The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)

Book 1 of 4 in the Sixty-Eight Rooms Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.260385
Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children’s Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

Imagine—what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms’ secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

Fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure!
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 23, 2010 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375857109
ISBN-13: 9780375857102
3 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluebird1044
    bluebird1044Wednesday, May 31, 2017 at 5:08 pm55 stars
    Ruthie and her friend Jack go to the museum for a field trip. She visits the Thorne Rooms for the first time, and loves them. She continues to visit the museum on the weekend. On the field trip, Jack's mother finds a friend. The security guard. He is missing something dear to him. Can Jack and Ruthie find it?
    • HunterWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 3:37 pm
      I love magic I cant belive I found this is in a magazine You read it
      • cami4
        cami4Monday, July 14, 2014 at 10:16 am55 stars
        i really like when people enter rooms with magic thats included!!! this book is amazing, two friends find a key that opens up the thorne rooms, wich is amazing,the thorne rooms where real and the author liked to vist them when younger,i thought that was cool. so they vist all these differnt room so before the french revalotion and some near the time of the salem witch trials, you should really read this book