He's b-a-a-ack! Despite their best efforts, Carter and Sadie Kane can't seem to keep Apophis, the chaos snake, down. Now Apophis is threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness, and the Kanes are faced with the impossible task of having to destroy him once and for all. Unfortunately, the magicians of the House of Life are on the brink of civil war, the gods are divided, and the young initiates of Brooklyn House stand almost alone against the forces of chaos. The Kanes' only hope is an ancient spell that might turn the serpent's own shadow into a weapon, but the magic has been lost for a millennia. To find the answer they need, the Kanes must rely on the murderous ghost of a powerful magician who might be able to lead them to the serpent's shadow . . . or might lead them to their deaths in the depths of the underworld.

Nothing less than the mortal world is at stake when the Kane family fulfills its destiny in this thrilling conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.
Exclusive to the paperback edition: "The Son of Sobek", an exciting new short story from Rick Riordan where Carter Kane meets Percy Jackson!
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423142020
ISBN-13: 9781423142027
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hanacoder
    hanacoderWednesday, January 24, 2018 at 5:53 am55 stars
    If you are an Egyptian lover this book is just right. It just sucks you in. Also you get to learn about Egyptian magic and gods.
    • anajas1
      anajas1Friday, November 24, 2017 at 5:22 pm55 stars
      This is a great book that is my favorite book. The book is about two kids, Carter and Sadie, who are decended from a line of powerful magicians. In the Serpents Shadow, Carter and Sadie, along with their amazing trainees must stop the monster of chaos, Apophis and restore Ma’at to the world and to the Duat. But they don’t have much help. Anubis is forbidden from meeting up with any mortals, Bast is stuck with the task of keeping the less powerful trainees safe, Zia is tasked with the worst job, babysitting the sun god, Uncle Amos is now the most powerful wizard in the world and must keep EVERYONE safe, and one of the best trainees, Walt, is suffering because of a curse placed on his ancestor, King Tut. But somehow, they will have to succeed, or doomsday might come earlier then anyone ever imagined. This is an awesome book. Read it!!!
      • 04721671
        04721671Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 3:14 pm55 stars
        The way how this book finishes everything that the author had presented in the previous 2 books is truly amazing. I like that the way that he finishes the book and the series is very nice, I would really recommend this book.
        • kkuhy
          kkuhyWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:18 am55 stars
          I love it!
          • Pardha Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 2:32 am
            Marvellous book
            • rvefdc
              rvefdcThursday, February 23, 2017 at 1:03 pm
              The Serpent's Shadow is a 2012 fantasy adventure novel based on Egyptian mythology written by Rick Riordan. It is the third and final novel in The Kane Chronicles series. It was published by Disney Hyperion on May 1, 2012. good book
              • iheartnutella
                iheartnutellaFriday, February 17, 2017 at 9:30 am
                Rick Roirdan is one of my favorite authors! In my opinion I think that The Throne of Fire is one of the best ones out of The Kane Chronicles. I like action books it gives me a tingle about what's going to happen next. When I first read the first book I didn't think it was going to be good, but when I read it, it turned out to be very exciting, and I do like magicians. They are also coming out with a comic book of the chapter book, I am so excited! I love all of Rick's books!
                • piper_the_flier
                  piper_the_flierThursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:24 pm
                  5 stars
                  • epicdogegamer99
                    epicdogegamer99Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:16 amFeatured
                    When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do? There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy. With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.
                    • edmodo-cmy8ta9q6x
                      edmodo-cmy8ta9q6xTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 9:16 am
                      it. was. awesame.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...