Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.760282

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, written by the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

Clover and Danny are the kind of best friends who make each other even better. They’re so important to each other that Clover believes they’re symbiotic: her favorite science word, which describes two beings who can’t function without the other. But when Danny comes down with a mysterious illness that won’t go away, the doctors can’t figure out what’s wrong with him. So Clover decides to take matters into her own hands by making lists—list of Danny’s symptoms, his good days, his bad days.

As the evidence piles up, only one thing becomes clear: Danny is only better when Clover is around.

Suddenly it feels like time is running out for Clover and Danny to do everything they’ve planned together—to finally see snow, to go on a trip with the suitcase they picked out together. Will science be able to save Danny, or is this the one time when magic can overcome the unthinkable?

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on July 10, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062352768
ISBN-13: 9780062352767
1 Book Review
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • domosaur
    domosaurFriday, March 2, 2018 at 4:19 pm55 starsFeatured
    Clover and Danny are about to experience some of the saddest yet happy times of their lives. In this inseparable pair of best friends, Clover is the list maker, while Danny adds the flare of fun. Clover loves science and is quiet, while Danny fills in the chat and loves art. Clover has a theory that Danny and her are symbiotic, which means they can’t function without one another. One day, Danny falls off his chair, which is not a normal thing for him to do. Soon Danny gets worse and worse, even though he claims to be okay. He is gone for weeks at the hospital, leaving Clover alone at school. The doctors still can’t find out what his illness is, but it is only getting worse. Clover starts taking notes as well, to figure out what is wrong. After a few hypotheses, she theorizes she makes Danny feel better. Whenever she is around him, he feels better. Together they find out Danny’s ancestors also suffered from this disease, and finds out they went to a special care facility to cure them. They plan to travel there alone so Danny can get better, but it might be too late. Will Danny make it and live? Or will Clover suffer from such a big blow to her life? To find out read The Someday Suitcase, which I give 5 stars. This was such a heartwarming book and I recommend it to anyone who loves a book filled with hope.

    Recent Kids Book Reviews

    Hermione_Weasly wrote:

    I love the book so far! just sta...
    Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

    Bailey wrote:

    never read it
    Red Pizzas for a Blue Count (Ger...

    slytherinfan

    I read this book a couple of yea...
    Savvy

    Our Apps and Plugins