Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680893
ISBN-13: 9780763680893
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • BoksoonyTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:03 pm
    This book was soooo good it blew my mind 😍🤯
    • starns20
      starns20Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:19 am55 stars
      I recommed this book because it's very good.
      • eaglegamer
        eaglegamerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 1:22 pm55 stars
        i like this book
        • GPCKTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 11:29 am
          This is a very good book and i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a book with a deep meaning.
          • RachelWednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:12 am
            This book is awesome!
            • applemango
              applemangoMonday, April 2, 2018 at 10:19 pm55 stars
              This book tells about a mouse who is sentenced to the dongeon because he speaks and he lets princess pea a human which a mouse is to avoid contact at all times . In which despereanx falls in love with the pea. HE is determind to save pea and get his life back
              • wolfiegirl1234
                wolfiegirl1234Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 8:43 pm55 stars
                This book.. I can't explain it. This book made by pure light. How could Roscuro see no light ANYWHERE?!
                • cute_wolfie4561
                  cute_wolfie4561Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 6:00 pm55 stars
                  Okay...this book just warmed my heart. You may think it's weird for a mouse to fall in love with a princess but, no! This book is a really great book. Can't wait for more my Kate DiCamillo!
                  • shanelleluvskat
                    shanelleluvskatTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:37 pm
                    I luv this book bcuz it is about a brave mouse that is on a quest to save the princess Pea.
                    • sofialuvscats
                      sofialuvscatsTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                      This book is of love and romance between a mouse and a little princess.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      This book was nice to read. It d...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I enjoyed reading this book very...
                      The Door to the Lost

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      well you should read it
                      Waste of Space (Moon Base Alpha)

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      this book has the right about of...
                      A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte ...

                      Our Apps and Plugins