The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Harry Potter)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 9 - 12U8.312483
From J. K. Rowling, a new addition to the bookshelves of every Harry Potter fan: THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD

THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD, a Wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers' attention in the book known as HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger's new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J. K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore.
Hardcover
Published on December 4, 2008 by Children's High Level Group
ISBN-10: 0545128285
ISBN-13: 9780545128285
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 9:36 am55 stars
    I received this as a gift for my birthday over quarantine and it did not disappoint one bit. Translated by Hermione Granger with annotations by Albus Dumbledore, "The Tales of Beedle the Bard" features several Wizarding classics. Just like the fairytale Cinderella, which Ron Weasley dubbed as "What's that, an illness?", these stories are beloved for Wizarding children. Highly entertaining, a little dark and seedy, these questionable morals will be favorites of Wizarding and Muggle children alike.
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 2:51 pm55 stars
      Wow! I read this and it is CREEPY!!! So, one of the stories is from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (which I love!!) and the others are mentioned throughout the Harry Potter series. I think that the worst (best) story in here is The Warlock's Hairy Heart. It is about this warlock who decides that he doesn't want to love anybody, so he uses dark magic to take his heart out of his chest. Later, he finds that he is not happy like that and people are making fun of him, so he finds the prettiest, most rich maiden in all the land and has her over for dinner. He then makes the mistake of showing the girl his heart, and she tells him to put it back where it belongs so he can love her. It is absolutely horrible and I loved it!!
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 11:59 am55 stars
        This book is a book with many stories in it. All the stories are related to the wizarding world of Harry Potter, and Hermione once owned the original copy of this book. It is special, and the stories are detailed and interesting. they also give you a mysterious feeling!
        • raven772
          raven772Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 11:47 am55 stars
          It was a little strange but overall a great book👍🏻
          • raven772
            raven772Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 11:47 am55 stars
            It was a little strange but overall a great book👍👍🏻
            • hello12
              hello12Monday, January 21, 2019 at 8:27 pm55 stars
              This is a truly amazing book written very, VERY well. J.K. Rowling has put her best foot forward (again) in the magical collection of must-have wizarding stories. I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone who is a fan of 'Harry Potter'.
              • jamilton
                jamiltonFriday, June 8, 2018 at 3:18 pm55 stars
                This book was absolutely amazing. The "Tale of Three Brothers" was exactly copied from the "Deathly Hallows", giving you a sense of awe, because you're reading the same stories that Hermione read, the same stories that Ron grew up hearing, the same stories that were passed down by generations of magical folk. It just gives you tingles all over, like any book should.
                • panco02995Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 7:55 pm
                  I personally loved it. My favorite story is Babbity Rabbity and her cackling stump. I also liked The Warlock's Hairy Heart.
                  • panco02995Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 7:52 pm
                    So, I got this book from my school library on Tuesday, and I really love it. What about you?
                    • zingisme213
                      zingisme213Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 7:19 am44 stars
                      loved this book! Got it for my birth day, and I've read it MILLIONS of times! Awesome, and not just because its Harry Potter! ;)