The Serpent's Shadow (The Kane Chronicles, Book 3)

Book 3 of 3 in the The Kane Chronicles Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.898599

When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do?

There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy.

With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.

Paperback, 464 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423142020
ISBN-13: 9781423142027
59 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • 04721671
    04721671Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 3:14 pm55 stars
    The way how this book finishes everything that the author had presented in the previous 2 books is truly amazing. I like that the way that he finishes the book and the series is very nice, I would really recommend this book.
    • kkuhy
      kkuhyWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:18 am55 stars
      I love it!
      • Pardha Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 2:32 am
        Marvellous book
        • rvefdc
          rvefdcThursday, February 23, 2017 at 1:03 pm
          The Serpent's Shadow is a 2012 fantasy adventure novel based on Egyptian mythology written by Rick Riordan. It is the third and final novel in The Kane Chronicles series. It was published by Disney Hyperion on May 1, 2012. good book
          • iheartnutella
            iheartnutellaFriday, February 17, 2017 at 9:30 am
            Rick Roirdan is one of my favorite authors! In my opinion I think that The Throne of Fire is one of the best ones out of The Kane Chronicles. I like action books it gives me a tingle about what's going to happen next. When I first read the first book I didn't think it was going to be good, but when I read it, it turned out to be very exciting, and I do like magicians. They are also coming out with a comic book of the chapter book, I am so excited! I love all of Rick's books!
            • piper_the_flier
              piper_the_flierThursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:24 pm
              5 stars
              • epicdogegamer99
                epicdogegamer99Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:16 amFeatured
                When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do? There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy. With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.
                • edmodo-cmy8ta9q6x
                  edmodo-cmy8ta9q6xTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 9:16 am
                  it. was. awesame.
                  • dingwko
                    dingwkoFriday, September 4, 2015 at 8:42 am55 stars
                    I decided to read this book because I liked all the others. I'm glad I did. This book was a great conclusion to the series.
                    • skating4
                      skating4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 1:58 pm
                      i lobe this book and it is really good. Full of emotion and Awesomeness.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mircat wrote:

                      i am going to be a member i lov...
                      Animal Jam Official Insider's Gu...

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      Don’t worry e06. It was boring f...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      This is an awesome book that was...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      cutecat6
                      cutecat6 wrote:

                      Hey, Stich123, I have the it. An...
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...