Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680893
ISBN-13: 9780763680893
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pumpkin40107
    pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:26 pm33 stars
    It was a pretty good book and it looks and sounds like a classic book but it wasn’t the best book I’ve read😬😐
    • generaldruid511
      generaldruid511Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 1:57 pm55 stars
      My teacher used to read this and also, I can't believe that my teacher also reads a book that is made by the same author "Because of Winn-Dixie".
      • Juan nacho headFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:40 am
        That book good I read it in a week
        • ariettaki08
          ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:22 pm33 stars
          It was ok, but maybe if they put more exiting parts in there, it would be better.
          • MeFriday, November 2, 2018 at 8:59 am
            This book was awesome! Something about it really made it feel special when I finished it.
            • piggie101
              piggie101Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:25 am55 stars
              It is about a mouse who is love with a princess and he is not like the other mice and [wait I am saying to much yeah I am] so now to read the rest read it yourself it will only take you a year :)Also its not for every reader 5 Stars
              • BoksoonyTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:03 pm
                This book was soooo good it blew my mind 😍🤯
                • starns20
                  starns20Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:19 am55 stars
                  I recommed this book because it's very good.
                  • eaglegamer
                    eaglegamerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 1:22 pm55 stars
                    i like this book
                    • GPCKTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 11:29 am
                      This is a very good book and i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a book with a deep meaning.

                      Our Apps and Plugins