Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680893
ISBN-13: 9780763680893
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • GPCKTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 11:29 am
    This is a very good book and i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a book with a deep meaning.
    • RachelWednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:12 am
      This book is awesome!
      • applemango
        applemangoMonday, April 2, 2018 at 10:19 pm55 stars
        This book tells about a mouse who is sentenced to the dongeon because he speaks and he lets princess pea a human which a mouse is to avoid contact at all times . In which despereanx falls in love with the pea. HE is determind to save pea and get his life back
        • wolfiegirl1234
          wolfiegirl1234Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 8:43 pm55 stars
          This book.. I can't explain it. This book made by day. The little mouse to the Princess Pea. It's magnificent.
          • cute_wolfie4561
            cute_wolfie4561Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 6:00 pm55 stars
            Okay...this book just warmed my heart. You may think it's weird for a mouse to fall in love with a princess but, no! This book is a really great book. Can't wait for more my Kate DiCamillo!
            • shanelleluvskat
              shanelleluvskatTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:37 pm
              I luv this book bcuz it is about a brave mouse that is on a quest to save the princess Pea.
              • sofialuvscats
                sofialuvscatsTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                This book is of love and romance between a mouse and a little princess.
                • DespereauxWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:51 am
                  This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:29 am55 stars
                    Funny, touching, heroic and simply amazing all at the same time. I loved this book - it was downright awesome.
                    • bluedog51
                      bluedog51Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 9:20 pm
                      VERY GOOD BOOK!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      laxbro2023
                      laxbro2023 wrote:

                      i have the book and im glad alex...
                      Never Say Die (Alex Rider)

                      Sara wrote:

                      yes that's right... you should n...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Siena wrote:

                      wow... that was very sad.... i'm...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      nothing wrote:

                      really good book
                      Torn to Pieces