Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680893
ISBN-13: 9780763680893
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • piggie101
    piggie101Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:25 am55 stars
    It is about a mouse who is love with a princess and he is not like the other mice and [wait I am saying to much yeah I am] so now to read the rest read it yourself it will only take you a year :)
    • BoksoonyTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:03 pm
      This book was soooo good it blew my mind 😍🤯
      • starns20
        starns20Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:19 am55 stars
        I recommed this book because it's very good.
        • eaglegamer
          eaglegamerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 1:22 pm55 stars
          i like this book
          • GPCKTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 11:29 am
            This is a very good book and i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a book with a deep meaning.
            • RachelWednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:12 am
              This book is awesome!
              • applemango
                applemangoMonday, April 2, 2018 at 10:19 pm55 stars
                This book tells about a mouse who is sentenced to the dongeon because he speaks and he lets princess pea a human which a mouse is to avoid contact at all times . In which despereanx falls in love with the pea. HE is determind to save pea and get his life back
                • wolfiegirl1234
                  wolfiegirl1234Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 8:43 pm55 stars
                  This book.. I can't explain it. This book made by pure light. How could Roscuro see no light ANYWHERE?!
                  • cute_wolfie4561
                    cute_wolfie4561Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 6:00 pm55 stars
                    Okay...this book just warmed my heart. You may think it's weird for a mouse to fall in love with a princess but, no! This book is a really great book. Can't wait for more my Kate DiCamillo!
                    • shanelleluvskat
                      shanelleluvskatTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:37 pm
                      I luv this book bcuz it is about a brave mouse that is on a quest to save the princess Pea.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Amya wrote:

                      is there more than 5 stars
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      Amya wrote:

                      I love the tri wizard tornment
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      frecklefacec

                      Love this book. it's really good!
                      The Unwanteds

                      frecklefacec

                      I decided to read this book beca...
                      The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of...

                      Our Apps and Plugins