Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6Z+5.694872

It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about—hope for—is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (”Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance—and sheer terror—await.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on June 4, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547959109
ISBN-13: 9780547959108
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • CocoTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 2:26 pm
    This book looks awesome! Im totally going to read it!
    • skydragon
      skydragonWednesday, March 9, 2016 at 5:33 pm
      This book is awesome so far but I am still reading it. There are also two other books in this series.
      • topazvampire50
        topazvampire50Tuesday, January 26, 2016 at 5:58 am
        Like Divergent
        • talya
          talyaMonday, December 7, 2015 at 3:26 pm55 stars
          It is the best book ever, and I think it is Thrilling and Exciting :) I recommend this book to anyone 11 years old & older.
          • tr
            trTuesday, November 24, 2015 at 12:52 pm55 stars
            I wish they had more series of it!
            • tr
              trTuesday, November 24, 2015 at 12:46 pm55 stars
              This is the best book ever! I think it would be perfect for any kid 11 and older to read!
              • 3emmastith
                3emmastithWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 8:00 am55 stars
                The Testing is a fast paced intense book about young love and surviving.
                • bygflower
                  bygflowerMonday, February 23, 2015 at 12:04 pm44 starsFeatured
                  This book... Isn't my favourite. It is like the hunger games, but with everything that made the hunger games so good taken out of it. (the gore, sadness, etc.) I read on one site that is was more optimistic, but it isn't! Cia, although resourceful, is too perfect for me... she doesn't have any flaws made clear to the audience. The characters don't have that much personality and description is sparse. It was alright, but could not be compared to the hunger games, Marie Lu's Legend, and all other books of this sort.
                  • bradyfan12
                    bradyfan12Saturday, February 21, 2015 at 9:46 am
                    Bad horrible slow plot. This book is not good do not waste your time reading it.
                    • bigmelo
                      bigmeloFriday, February 20, 2015 at 5:19 am55 stars
                      One of my friends is reading this, & she says it's almost just like The Hunger Games Series, but with some certain amendments. She thinks that the series is really cool, so I should read it.