The Serpent's Shadow

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.898599
When young magicians Carter and Sadie Kane learned how to follow the path of the Ancient Egyptian gods, they knew they would have to play an important role in restoring Ma’at—order—to the world. What they didn’t know is how chaotic the world would become. The Chaos snake Apophis is loose and threatening to destroy the earth in three days’ time. The magicians are divided. The gods are disappearing, and those who remain are weak. Walt, one of Carter and Sadie’s most gifted initiates, is doomed and can already feel his life force ebbing. Zia is too busy babysitting the senile sun god, Ra, to be of much help. What are a couple of teenagers and a handful of young trainees to do? There is possibly one way to stop Apophis, but it is so difficult that it might cost Carter and Sadie their lives, if it even works at all. It involves trusting the ghost of a psychopathic magician not to betray them, or worse, kill them. They’d have to be crazy to try it. Well, call them crazy. With hilarious asides, memorable monsters, and an ever-changing crew of friends and foes, the excitement never lets up in The Serpent’s Shadow, a thoroughly entertaining and satisfying conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.
Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423142020
ISBN-13: 9781423142027
52 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • edmodo-cmy8ta9q6x
    edmodo-cmy8ta9q6xTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 9:16 am
    it. was. awesame.
    • dingwko
      dingwkoFriday, September 4, 2015 at 8:42 am55 stars
      I decided to read this book because I liked all the others. I'm glad I did. This book was a great conclusion to the series.
      • skating4
        skating4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 1:58 pm
        i lobe this book and it is really good. Full of emotion and Awesomeness.
        • fany13
          fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm33 stars
          After an unsuccessful attempt at trying to get a magic scroll to defeat Apophis, the Kanes learn that rogue magicians are working with him. After convincing Osiris to let a dead magician go with them to defeat Apophis, they split up, with Sadie and Walt going to find their friend Bes' soul, and Carter and Zia going to find the Book of Tooth with the prisoner. After being tricked and ending in the Duat, they are saved by Sadie, and together they fight along with some of the senile gods against some demons. When they are able to leave, they arrive to Giza, and fight against Apophis, eventually defeating him. This book is fast paced with a good plot and interesting characters.
          • 00020019
            00020019Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at 7:03 am
            If you are looking for a great book, look no further than the serpents shadow. I suggest you read the first two books first though. It has a great plot with twists and action in every chapter. It goes so deep in an imaginary thing ( or is it?...) and gives loads of details. It has different perspectives which allows it to show more than the one story and break it apart from different people. It mixes mythology with the real world. I strongly suggest this book for someone that loves to read.
            • b18
              b18Monday, May 4, 2015 at 11:01 am
              If you loved The Red Pyramid, or The Throne of Fire, then you'll love this book. Even if you haven't read the other Kane Chronicles books, you'll still love it. The book makes you go on the edge of your seat when the battles and when action starts. It has many characters with different personalities, and it also is a great book to keep you from being bored. If you're looking for a book with lots of action and adventure, then this is a great book to read, and once you read the first few pages, you'll get hooked and be eager to read more and more of it.
              • ibersson1
                ibersson1Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 10:10 am
                good book
                • morgct100
                  morgct100Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 8:17 am55 stars
                  I am so addicted to Rick Riordan's books (especially the Percy Jackson Series) so I started the Kane Chronicles and got hooked onto that, too. Rick's books are amazing and I recommend you all to read them. I especially recommend his books if you are into Greek or Egyptian Mythology.
                  • dasan
                    dasanFriday, April 10, 2015 at 1:01 pm55 stars
                    I wish this book would never end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'
                    • purpledrop
                      purpledropSaturday, February 28, 2015 at 11:23 am55 stars
                      I love the last story! The narrators are funny, though I wish that there would be more books in this series.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callaway2005

                      Wild River by: P.J. Peterson. In...
                      Wild River

                      s916532
                      s916532 wrote:

                      I love Descendants,but I only sa...
                      Descendants: Junior Novel

                      emmam14
                      emmam14 wrote:

                      Boost is an amazing book about a...
                      Boost

                      heyhey432 wrote:

                      i love this book it's freakin aw...
                      Freakling