Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.157671
Belly’s never been the kind of girl that things happen to. Year after year, she’s spent her summers at the beach house with Conrad and Jeremiah. The boys never noticed Belly noticing them. And every summer she hoped it would be different. This time, it was. But the summer Belly turned pretty was the summer that changed everything. For better, and for worse.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 5, 2009 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416968237
ISBN-13: 9781416968238
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • crazyunicorn333
    crazyunicorn333Monday, November 12, 2018 at 5:47 pm55 stars
    This whole sires is amazing! I would recommend !
    • kittykat101
      kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 8:33 am44 stars
      This book is a tangled mix of emotions, all put into one summer, experienced by teens, friends since children, trying to enjoy the summer, as it may be the last they all are together, as the boy's mom has breast cancer, and won't go for treatment. She wants to enjoy life while it lasts, as life and not in the hospital. All while this is going on, Belly is trying to find herself a boy. A great book, that shows what it is like to have a crush, yet be still alone, or to be turned down.
      • karen8
        karen8Friday, December 2, 2016 at 11:28 am44 stars
        This book is about a girl named Belly, who every summer goes to her moms best friend, Suzanne's summer house. She has loved one of Suzanne's boys, Conrad, forever. Belly has turned pretty this summer. Belly is in love trouble. Cancer has come back for Suzanne. Everyone is in pain.
        • megank
          megankSunday, February 21, 2016 at 6:10 am55 stars
          The Summer I Turned Pretty is one of the most amazing books I've read this year. Belly is finally going to be old enough to fit in with Conrad, Jeremiah, and her brother. Every summer she expects Conrad to notice her, but he never did. This summer, Conrad changed completely, he starts to smoke and stops talking to everyone, but so did Belly, she became pretty and her whole summer becomes out of control. I think my favourite character will definitely be Jeremiah because he's very friendly, humorous, and is always there for Belly to be her best friend no matter what. Whenever Belly is feeling down, he is there to solver her problems. I also love how the author uses many throwback chapters to let people know how much they have grown and to let us see what memories made Belly the person she is today. People should definitely read this book, Belly faces many problems that teens today can also experience, such as crush problems, puberty, friendship, and mostly growth. If you've read To All The Boys I Loved Before also by Jenny Han, you will love this book for sure!
          • maggies20
            maggies20Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 7:44 pm55 stars
            This book is absolutely amazing! Belly has always been looking forwards to fitting in with her brother, Conrad and Jeremiah. Finally this summer, she's grown up and everything changes. She turns pretty, Conrad and Jeremiah both starts paying attention to her. However, they faces a lot of conflict, such as Susannah, Conrad and Jeremiah's mother, getting sick. Belly's feelings for Conrad and Jeremiah is also confusing her. I can understand how Belly feels, wanting to fit in. When I am with my cousins, I would want to play with them too. However, we shouldn't change our personalities just to meet other's expectations. Being ourself and staying happy is more important. I would recommend this book, however it would be more suitable for girls since it's written in a teenage girl's perspective.
            • acting_luver
              acting_luverFriday, May 30, 2014 at 7:01 am44 stars
              I loved this book!!! I couldn't get my eyes off it. I only recommend it to girls though because it has a lot of girly stuff in it.
              • mulan
                mulanTuesday, November 12, 2013 at 7:47 pm
                This book is great!!! And the series!!!! SPEECHLESS.
                • 1directiongal
                  1directiongalFriday, March 15, 2013 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                  OMG!!!!!!!!! I loved this book it was about a summer romance story<3
                  • kb
                    kbFriday, February 15, 2013 at 4:33 pm44 stars
                    Amazing book that I would not hesitate to read again I feel in love with the characters(well not Conrad) you should definetly read this if you like summer romance stories!!~kb<3