The Son Of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 2)

Book 2 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.7117675

Download FREE Teacher's Guide

Demigod Percy Jackson, still with no memory, and his new friends from Camp Jupiter, Hazel and Frank, go on a quest to free Death, but their bigger task is to unite the Greek and Roman camps so that the Prophecy of Seven can be fulfilled.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0141335718
ISBN-13: 9780141335711
311 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gold3nglar3
    gold3nglar3Tuesday, November 3, 2020 at 11:46 am55 stars
    A perfect mix of drama, action, comic relief, and humor. An exhausted, and memory wiped Percy Jackson (Son of Poseidon, the god of the sea) arrives at a mysterious place called Camp Jupiter. Frank Zhang (Chinese demigod who has neither ADHD or Dyslexia so is somewhat insecure.) and Hazel Levesque (Daughter of Pluto. AKA Hades, god of the underworld. Was once dead.) decide to help Percy gain his memory back, and they help in through thick and thin, like battles, and on a journey to find the Door Of Death. Rick Riordan is a genius. Every time I turned the page, I was on the edge of my seat. It's great for 3rd grade to 8th grade readers!
    • kkgautamm
      kkgautammSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 1:59 pm33 stars
      yay!! percy is back! i really like hazel, she's superrrr cool. also, octavian is absolutely horrible, he needs a personality change. the amazon women are a little bit scary, but also awesome at the same time.
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 9:48 am55 starsFeatured
        Exhausted and weary, riddled with memory loss, Percy Jackson staggers through rocky landscape pursued by the Gorgons. He's too disoriented even to argue when he must carry an old lady through a river to a supposed haven, despite it meaning that he will lose invincibility; anything to escape danger, right? But when Percy drags his feet over the line of Camp Jupiter, he realizes that his dangerous days are far from over. After wearisome days of earning the Roman demigod camp's trust, Percy's weakness—or strength?—for being the hero shows when he volunteers to travel to the forbidden land of Alaska to rescue Thanatos, the god of death. Fellow underdog campers Frank Zhang and Hazel Levesque choose to accompany him. But when their already risky quest proves to be a much more threatening situation than anyone foresaw, Percy must prove that he is not only the son of Poseidon but the son of Neptune. Thrillingly adventurous, this novel will captivate readers to the very last word.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolMonday, June 15, 2020 at 1:27 pm55 stars
          Percy Jackson does not remember anything, except one memory of someone named Annabeth. He is stuck trying to keep fighting monsters who are angry with him. For what reason, he cannot remember. However, they are unable to harm him for some reason. He finds his way to Camp Jupiter, where his fate awaits him. He gets a message from Annabeth telling him to stay where he is, but he must go on a quest. Overall, I thought this book was interesting. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, or people who like reading about greek mythology. I rate this 5/5.
          • lizzzy_winkle
            lizzzy_winkleTuesday, June 16, 2020 at 8:19 am55 stars
            Yesss. I love this book.
          • Lovelu♥️Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 9:09 am
            THis book honesto was heaven ,i love book 🥰🤩🤩
            • theodd1sout1
              theodd1sout1Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:49 am55 stars
              AMAZING BOOK!!!!
              • theodd1sout1
                theodd1sout1Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:48 am55 stars
                amazing story telling and again found a way to introduce a prophecy. fans whom are fans of Harry Potter will be fans of rick riordan
                • bookwormdude29
                  bookwormdude29Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 12:17 pm55 stars
                  Rick Riordan is back at it again with his amazing storytelling skills! Continuing on from the first book, we get a look at what’s happening on the other side of the country in California, where Percy Jackson has lost his memory and has nowhere to go. There, he stumbles upon the Romans and unexpectedly receives a dangerous quest that he must complete in a week in order to restore order to New Rome. Will he manage to finish it? I loved this book so much because Percy, Hazel, and Frank are such great characters that face a lot of dangers, which is so exciting! This book has a lot of action, drama, laughs, pretty much everything!
                  • 4usa
                    4usaTuesday, May 5, 2020 at 4:52 am55 stars
                    This is a great book about Percy, Hazel, and Frank! Percy has lost his memory and has come to camp Jupiter! All three have secrets and Percy can not even remember his! They have to carry out the impossible task of traveling beyond the Gods to Alaska and freeing death!
                    • iloveyouxxx
                      iloveyouxxxMonday, March 23, 2020 at 12:29 pm55 stars
                      Rick Riordan is one of the best I know he has made a new race of gods that only people could dream of.