The Stone Warriors (TombQuest, Book 4)

Book 4 of 5 in the TombQuest Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.541385
From the New York Times bestselling author of TombQuest: Book of the Dead, comes book 4 in an epic adventure filled with the magic of ancient Egypt!

It's a race for the Spells!

Alex and Ren are on a desperate hunt, and time's running out. They've discovered that The Order is on the brink of creating an army of indestructible stone warriors with a dark purpose, and the Lost Spells is the one thing that can put an end to the evil scheme.

Following a trail of clues that only Alex can piece together, their chase takes them through magical portals, across Egypt, and deep into Alex's past. But the closer they get to the Spells, the more afraid Alex becomes. He begins to realize that undoing the powerful magic that has created so much chaos might mean ending the very thing the magic was intended to save: his own life.

In the tradition of The 39 Clues and Spirit Animals, the TombQuest adventure doesn't end with the books. An epic online game allows you to build an Egyptian tomb of your own, hide treasure and protect it with traps, then challenge your friends to play through!

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on December 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545723418
ISBN-13: 9780545723411
8 Book Reviews
  • nickster45
    nickster45Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 3:06 pm
    I really hope I win because I literally love to read espacally action books
    • EliFriday, January 8, 2016 at 10:29 am
      The coolist book is this
      • EliFriday, January 8, 2016 at 10:28 am
        The book is mine
        • bibliophile
          bibliophileWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 8:04 pm
          When I picked up the book... the title seemed oddly familiar... but I realized I read too much of the action and triller packed types of books... Anyways when I opened the cover, there was a detailed Egyptian drawing (and I really love art so I will appreciate it), the next page included a code to play a game, and the next page was a hieroglyphic alphabet! If you read this book... you get 4 in one... which is a great value... because I know there are a lot of gamers who would love to play this game after reading this amazing book, also people who want to learn the hieroglyphic alphabet, and we can't forget the people like me who want to appreciate the fine art and the content of this book. So I never read the first three books and I didn't feel... fulfilled... But after finishing this book, the author perfect conveyed his message and filled in the readers what they missed from the first three books... So thank you Mr. Northrop! And one more good thing... I finally found out why the cover looked so familiar,,, It's because the titles and the drawings look so similar to the 39 Clue series and I read Surrounded by Sharks (TOTALLY RECOMMEND :D) which is a fantastic read by Mr. Northrop... Meet Alex and Ren, the perfect pair to solve mysteries and go on an adventure... I know for a fact that if I went on an adventure then Alex and Ren would be like in my group... Anyways Ren and Alex running from everything, but looking for Alex's mother... and of course trying to find out what the Order is going to do... Uh oh... Alex and Ren are also looking for the Lost Spells... which add another thing on the To-Do List... And I'm going to say... Dang... Alex and Ren have A LOT to do... Before I finish talking... or well typing... I want to have a ship name for Alex and Ren... I'm not implying that they should be together... but something to distinguish this combo... Alen, Relex, Alren, or Alexren... I think I like Alen and Relex better... but I guess I'll just start asking people... so if you read this review... please reply and comment down which ship name is better... Anyways I really love how gripping this adventure is... honestly I thought it would be very fast-paced and something that will come and by... but when I was in school, I would seriously think about how the author would make Alex and Ren do these things... Honestly this reminds me of the Kane Chronicles and the 39 Clues... nevertheless, it was an amazing read... Just one thing I didn't particularly didn't enjoy was the cliffhanger... Like all the books I read are starting to have cliffhangers... And I'm going to say that Mr. Northrop seriously sure knows how to keep this book suspenseful... So can Alex and Ren complete the To-Do List? Can Alex and Ren defeat the Order... or actually help them by not realizing?? And most important, family love... Can Alex find his mom, or is it too late... DUN DUN DUNNNNNNN!!! Just all these questions brings out the suspense of this book... And this is truly a special read with a mix of Egyptian history, magic, adventure, and mystery,,, this fast read is truly a keeper... Read and ENJOY!!!!
          • snicker9
            snicker9Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 2:20 pmFeatured
            Stone Warriors is the 4th book in the TombQuest series. In this book Ren and Alex continue their search for for Alex's mother and the book of Lost Spells. This series has the same idea as 39 Clues or Spirit Animals-though they are all written by the same author. There suspense, action, a little mystery. As there were three previous books that I did not read, some parts were confusing. However, overall I was able to figure out what had happened and the key events that had occurred. The book was very fast-paced and had a lot of action. I was on the edge of my seat when the book ended on a cliffhanger. Will Ren and Alex complete their search? Or will Alex lose his mother forever? Will Ren and Alex be able to escape the cunning Order? This book would be good for ages 11-15. I wouldn't recommend it to any younger because of the whole setting of the book. There are many battles and graphic scenes. Overall, I enjoyed this book very much. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
            • pipermc11
              pipermc11Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at 4:13 pm55 starsFeatured
              I absolutely loved this book! While I hadn't read the first books in the series, I felt the book picked up perfectly, and I knew exactly what was going on. I loved the main characters, Alex and Ren, and they reminded me a lot of the 39 Clues siblings. In fact, that would be my only complaint with the book-it was too similar to 39 Clues. However, the story was able to distance itself plot-wise and through character growth enough that it didn't bring down the rest of the novel. With stellar characters and a great plot, (with an infuriating cliffhanger as well!) Tombquest outshines it's competition with flying colors.
              • sydstar
                sydstarTuesday, January 5, 2016 at 12:50 pm
                Tomb Quest by Michael North is a interesting book. It is about Aleks and Ren who are searching for Aleks’s mom and the lost spells. I wasn’t a fan of the ending because it was cliffhanger and I don’t like having to wait for the next book to find out if someone is going to die or not. The middle of the book however, was very gripping. I like how there was a powerful girl in this book. I liked the idea of stones coming life and lost spells. Overall, I would recommend this book.
                • neonbook Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at 1:44 am
                  I love to read this..seems good thought☺