Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 4 - 10U6.633726
Tree-ear is an orphan in twelfth-century Korea. He lives under a bridge with Crane-man, a homeless widower who has taken him under his wing. Tree-ear hasn't got many prospects, but he is fascinated by master potter, Min, who lives in the nearby village. Secretly watching Min work, Tree-ear longs to be a potter himself. He persuades Min to let him do little jobs, until one day he has the chance to provide a service for him - one that could bring glory to Min and the village and fulfil his own dreams. But there are others seeking glory and many obstacles for a young boy to overcome.
Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307258335
ISBN-13: 9780307258335
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gathegap
    gathegapWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 12:41 pm33 stars
    im reading this as an independent book for school and it is nice
    • decevcr2Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 8:17 am
      This is what I think.
      • #supergirlfan#Tuesday, May 30, 2017 at 10:20 pm
        I'm sry but that's just what I think.
        • #supergirlfan#Tuesday, May 30, 2017 at 10:18 pm
          I had to do a report on this book or another one and I OBVIOUSLY chose the other one as soon as I read the back of this one I said " heck to the no! BORING!"👎🏻
          • pororo06
            pororo06Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 12:26 am55 stars
            I never knew this book was about 12th Century in Korea, and I'm Korean. At first, I thought the story was from China, because they made celadon potteries too. I wanted to learn more specific facts about long time ago in Korea, not only about Se-jong King who made Korean. I love this book, but the only one I disliked was when the end was sad.
            • gunsmoke1
              gunsmoke1Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 9:33 am55 stars
              This book is about an orphan named Tree-ear. The setting is in Korea, in a village called Ch'ulp'o.
              • addyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 7:43 am
                it tells about Korea and the life of an orphan
                • addyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 7:42 am
                  its a awesome book
                  • tima
                    timaThursday, June 6, 2013 at 7:23 pm
                    This is a fantastic book. Its about a boy who would go threw anything to full fill his dreams of one day being a potter!