Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.846021

Evocative of Alice in Wonderland, this novel from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is a bewitching story about the reaches of loyalty and the enduring power of hope. Perfect for fans of the author’s other middle grade novels: Liesl & Po and the Curiosity House series.

Looking across the breakfast table one morning, twelve-year-old Liza feels dread wash over her. Although her younger brother, Patrick, appears the same, Liza knows that he is actually quite different. She is certain that the spindlers—evil, spiderlike beings—came during the night and stole his soul. And Liza is also certain that she is the only one who can rescue him.

Armed with little more than her wits and a huge talking rat for a guide, Liza descends into the dark and ominous underground to save Patrick's soul. Her quest is far from easy: she must brave tree-snakes, the Court of Stones, and shape-shifting scawgs before facing her greatest challenge in the spindlers' lair, where more than just Patrick's soul is at stake.

 

 

 

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061978086
ISBN-13: 9780061978081
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • asma234
    asma234Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 7:07 am33 stars
    I read this about 2 months ago.It wasn't my favorite book,but it was pretty interesting.I hope you guy's like the book or liked the book. I recommend this for 4th-6th graders.It's filed with a lot of adventure and cool things.
    • ocelot
      ocelotThursday, September 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm55 stars
      I love this book and I recommend it to people who like adventure and the magical world. This book is about a spider-like creature that just goes wrong and makes trouble. I really hope you read it!
      • sweetheart352
        sweetheart352Monday, August 18, 2014 at 2:09 pm
        My library just got this book and I can hardly wait to check it out and read it. My friend read it and said she loved it.
        • tim0706
          tim0706Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 3:54 pm44 stars
          This book is amazing. It is a short and easy read so far. This book is a pretty good book. I totally recommend this book.
          • ifeelbookish
            ifeelbookishThursday, August 14, 2014 at 12:07 pm55 stars
            First and foremost, a very big thank you to DOGO for sending me this book. I love Oliver's Young Adult books so I predicted that I would like this book. It truly didn't disappoint, even though spiders freak me out. Liza, the main character, has to save her brother's stolen soul from the evil Spindlers. It definitely reminded me of Alice In Wonderland and especially Gregor The Overlander. Spindlers was magical and the illustrations were spectacular. Oliver can definitely write heart-wrenching novels as well as magical tales that will entertain older and younger readers. ~ifeelbookish
            • carlynicole
              carlynicoleMonday, July 14, 2014 at 4:48 pm44 stars
              The Spindlers is a fantasy adventure, it’s also about Liza and her younger brother, that makes her risk her life and strive to save him even though they fight, argue, and annoy each other continuously. Liza’s already feeling alone: her parents always seem preoccupied and ignore her, and her favorite babysitter and close friend has left for college. The sudden loss of Patrick is enough to motivate her to enter the dangerous lair of the Spindlers .They have taken Patrick’s soul to feed on. Can Liza bring him back? Dun, Dun, Dun!
              • loveeangelina
                loveeangelinaMonday, July 14, 2014 at 12:02 am55 stars
                Looking across the breakfast table one morning, twelve-year-old Liza feels dread wash over her. Although her younger brother, Patrick, appears the same, Liza knows that he is actually quite different. She is certain that the spindlers—evil, spiderlike beings—came during the night and stole his soul. And Liza is also certain that she is the only one who can rescue him. Armed with little more than her wits and a huge talking rat for a guide, Liza descends into the dark and ominous underground to save Patrick's soul
                • jess1018
                  jess1018Saturday, July 5, 2014 at 9:21 am44 stars
                  The Spindlers is a tale, that's foundation rests upon a spooky story that is told when children fall asleep. The Spindlers are indeed a spideer-like creature, that will burrow inside your ears to reach the brain and take over your body. (It's not as creepy as it sounds) But, if you speak a certain guard, the Spindlers cant reavh you. One night, when an agrivated little girl forgets to speak it to her brother as he sleeps, is desperate to get her brother back from the Spindlers. With the help of a "beautiful" rat, Lauren Oliver has wrote a fascinating book about an ordinary little girl.
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileTuesday, July 1, 2014 at 8:56 pm44 stars
                    After I read Liesl & Poe, I wanted to read more of these books with the same author and hear it is, the amazing book: Spindlers. I really enjoyed this book especially the character Liza( I feel like I could relate to her in someway through out this book). It was powerful, magical, adventurous, and all fantasy land( I don't have the exact word but fantasy land is the best I could come up with to describe this book). It was just a page turner and just magical, it was about Liza thinking that the spindlers took her brother's soul and it was up to her to help her brother... dun dun dunnn...
                    • yaya35223
                      yaya35223Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 9:31 am11 star
                      I did not like this book! Its about a girls who is rude to her brother! At some points this book was just plain creepy!