The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)

Book 1 of 6 in the Origami Yoda Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.718857
In this funny, uncannily wise portrait of the dynamics of a sixth-grade class and of the greatness that sometimes comes in unlikely packages, Dwight, a loser, talks to his classmates via an origami finger puppet of Yoda. If that weren’t strange enough, the puppet is uncannily wise and prescient. Origami Yoda predicts the date of a pop quiz, guesses who stole the classroom Shakespeare bust, and saves a classmate from popularity-crushing embarrassment with some well-timed advice. Dwight’s classmate Tommy wonders how Yoda can be so smart when Dwight himself is so clueless. With contributions from his puzzled classmates, Tommy assembles this first case file in the blockbuster bestselling Origami Yoda series, written by Tom Angleberger, author of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi: Beware the Power of the Dark Side, and hailed by School Library Journal as “honest, funny, and immensely entertaining.”

F&P Level: T
F&P Genre: RF

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on March 1, 2010 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 0810984253
ISBN-13: 9780810984257
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • roxanne3
    roxanne3Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 6:00 pm33 stars
    I had to read this book for school, and I read it like 6 times. It is not my favorite but I think it is pretty good. I really like Dwight's sweater, it sounds cool!! I also like it when Dwight (Yoda) tells a kid that they should get a hairdo like Yoda!!
    • uooooo
      uoooooMonday, November 25, 2019 at 7:59 am
      I love origami!
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarSunday, August 11, 2019 at 9:43 am44 stars
        Dwight is a strange sixth grader. He does a lot of strange things such as wearing the same shirt for a month and telling people to call him 'Captain Dwight'. Dispite of all the strange things he does, he does one thing that is cool, he knows how to fold origami. One day, he makes an origami Yoda finger puppet. Origami Yoda can predict the future and can suggest the best way to deal with a troubling situation. His advice actually works, and most of the sixth grade belives that Origami Yoda has the Force and line up to ask Origami Yoda a question. Tommy wants to know how can Origami Yoda is so smart when Dwight is so clueless about almost anything. Is Origami Yoda really tapping into the Force? Tommy wants to solve the mystery before he takes Origami Yoda's advice. So Tommy made this case file for his investigation of 'The Strange Case of Orgami Yoda'.
        • birdsong
          birdsongSunday, August 11, 2019 at 9:43 am44 stars
          Dwight is a very strange kid, and he does stuff like wiping the floor with his shirt in front of a lot of people and eating chalk, but even stranger is when Dwight creates an Origami Yoda. Some people think that Yoda is pure magic. Others do not. But most of the time, he is right, unless he was insulted in the process of giving the Q/A. This book was very good.
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprMonday, July 22, 2019 at 4:09 pm55 stars
            When a kid called Dwight, who is a social outcast and a very weird kid, brings a wonderfully folded Origami Yoda, he starts to give people advice and soon people are going to Origami Yoda to ask for help! But one kid, Harvey, is skeptical and his friends, Tommy, must find out if Origami is real. Why? Because if he follows his advice or information, which may not true, Tommy will badly embarrass himself in front of his crush. This book was so good! It reminded me of Greg Heffley. Sort of. I would recommend this for ages 10+ and for fans of Star Wars and Greg Heffley.
            • CarbideSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 3:52 pm
              Awesome! Can’t stop reading! Such a classic
              • esquay
                esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 5:23 pm55 stars
                These books are Hilarious! A recommendation for all kids into Star Wars.
                • jso6
                  jso6Monday, May 28, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                  Really good book. I recommend it for sixth through seventh graders. In it, Tommy asks lots of his fellow students what Origami Yoda has done for them. Origami Yoda is an Origami Yoda that a strange kid named Dwight carries around. Dwight gives advice to classmates through Origami Yoda.
                  • gamerforlife
                    gamerforlifeTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 11:11 am55 stars
                    The book was about origami yoda solving cases.You should read it because if you are a star wars fan you should read the book.And it a good book because it show how to make origami yoda and it crazy how the cases are solved.
                    • regularpanda
                      regularpandaThursday, September 1, 2016 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                      #lovedit! this is one of the best books i ever read! five stars! #have my own yoda.