Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6Z+5.694872

It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about—hope for—is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (”Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance—and sheer terror—await.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on June 4, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547959109
ISBN-13: 9780547959108
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chocolate168
    chocolate168Saturday, January 2, 2021 at 12:47 am55 stars
    I really enjoyed this book. I find the logic behind the testing very interesting. Hope everybody who reads this book will enjoy it.
    • jkbear
      jkbearMonday, November 30, 2020 at 11:13 am55 stars
      I love it
      • lemonade11
        lemonade11Sunday, November 29, 2020 at 4:10 pm55 stars
        The Testing is incredible. It is set in a futuristic dystopian society where each colony sends students to the Testing program designed to pick out potential students to become leaders. Unfortunately, this Testing is much more unascertained than what they had originally thought. Main character Cia and her love interest Tomas decide to ally and complete the tests. I would recommend this book for older readers because some details might go over the heads of younger readers. It is similar to The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Delirium.
        • kgbradshaw
          kgbradshawSunday, November 15, 2020 at 4:47 am44 stars
          The Testing is a unique book with incredible similarity to The Hunger Games and Divergent. Our main character is Malencia Vale, also known as Cia. The story follows her journey to Tosu City for The Testing-a series of challenges and obstacles meant to help determine who will end up being the next group world leaders. I enjoyed this book, but it was slightly predictable and there were only a few plot twists. The main character is slightly nerdy, is younger than all of her classmates, but surprise, surprise! The boy that everyone has a crush on likes her! Other than that, the story is very interesting and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed Hunger Games.
          • lovetoread26
            lovetoread26Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 7:03 am55 stars
            I couldn't put this book down! Similar to The Hunger Games, The Testing is a futuristic science fiction novel. The main character Cia goes through many of the same challenges as Katniss in The Hunger Games. Other books that are similar to this are Divergent and Delirium. If you enjoyed any of the other books I mentioned above, you are almost guaranteed to love this one. Happy reading!
            • wizardgirl
              wizardgirlThursday, May 7, 2020 at 9:47 am55 stars
              this book looks great! i cant wait to read it
              • 4usa
                4usaWednesday, May 6, 2020 at 5:36 am55 stars
                This is a great book about Cia and her crush Tomas who have to face the dangers of the testing! I would not recommend it to kids younger then 11 do to the violence, death, and a few kissing scenes!
                • ToptopMonday, May 4, 2020 at 6:44 am
                  Its graduation day for sixteen–year–old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about–hope for– is whether she'll be chosen for The Testing , a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post–war civilization. When Cia is chosen , her father worries about the testing, and his nightmares about it. ( Cia , trust no one) in this epic novel full of adventures.
                  • 4usa
                    4usaSaturday, April 4, 2020 at 8:37 am55 stars
                    This is a great book! Though I would not recommend it for kids under 11! It's about a girl named Cia who is excepted into a program that that only the best of the best get into but her father tells her that he has scary memories of the testing that were wiped away! He tells her not to trust anyone but what about her crush Tomas who was also excepted?
                    • CocoTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 2:26 pm
                      This book looks awesome! Im totally going to read it!