The Serpent's Shadow (The Kane Chronicles, Book 3)

Book 3 of 3 in the The Kane Chronicles Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.898599

When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do?

There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy.

With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.

Paperback, 464 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423142020
ISBN-13: 9781423142027
58 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kkuhy
    kkuhyWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:18 am55 stars
    I love it!
    • Pardha Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 2:32 am
      Marvellous book
      • rvefdc
        rvefdcThursday, February 23, 2017 at 1:03 pm
        The Serpent's Shadow is a 2012 fantasy adventure novel based on Egyptian mythology written by Rick Riordan. It is the third and final novel in The Kane Chronicles series. It was published by Disney Hyperion on May 1, 2012. good book
        • iheartnutella
          iheartnutellaFriday, February 17, 2017 at 9:30 am
          Rick Roirdan is one of my favorite authors! In my opinion I think that The Throne of Fire is one of the best ones out of The Kane Chronicles. I like action books it gives me a tingle about what's going to happen next. When I first read the first book I didn't think it was going to be good, but when I read it, it turned out to be very exciting, and I do like magicians. They are also coming out with a comic book of the chapter book, I am so excited! I love all of Rick's books!
          • piper_the_flier
            piper_the_flierThursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:24 pm
            5 stars
            • epicdogegamer99
              epicdogegamer99Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:16 amFeatured
              When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do? There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy. With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.
              • edmodo-cmy8ta9q6x
                edmodo-cmy8ta9q6xTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 9:16 am
                it. was. awesame.
                • dingwko
                  dingwkoFriday, September 4, 2015 at 8:42 am55 stars
                  I decided to read this book because I liked all the others. I'm glad I did. This book was a great conclusion to the series.
                  • skating4
                    skating4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 1:58 pm
                    i lobe this book and it is really good. Full of emotion and Awesomeness.
                    • fany13
                      fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm33 stars
                      After an unsuccessful attempt at trying to get a magic scroll to defeat Apophis, the Kanes learn that rogue magicians are working with him. After convincing Osiris to let a dead magician go with them to defeat Apophis, they split up, with Sadie and Walt going to find their friend Bes' soul, and Carter and Zia going to find the Book of Tooth with the prisoner. After being tricked and ending in the Duat, they are saved by Sadie, and together they fight along with some of the senile gods against some demons. When they are able to leave, they arrive to Giza, and fight against Apophis, eventually defeating him. This book is fast paced with a good plot and interesting characters.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...