Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 10n/a6.358087

Magic has been in a sad state in the Ununited Kingdom for years, but now it’s finally on the rise, and boneheaded King Snodd IV knows it. If he succeeds at his plot, the very future of magic will be at risk! Sensible sixteen-year-old Jennifer Strange, acting manager of Kazam Mystical Arts Management and its unpredictable crew of sorcerers, has little chance against the king and his cronies—but there’s no way Kazam will let go of the noble powers of magic without a fight. A suspenseful, satirical story of Quarkbeasts, trolls, and wizidrical crackle!

 

 

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 3, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 054773848X
ISBN-13: 9780547738482
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • penguin313
    penguin313Friday, September 5, 2014 at 2:31 pm55 stars
    This is a funny book about magic. I got both this book and the first book from idogo, and they were good.
    • adi7
      adi7Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 9:42 pm55 stars
      i like this book because it had interesting words
      • jsmyth
        jsmythSunday, September 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm
        The Song of the Quarkbeast is the second book in the Chronicles of Kazam series . I still have that weird feeling and don't know if I like it or not though I did find it hilariously funny.
        • books247
          books247Monday, September 9, 2013 at 6:35 pm33 stars
          Kazam was already going to fix the old bridge in the kingdom of Snodd, but when The Amazing Blix (head of their competitor iMagic) becomes the royal sorcerer, building the bridge becomes a competition between the two companies. If iMagic wins it takes over Kazam and will start selling the rights to magic. If Kazam wins, it gets to choose who gets to be royal sorcerer from their own team. But when the King and Blix start playing unfairly Kazam wonders if they have much hope in winning anymore. I really liked this book. The cover of the book was pretty cool. But I only got why the book was named The Song Of The Quarkbeast when I was nearly done with it. I think that the dragons should have been in the story again. Other than that it was just as good as the first one.
          • gutsy2003
            gutsy2003Monday, September 2, 2013 at 8:28 pm55 starsFeatured
            I enjoyed this book even more than book 1! I think fans of harry potter and other magical tales will love this book! It was way better than book one because you already know the characters and fall into the plot of the book way faster! I think the plot was very creative and I wanted to know the ending so bad! I love the characters and the end is very cool when there is a giant wizard battle!
            • maddyrocks13
              maddyrocks13Sunday, September 1, 2013 at 11:29 am33 starsFeatured
              Book two of the Chronicles of Kazam did not disappoint. This time Jennifer Strange is in a contest with iMagic, a company that will take over hers if she doesn't win. But there's something else going on, there's something not quite right about Blix, head of iMagic. What could it be? This book was a little hard for me to get through, because it doesn't hook you in. But it's worth the read and is pretty funny also. Enjoy!
              • pipermc11
                pipermc11Saturday, August 31, 2013 at 7:03 pm55 starsFeatured
                Jennifer is being challenged by her rival, I magic, to build a bridge back up. First company to do it, and that company would take over the other. She can't say no, because it's under the law. And Blix (the head of I magic) has the king on his side. So, can Jennifer figure everything out in time? Find out for yourself!
                • borntoswim
                  borntoswimSaturday, August 31, 2013 at 10:47 amFeatured
                  Jennifer Strange, the manager at Kazam Mystical Art Management, is back! This second book in the Chronicles of Kazam series, picks up right after The Last Dragonslayer ended. After Jenny's last adventure she thinks everything is back to normal when a new magic company called iMagic, puts them in jeopardy of going out of business. iMagic challenges them to a contest where they compete to build a bridge. But worse, is that if they lose, iMagic will seize control of Kazam. Jennifer knows that they can't win, but it's her responsibility to try. Through ups and downs, the fantasy book brings in new characters and revisits past ones.
                  • carlz_t
                    carlz_tThursday, August 29, 2013 at 3:58 pm22 stars
                    Like the first book of this series, I did not really enjoy this book. This wasn't my type of book I would choose to read. It was just alright to me, not a fave.
                    • sweetpicks
                      sweetpicksSunday, August 25, 2013 at 8:49 pmFeatured
                      After the incident with the dragons and the proof that majic is getting stronger, Jennifer Stange is faced with a new challenge after finding a cursed ring which was hidden by the Mighty Shander himself. Facing on finding Mr. Zambini, (who hasn't been found yet) Jennifer must win a contest challenged by iMagic and owner The All Powerful Blix. Who is decended from Blix the Hideously Barbarous. This book has twists and turns which willl leave you jaw-dropped, laughing, and sitting on the edge of your seat.

                      Our Apps and Plugins