Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.760282

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, written by the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

Clover and Danny are the kind of best friends who make each other even better. They’re so important to each other that Clover believes they’re symbiotic: her favorite science word, which describes two beings who can’t function without the other. But when Danny comes down with a mysterious illness that won’t go away, the doctors can’t figure out what’s wrong with him. So Clover decides to take matters into her own hands by making lists—list of Danny’s symptoms, his good days, his bad days.

As the evidence piles up, only one thing becomes clear: Danny is only better when Clover is around.

Suddenly it feels like time is running out for Clover and Danny to do everything they’ve planned together—to finally see snow, to go on a trip with the suitcase they picked out together. Will science be able to save Danny, or is this the one time when magic can overcome the unthinkable?

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on July 10, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062352768
ISBN-13: 9780062352767
3 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • SoapyDaBossFriday, October 26, 2018 at 5:20 pm
    A wonderful book! It was so heart warming ang yet so sad. Clover and Danny, friends for life. Until Danny gets a mysterious illness leaving Clover alone in school. It seems that he only feels better when she around. But soon he gets worse and worse. Would he survive the illness?
    • annieoakly1212
      annieoakly1212Monday, October 8, 2018 at 1:12 pm55 stars
      Such a good book!!! It’s the kind of book when it’s a rainy day and you just know you can read at least half a really good story!!! At first I wasn’t really into it, I was thinking ‘’ Why would I want to read a book about a suitcase??” That just goes to show that the saying ‘’ Don’t judge a book by its cover.” Is 100% true.
      • domosaur
        domosaurFriday, March 2, 2018 at 4:19 pm55 starsFeatured
        Clover and Danny are about to experience some of the saddest yet happy times of their lives. In this inseparable pair of best friends, Clover is the list maker, while Danny adds the flare of fun. Clover loves science and is quiet, while Danny fills in the chat and loves art. Clover has a theory that Danny and her are symbiotic, which means they can’t function without one another. One day, Danny falls off his chair, which is not a normal thing for him to do. Soon Danny gets worse and worse, even though he claims to be okay. He is gone for weeks at the hospital, leaving Clover alone at school. The doctors still can’t find out what his illness is, but it is only getting worse. Clover starts taking notes as well, to figure out what is wrong. After a few hypotheses, she theorizes she makes Danny feel better. Whenever she is around him, he feels better. Together they find out Danny’s ancestors also suffered from this disease, and finds out they went to a special care facility to cure them. They plan to travel there alone so Danny can get better, but it might be too late. Will Danny make it and live? Or will Clover suffer from such a big blow to her life? To find out read The Someday Suitcase, which I give 5 stars. This was such a heartwarming book and I recommend it to anyone who loves a book filled with hope.

        Recent Kids Book Reviews

        Elizabeth67 wrote:

        We love this show and the episod...
        The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

        starsky89
        starsky89 wrote:

        I can't really write a proper re...
        The Unwanteds

        starsky89
        starsky89 wrote:

        This book is great!! Defiantly r...
        Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

        starsky89
        starsky89 wrote:

        This book is great!! Defiantly r...
        Once We Were

        Our Apps and Plugins