The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.263503
MEET KIRANMALA:
INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER
(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents' fantastical stories-like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess and how she comes from a secret place not of this world.
To complicate matters, two crush-worthy princes ring her doorbell, insisting they've come to rescue her. Suddenly, Kiran is swept into another dimension full of magic, winged horses, moving maps, and annoying, talking birds. There she must solve riddles and battle demons all while avoiding the Serpent King of the underworld and the Rakkhoshi Queen in order to find her parents and basically save New Jersey, her entire world, and everything beyond it . . .

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on January 29, 2019 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338185713
ISBN-13: 9781338185713
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hiTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 7:52 am
    best book ever
    • muneymunegrrrl
      muneymunegrrrlSunday, July 28, 2019 at 12:48 pm55 stars
      awesome- spoiler alert rakkoshi grandma is HILARIOUS love this book!
      • marrigold137
        marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:36 pm55 stars
        This book gives Rick Riordan's books a run for thier money ! I loved it and the author clearly knew a LOT about Indian folklore and myths . I can't wait to read the next one!
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:12 am44 stars
          I liked this book because it was really exciting. And everything was interesting. I would recommend it to fans of Rick Riordan and Harry Potter.
          • johncenaSaturday, March 30, 2019 at 8:47 am
            amazing book
            • cookieplayer
              cookieplayerThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:36 pm55 stars
              The Serpent's Secret is a creative book describing an incident in Kiranmala's life. Kiranmala doesn't know that she is secretly an Indian Princess until her 12th birthday when her parents go missing and a bloodthirsty rakkhosh enters in her kitchen. Then she is whisked away to a magical dimension where all the tales that she had heard growing up became true. This book is easy to understand and it is really funny. I really wish I could be a Indian princess XD
              • muneymunegrrrl
                muneymunegrrrlSunday, July 28, 2019 at 12:48 pm55 stars
                you may be one!!!!
              • Book CriticSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:14 pm
                The Serpent's Secret is a phenomenal and creative book describing an incident in Kiranmala's life. Kiranmala doesn't know that she is secretly an Indian Princess until her 12th birthday when her parents go missing and a bloodthirsty rakkhosh enters (or more like barges) in her kitchen. Then she is whisked away to a magical dimension where all the tales that she had heard growing up became true. This book is easy to understand and it is really funny. Not only does it make Indians relish their culture, but it also helps non-Indians to learn the culture. Some problems were that the middle of the story was a little hard to follow and it is too similar to Percy Jackson. But I was saw this is a must-read.
                • The Serpent's SFriday, May 25, 2018 at 6:54 am
                  Does anyone know's the book level on this book?
                  • mark the proSunday, April 15, 2018 at 1:12 pm
                    I like this book but the problem is that I cant read the whole book and I do not know the boys names.
                    • beatboyThursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:26 am
                      cool