
    • scarletnews101
      scarletnews101Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:46 am
      A girl is believed to be a witch but she is poor and does the best she can to take care of her little brother and father. Her mother was already killed because she was suspected to be a witch so I don't know if she will die next.
      • jojojosie
        jojojosieTuesday, July 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm
        BEST BOOK EVER IN ETERNITY!!!
        • gir7747
          gir7747Saturday, November 8, 2014 at 6:26 pm
          amazing rhank you mr.White one great teacher
          • gir7747Saturday, November 8, 2014 at 6:25 pm
            this is gir is awesome i frogot my password but this is just as good
            • happyface7
              happyface7Friday, June 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm
              I want to read this book so bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • girisawesome
                girisawesomeThursday, June 19, 2014 at 6:26 pm55 stars
                I love this book for tons of reasons first a girl named Cara is in my class (she is one of my beasties) and not because my teacher wrote it it is because it is dark Grim full packed with Magic with a great begging middle and end I just can't wait for 2,3 and 4 maybe 5 the thickety a path begins for Kara westfall she will have great time with Taff and her father if you like this grim book you might like the school for good and evil 1and2 or harry potter ,39clues and if you follow me even better books. So read the thickety a path begins and have a good summer.
                • masterdragon
                  masterdragonThursday, June 19, 2014 at 11:41 am55 starsFeatured
                  This is a great book, not only because my teacher wrote it, but also there's a girl in my class names Cara, like the main character, Kara. Also, if you're looking for a great summer read of magic, adventure, and all around epicness, read The Thickety: A path begins and the rest of the great series! I <3 The Thickety!
                  • jgjc2222Thursday, June 19, 2014 at 11:41 am
                    that is my teacher, he is sooo cool, he is hilarious, ps he is not mean!
                    • girisawesome
                      girisawesomeWednesday, June 18, 2014 at 2:13 pm55 stars
                      my teacher wort this book and it is boom it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good i can not wait for book 2 3 and 4 he told me all about it