Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5Q2.04398
Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot---and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids' mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439846811
ISBN-13: 9780439846813
126 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lines
    linesThursday, November 7, 2019 at 10:54 am44 stars
    Totally awesome. I saw people reading this and wanted to read it too. Found at the library and immediately sucked it in. Have read the whole series except for the ninth which came out two days ago. READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • ryanng1letsgopa
      ryanng1letsgopaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 1:38 pm55 stars
      This book is very full of suspense. It gives you a cliffhanger and you would really want to read the rest of this series.
      • CayFriday, September 20, 2019 at 6:57 pm
        The book is so good I love it I'm such a fan if u have a samsung Galaxy 10 phone your reading this so I'm not a spoiler spoiling the story
        • Anthony Friday, September 20, 2019 at 6:29 pm
          This book is sad this book made me sad πŸ˜”πŸ˜’
          • pershay1
            pershay1Monday, September 9, 2019 at 5:55 am55 stars
            The book was a good book. I lie how the writer really had a lot of detail in the book. The writer was telling how when they had to go on a mission to save there city. Then Emily and Navin had to go on a mission to save there mother. I recommend the book if you really lie graphic novel books.
            • zzayumi
              zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 5:26 pm55 stars
              The Amulet series are really good! It is about a girl named Emily, who found a stone and became a stonekeeper. She faces many challenges, trying to save her mother.
              • pizzagirl7
                pizzagirl7Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:23 pm55 stars
                I love this book !it's about Emily her dad and her mom where in a car at night and the mom and dad where talking and got distracted and the dad drove the car into the side railing and were on the side of a tree almost falling off the edge of the mountain and the dad said for them to crawl out but her dad was stuck then the tree started breaking and her dad and the tree fell off the mountain and he died...2 months later the mom Emily and Emily little brother where moving into a new house and in Emily's grammas old room there was this book and there was an amulet πŸ˜ƒthen a lot of other awesome things started happening and it was such a good book I recommend it to 10 to 15 year olds I love this book!I have already started reading the other books and I am in love with them !!I can't wait to read more!!I hope whoever reads this has good reading experience with this book!have a happy summer reading!!
                • sofi_juarez
                  sofi_juarezThursday, May 16, 2019 at 10:32 am55 stars
                  I finished this book in one day. This book was so interesting, I couldn't stop reading it.
                  • BraydonbossWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 10:32 am
                    This book is about a girl whose dad died in a car crash and her mom survived. She also has a brother and he survived to. I like comic books and this is a great comic book and she has a amulet that gives her powers. Also I like this book because it is a comic book. This book is a 3-4 grade reading level. Kids that like comic books would like this book. Kids ages 8-12.
                    • LaurenSaturday, April 27, 2019 at 3:18 pm
                      I love this book this book is amazing.