Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.667782

#1 New York Times bestseller

From Kiera Cass, author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who's everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can't bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

The Siren was previously self-published; this edition has been completely rewritten and redesigned.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 26, 2016 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062391992
ISBN-13: 9780062391995
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamFriday, May 31, 2019 at 9:35 am44 stars
    this is another fantastic novel by kiera cass. it really shows the effects of true love and how kahlen and akinli were able to fall in love without kahlen being able to "speak".
    • realsassymay
      realsassymaySunday, January 20, 2019 at 4:23 pm55 stars
      You will cry in this book, this book give me many tears.
      • devenitycrystal
        devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:25 am44 stars
        If you love sirens and the sea, this book is great for you! It has some romance, it's a great book and definitely is amazing. If you love mermaid/siren history, this book would also be great. If you loved this book, you should read other books by Kiera Cass!
        • ellisonbellison
          ellisonbellisonFriday, December 2, 2016 at 4:35 am55 stars
          After I mowed through the selection series I read this one and it is one of the best books ever!
          • greekgeek14
            greekgeek14Sunday, August 14, 2016 at 1:31 pm
            Sounds cool, I hope it's in the library
            • astronaut
              astronautWednesday, August 10, 2016 at 8:45 pm55 stars
              This book is so awesome!!! I loved the read. It's Romantic mixed with fantasy. If you enjoy books of romance with extra magic, you have got to read this!!!
              • aaj0324
                aaj0324Monday, February 22, 2016 at 5:26 am55 stars
                isn't Kiera Cass like your favorite author! Her and JK Rowling are mine! She writes awesome romance novels so I NEED to see what this is about!
                • bookworm111102
                  bookworm111102Tuesday, February 16, 2016 at 6:38 pm
                  a very good book! not a connection to the selection series, but is Kiera Cass' style of writing. Kahlen, It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that. - Albus Dumbledore