The Slippery Slope (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 10)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V7.153274

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Like bad smells, uninvited weekend guests or very old eggs, there are some things that ought to be avoided.

Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent, and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to alarm its distressed and suspicious fans the world over. The tenth book in this outrageous publishing effort features more than the usual dose of distressing details, such as snow gnats, an organised troupe of youngsters, an evil villain with a dastardly plan, a secret headquarters and some dangerous antics you should not try at home. With the weather turning colder, this is one chilling book you would be better off without.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 23, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064410137
ISBN-13: 9780064410137
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Monday, July 8, 2019 at 3:43 pm55 stars
    This book is awesome! It’s about the Baudelaires, they are trapped on Mount Mortmain, with Violet and Klaus going downhill, and Sunny, in Count Olaf’s car, going uphill to the V.F.D. headquarters. Violet and Klaus discover Quigley Quagmire is stilll alive, and he wants to help them get Sunny back! Meanwhile, Sunny has to do chores for Count Olaf and henchmen, but also starts to find about V.F.D. and the Snicket file. Full of surprises, The Slippery Slope is a great book!
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
      9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
      • rizyvezu-155904857632
        rizyvezu-155904857632Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:05 am
        I love this series it is soooooo good you never know what will happen next. what will olaf do. will he get them. you never know
        • maxFriday, January 11, 2019 at 9:57 am
          i love this book and all of the other books but i watched the show and then i got into the amazing books wich are even more descriptive and just filled with mystery and anxiousness i love this series and can't wait to read the next book and i hope that more people get to enjoy this amazing book i highly suggest it if you like mysteries
          • unicorn123Friday, November 2, 2018 at 11:52 am
            I am reading this book right now it is so good!
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:18 pm55 stars
              This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
              • umanbro
                umanbroWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 9:59 am
                3 orthans were cast away to a academy they read the series to find out more
                • eyp
                  eypTuesday, October 4, 2016 at 8:10 am44 stars
                  A book with unexpected and unfortunate event.
                  • cuddles13
                    cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:02 pm55 stars
                    I read it in bed. Stayed up untill 2 in the morning
                    • cuddles13
                      cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:00 pm55 stars
                      Sunny was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!